We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position of room was great, a few issues with what was offered”
Review of Randwick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Randwick Lodge
Ranked #4 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Position of room was great, a few issues with what was offered”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

No hot water on day 3 of a 5 day stay. Requested a hand towel and tea towel this was ignored. TV reception was average. No facility in bathroom for shampoo etc, very annoying to keep bending down as I have had back surgery, this is a major problem for me. My bill was just under $500 requested car park for one night this was to be charged at $15. Parked elsewhere. A perfect area for restaurants and easy travel to the city. Would revisit but feel a few adjustments as per this letter would encourage me not to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room upstairs with windows as I had!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryjacko18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    91
    66
    29
    29
See reviews for
71
59
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South-east Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one night, due to having an international flight the next day and wanting to make our total journey a few hours shorter. We chose this location due to being close to Coogee Beach and close to the area known as "The Spot" where we have found some great restaurants; and only a half hour drive to the airport. There are major supermarkets a short walk away, and we had hoped to make use of the regular bus service into the city to visit some galleries but ended up enjoying spending time in Coogee; so maybe next time on that one. We loved staying in Randwick Lodge because it has the feel of an old-style guest house and was quiet. We had a room in the back part of the lodge, and were not bothered by traffic at all. Our room was fairly small, and with a single bed that we didn't need, although was quite roomy for just the two of us, and I expect would be probably adequate if there had been a third person staying. The bathroom was very small; a bit of a squeeze whenever it was necessary to open the bathroom door or the shower door, but quite presentable and clean. We had booked a "Heritage Room" which is described as in the "Original heritage part of the lodge" and were a little surprised that we were not staying in the main building, but were staying in the rather less grand back part, which seemed a little newer, and had the look of a motel room, so I guess we have learnt to not believe everything in the advertising. But still, we enjoy our stay a lot; for us the main thing was that we had no traffic noise from the main road and close to a few important things. We also had a little trouble with the heating unit; the display on the remote didn't work so while the on/off switch was obvious we didn't have a clue what temperature we were setting the unit to; and the front desk staff, although friendly, didn't seem particulary interested in replacing the remote control unit. This was a minor issue, because the heating unit did work, although we had to use trial and error to get it to suit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A number of 'Lodges" in Randwick (Avoca, St Marks, Randwick and Perouse in which I have stayed) and Blenheim, Alison and High Cross (haven't stayed in these) providing affordable, comfortable, conveniently located accommodation. The 400 bus from the airport (reasonable fare and travel through some of the southern suburbs) is ideal. Staff at all lodges are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the vicinity. Rooms are mainly spacious, basic and clean, ensuites in those where I have stayed and facilities also include bar fridge and well equipped community kitchen. Randwick has a large hospital, heaven forbid one needs to use it, is close to the eastern suburbs beaches Coogee, Maroubra, Bronte, Bondi and others. Restaurants are numerous and varied. Well worth trying these lodges.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed in this lodge for 3 nights as I was going to attain a UNSW graduation ceremony.
I made a reservation for a heritage room for 3 people. The room offered by this lodge is not heritage as it should be but it was big enough for 3 as there was no heritage or beautiful interior that I expected. The bathroom was too small - we could not put either shampoo or liquid soap in the shower space.
There was a small space for dish cleaning and the lodge provided some cutlery that was very helpful for making breakfast.
Anyway, the location was quite good- 5 mins walking to uni and there was lots of buses route.
We made a reservation with 90-days advance condition so we got a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Select a new constructed wing of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natsu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night and picked Randwick Lodge because of its proximity to the University of New South Wales where we were attending our daughter's graduation. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Uni. From the outside Randwick Lodge presents as a rather lovely old building in a very vibrant and busy part of town.
We were provided with afterhours access instructions in case we were late. It is important to get this information as the reception is not open after 8.00pm. On our arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Randwick Lodge was comfortable and clean. It is not 5 star but it does not claim to be. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and of a reasonable size. It looks a little run down in parts but nothing that affected our stay or caused any discomfort. It is a great location close to shops and restaurants. Our room, number 24, was located towards the back of the building so noise was not a problem.
Parking is limited and a little tight. One extremely good thing about our stay at Randwick Lodge was that they allowed us to leave the car in the carpark way past checkout time. This meant that we could enjoy the graduation and lunch without stressing about finding a parking spot on the street. Obviously this was totally dependent on availability of parking spaces but it worked out for us. The staff were very willing to accommodate us with this and it made such a difference to our day. Parking cost an extra $15.00.
I would definitely stay at Randwick Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We found the Lodge on the internet & booked online. We arrived in the dark & drizzle rain & made the error of going to the Avoca Lodge @ Randwick not the Randwick lodge on Avoca. The Randwick Lodge looks by far to be the better lodge & we were relieved when we entered the Lodge front door to come across a neat & tidy foyer with a pleasant receptionist. Our rooms were at the rear of the lodge which is separated by a pleasant outdoors bbq common area. The rooms were modern, clean & quite. A little small but we were more than happy with its value & location. We were within walking distance of the Hospital, restaurants & even able walked to Coogee beach.

Room Tip: We were upstairs at the back.in the newer rooms & away from traffic noise. Take a small car if u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staff were just doing their job. Asked about wifi after checking in and told the basement cell we were in had no wifi access, after being told we would. Cockroaches, wet smelly towels at door, no towels in room, rusty door panels, room affected by smoke from outside room, room above was noisey and no staff to deal with before 8pm, even though sign said so.. Said cabel TV, but just digital, when it worked. If a $78 room is considered a internet deal, then don't get sucked in. Overall just a terrible experience compared to photos. Also the room we were in was a fire trap with bars on windows and only exit the door. Also the bathroom door almost knocked the kids out with the auto shut. Overpriced for pack packers, and we'll over the top for any one else. Paid 78 and got crap room, with 50% empty. Staff. Could not care less, if they are available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Randwick hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
169 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Perouse Lodge
#2 of 10 in Randwick
268 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 10 in Randwick
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randwick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Lodge

Property: Randwick Lodge
Address: 211 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Randwick Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randwick Lodge offers accommodation in a beautifully restored, Heritage Listed building, in the center of Randwick, Sydney. Whether you are here for business or leisure, you will appreciate the central location, moments to The Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children’s Hospital, Royal Women’s Hospital and the Nelune Cancer Centre. The property is also close to UNSW, Randwick Racecourse, Allianz Stadium, Sydney Cricket Ground, the Hordern Pavilion, the Entertainment Centre and Coogee Beach. Make yourself at home in the stylishly restored Heritage, Heritage Deluxe and Studio Rooms. Designed with your comfort in mind, the rooms are full of character and offer the convenience of modern technology and amenities including flat screen TV’s and free high-speed wireless internet. The property also offers a shared guest kitchen and laundry, conference room seating up to 14, a large open courtyard, and on-site parking for up to 8 cars. Breakfast lunch and dinner packages are also available. Randwick Lodge is conveniently located near public transport, travel to or from the airport or city via bus or taxi. Local restaurants, supermarkets and shopping are within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randwick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwick Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing