We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good value”
Review of Randwick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Randwick Lodge
Ranked #5 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Early appoinment at PWH necessitated an overnight stay close to Prince of Wales Hospital. We found our Executive room ideal. The room was clean and comfortable. Beds were very comfortable There were a number of restaurants close by offerring a variety of food choices.
Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Randwick Lodge makes a really well situated alternative to central Sydney. Near pleasant restaurants and shops, and a 15 minute walk to fantastic Coogee beach. Numerous buses pass the door making travelling around a simple matter. Easy to do basic self catering, reasonably priced, but the staff are just not welcoming or friendly, never ask about the quality of the stay, either in writing or in person. We were not told in time about arrangements to get in if we arrived after reception closes at 8, meaning our friends had to wait around for us outside the property to ensure we could get in. Little things like this marred what would otherwise have been a really enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try for rooms with access to the courtyard on the ground floor if possible. they risk being noisy, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Clean & comfortable room.
Arrived ( as notified ) after 6pm Sun, so needed to phone Matthew for directions for entry.
On return home I found an email (sent on the day of my arrival from NZ ) giving this info.
If this had been sent the previous day I could have avoided the cost & inconvenience of the phone call.

Room Tip: Best to avoid front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed here several times over the last 15yrs. Very convent location if you have to attend a meeting at SCH or PWH. The rooms have been updated and are comfortable. Good service from the staff. I was phoned before my arrival to make sure I knew how to get in with my later arrival. I will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

An early morning appointment at Prince of Wales required an overnight stay and Randwick Lodge is literally a 2 minute walk to the main entrance. Executive room was clean, modern and spacious enough for the 3 of us. Took advantage of the kitchenette in the lodge to whip up an early brekkie and enjoyed the extra space provided by the courtyard. We were lucky to get a parking spot and were able to leave our car there until we finished at the hospital around lunchtime.
Randwick village only a couple of minutes walk away for multitude of dining and shopping options.

Room Tip: Executive rooms at back are modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tez823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We are a young couple who reently stayed at Randwick Lodge. The location is a little far if you are on a budget but otherwise it is only $25 one way by taxi into the city. The general layout of the "Lower Ground Room" was OK, the bed was comfy and there were basic utilities though out the room.

Room Tip: M50 Bus goes from Randwick to the City. A multi 10 trip ticket can be purchased from the Night Owl a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kennetic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My Executive Room was on the top floor in the rear wing so away from the busy street in front. The room was newly refurbished with quality tiling, bathroom fittings etc. Whole room was spotless and well-presented. Only downside was open stairs up to the landing as it rained the whole time. I got one of the treasured spots in the garage by inquiring early the day before.
Try The Montpellier Public House across the street. Interesting menu in British country pub style and quality food.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear wing are quiet. Inquire early to request parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
143 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
181 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 11 in Randwick
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Lodge

Address: 211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: £80 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Randwick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randwick Lodge offers accommodation in a beautifully restored, Heritage Listed building, in the center of Randwick, Sydney. Whether you are here for business or leisure, you will appreciate the central location, moments to The Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Royal Women’s Hospital and the Nelune Cancer Centre. The property is also close to UNSW, Randwick Racecourse, Allianz Stadium, Sydney Cricket Ground, the Hordern Pavilion, the Entertainment Centre and Coogee Beach. Make yourself at home in the stylishly restored Heritage, Heritage Deluxe and Studio Rooms. Designed with your comfort in mind, the rooms are full of character and offer the convenience of modern technology and amenities including flat screen TV’s and free high-speed wireless internet. The property also offers a shared guest kitchen and laundry, conference room seating up to 14, a large open courtyard, and on-site parking for up to 8 cars. Breakfast lunch and dinner packages are also available. Randwick Lodge is conveniently located near public transport, travel to or from the airport or city via bus or taxi. Local restaurants, supermarkets and shopping are within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Randwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwick Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing