We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisey with less facilities than a basic youth hostel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Randwick Space

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Randwick Space
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisey with less facilities than a basic youth hostel!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Why oh why do you allow youths to run up & down the corridors after dark, screaming, roaring & shouting when other residents are trying to get some peace & quiet? The room was pretty comfortable, though I was not cleaned properly and in a very noisy location in the building. The spotless toilet & shower facilities were the saving grace of this place. The common room was quite comfy too, although the cooking facilities here were a couple of microwaves and a toaster! Loved the Billi taps though- boiling or freezing water from the same tap on demand. Genius! Location is only ok, I expected more from the locality it being a university area. It was a bit run down! But is 200m walk on a bus route for either Maroubra Beach or the City. I was also very surprised that upon searching there are literally NO crockery or glasses or cutlery or anything available! This was definitely a first for me, and it might be an idea to mention it on your booking sites. Campus policy is one thing, paying guests might need a heads up! One wonders if they should be allowed to advertise any kitchen facilities at all..... A travelodge or simple hostel are better equipped. No air con or fans supplied either. Roasting!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room FAR REMOVED from any of the common areas, as this is where the little darlings seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_b_84Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandwickSpace, Front Office Manager at Randwick Space, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Dear c_b_84Cork

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and providing us with your valuable feedback.

You will be pleased to know that we have changed our cleaning contract and have seen improvements in our room standards to meet guest expectations. With regard to the noise level that you have experienced we would like to advise that we have taken extra measures to ensure that such an occurrence will not happen again. Our Night Managers are now making scheduled rounds of the premises to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum at all times and our strict policies now prohibits noise in the common areas after 11pm to ensure all of our guests are guaranteed a relaxing stay.

We encourage all our guests to inform us of any issues that may arise during their stay and we welcome any suggestions for improvement of our services. Our staff are available 24/7/365 to assists you with any queries you may have.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
8
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here before so we knew what to expect. Bit small but was perfect for our needs. Would have preferred a few extras, eg. bathroom floor mat, face washers, hand towels, box of tissues, and a few cups or glasses. I think these are basics for the price paid. But all in all ..... good value for us because we needed to stay within easy walking distance to Randwick Hospital over the weekend.

Room Tip: Couldn't stay for too long as rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbieg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

My room looked out over the oval... one of those old-fashioned ovals with a little white fence around it! Really lovely. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, bathroom was very clean. I think it's a pity that the dining room isn't open for visitors for breakfast (that's where conference attendees usually meet each other) but there's an alternative with free wifi directly across the road.

Room Tip: Ground floor looking over the oval!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 11 in Randwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randwick Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randwick Space

Property: Randwick Space
Address: Barker Street | Shalom College, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Randwick Space 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated opposite the Village Green the university accommodation is located near the heart of UNSW’s main campus, surrounded by the funky cafés and restaurants of Randwick. The College is easily accessible from the city and nearby beachside suburbs. With the famous Coogee beach, Randwick Racecourse, Sydney Childrens Hospital and Prince of Wales Hospital all close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randwick Space reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing