We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Cross Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 11 Randwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arrived 30 minutes before our arranged time of 11am to be today our room wasn't ready yet and to come back at 2pm. When we returned we were greeted in a much nicer manner and that continued for the rest of the stay.

Considering the room was for sleeping and not for spending a lot of time in, it was pretty good. There are however no face cloths, no shampoos or conditioners, just the soap. The TV in the room was hanging off the wall over the wardrobe, the only place you could have an unobstructed view was from a kitchen chair on the opposite side of the room. Apart from that it was fine.

I wouldn't recommend it for people needing to spend a lot of time in the rooms however for stays where you will only be sleeping in the room it is just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teh_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

No service to our rooms for the three days we were there, unfriendly reception, tiny bathroom, and too pricey for what you get! And there is NO PARKING so you have to take the risk of leaving your car out on the street overnight (the Lodge has three car parks at the rear which are always taken). Do I need to say more?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesnTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I found this to be a good place to stay, a bit noisy from traffic if you stayed in the front rooms.My only issue is the same as IanNZ044 no power point near a bed to set up bedlamp.
We had to stay an extra night and the receptionist was so help to accomodate us.
Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms towards the back if not used to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We have taken note of your comment with regards to the bedside powerpoint and have handed this to the property manager. Thank you for making this suggestion.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed overnight while at a conference at nearby Uni of NSW. Room was comfortable if a little spartan. My only issue was that there was no reading lamp set up, and I couldn't find a power point that allowed me to set up the available lamp close tot he bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanNZ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

Thanks for taking the time to review us here on Tripdavisor.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The carpet is old and dirty. The room has a musty smell. The receptionist, a middle age lady, was very unpleasant. Service was poor. We checked out at 8am and requested to store our luggage till 1:30pm as our flight was 3:30pm. She said no. She can only store the luggage till 12:15pm as she's going for lunch break! There are plenty of choices in Randwick area. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piggy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were well looked after at this lovely convenient lodge.
Our daughter had to stay an extra night in hospital and we were very cheerfully allocated a room for our unexpected extra stay.
the rooms were clean and well appointed.
Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for staying with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge, and thank you for booking direct with us through our Sydney Lodges website.

We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with High Cross Park Lodge. Sorry your stay was not under better circumstances.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Hi we always stay at high cross as it is friendly, clean and very much to our budget. The location is great,close to the Prince of Wales etc. The room was a little bit on the small side so may look at a bigger room next time. The receptionist were extremely friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a clean bed , shower, laundry and facility to make coffee etc you cant go pass the high cross lodge at the prices offered. Highly reccommend

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney_lodges, Guest Relations Manager at High Cross Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank, Maria, for continuing to book with Sydney Lodges at High Cross Park Lodge.

We enjoy having you stay with us each and every time and look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for future travellers.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
140 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 8 in Randwick
175 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 11 in Randwick
272 reviews
Avoca Lodge
#14 of 19 in Randwick
127 reviews
The Blenheim Randwick
#9 of 11 in Randwick
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Cross Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Cross Park Lodge

Address: 7-9 Cuthill St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range: £74 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Cross Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local and stay at High Cross Park Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport at your door, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is just a short walk from the lodge.The hotel offers modern comforts such as wireless internet access, air-conditioning, cable television and direct dial telephones to suit the needs of every traveller. The lodge even has an outdoor area where you can have your own Aussie barbeque while down under.The Lodge is just a short walk from UNSW (University of NSW) and Prince of Wales Hospital.Walk to the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the buzzing streets of eastern Sydney. With fabulous facilities and a great location, High Cross Park Lodge is the perfect place to stay to experience the real Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Cross Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Cross Park Hotel Randwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing