We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to UNSW ”
Review of Alison Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alison Lodge
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I have to go down to UNSW workshops as an external student and this is a great place to stay. Easy walk up the road to UNSW for the bio lecture theatre, close to buses and cheap restaurants for dinner.
Place is clean, has TV, fridge and feels safe. Have stayed here twice now and would stay again and recommend others if looking for cheap stay close to uni.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank gaznic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an excellent overnight stay. So clean and quiet. I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom, could not fault the tidiness and privacy. I walked up the road for a pub dinner, caught up with my son who lives in rand wick, and then had another up the road breakfast. You CANNOT do better price wise, for the location and convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chilemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed in a premium room with it's own kitchenette. I was very pleased with my stay at Alison Lodge. It was handily located to a number of bus routes, and to the venue I was attending. I phoned ahead of time to let them know I would be arriving after hours and they arranged to leave keys out for me. The room was small and tidy, with clean sheets and really comfortable pillows. Staying at cheaper accommodation is always a risk, and I was very pleased with Alison Lodge. There were more rooms than I realised (38 or so), and they do do some longer term stays, but I never heard a peep from the other rooms. The shared bathrooms were old and clearly well used, but also clean. There is no soap or hand towels in the bathroom/toilet, but I was supplied with soap, shampoo, conditioner and two average sized towels in my room.
There are plenty of restaurants/cafes/stuff along the next block, and I had several enjoyable meals out.
There is wifi (I believe it was a $5 charge), however the signal did not reach to my room (which was at the end of the corridor). There was a sofa by the front door where I was able to sit and access the internet.

Overall, for $90 a night I wasn't sure what I was in for, however the place was clean and tidy, and well located for my purposes. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I went into this really looking for a cheap place to stay. I was having surgery and needed to stay 1 night, hubby needed to stay a few nights while I was in hospital and funds were limited (as are options for accommodation around RHW/POWH/SCH). Parking in the vicinity is quite sparse and once we found a park, we stayed parked there for a few days as we were concerned we would not find another spot (luckily they are not paid parking spots-nor are they timed). The room was clean and presentable. We had to leave the window open for air flow however as the building is at a major intersection, this meant putting up with really intrusive traffic noises all night long (if we closed the window, it would have been too stuffy to breathe). When we booked, there were no en-suite rooms available so we decided shared bathrooms would be fine for our purposes. The sharing is not the issue, the water pressure (not enough to wet my hair to use the pre-surgery wash I was required to use) and lack of access was! Getting into the shower almost required the skills of a contortionist! After I left, my husband stayed on for 2 more nights and the traffic noise did not abate, however he did have some friends visit...I say friends but the little fellas were strangers before they made themselves known to him...however after 2 days of sharing a room, the insects were no longer strangers. After our stay, we had a discussion about "if we knew then what we know now" would we have stayed there. Short answer...no. I am frugal and always ready to save money but I believe that budget accommodation should still leave a better impression than this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

When you plan a surprise visit to Sydney and book late, you may end-up here. Don't get me wrong - I am not saying this a terrible place but you get what you pay for - almost! The Manage - well yes, that topic needs some improvement; a crash course in friendliness would be a good start. Then the rooms: well they are very basic but sufficient if you plan to go out anyway. Rooms were clean though, at least that's a real plus. I did not like that you have to put out the linen and rubbish yourself - it's just a nuisance and should be included in this asking price. Anyway, once you are over the initial "shock", we actually got used to it and if you plan to stay in Sydney for a while it does not break the bank, although in terms of value it is still pretty expensive.

Room Tip: get a room with it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The lodge is within walking distance to PoW and UNSW. It is a cheap stay but this because most of the rooms have shared bathrooms. However, the rooms are clean, have a kitchenette and table & chairs (even the single rooms), and in my four stays there I haven't had to wait to use the shared bathroom.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank MandaNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here 3 separate times over 2 months. The first time was in a family room with a single and double bed, the double was made(where my friend slept) but my single only had a blanket and a matress protector. No sheets or pillowcase. The second time was in a single room, the size of the room was good, but my bed was not made very well at all. And I wasn't given a tea towel to dry my dishes or soap, shampoo and conditioner like I was given on my previous stay. When I asked for a tea towel I was given a few squares of an old bath towel to use. There was also no plug for the in room sink. On my 3rd stay we werent given a tea towel again. The room was a good size but it was quite hot. Overall I would stay here again. The fridge and microwave were both good and the bed was comfortable enough. The location was good as I was visiting someone in Prince of Wales Hospital.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie_taree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
143 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
181 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Marks Lodge
#4 of 11 in Randwick
211 reviews
Avoca Lodge
#14 of 19 in Randwick
129 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#5 of 11 in Randwick
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Lodge

Address: 136 - 138 Alison Rd, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Randwick
Price Range: £62 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alison Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alison Lodge offers clean and comfortable accommodation in the heart of Randwick. Rooms feature a TV, small bar fridge, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. Rooms are available with both ensuite bathrooms and shared bathroom facilities. Alison Lodge is surrounded by numerous cafes and restaurants and is serviced by public transport. The property is close to Randwick Racecourse, The Prince of Wales Hospital, Sydney Children's Hospital and the University of NSW (UNSW). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Alison Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing