We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
18
54
45
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
54
45
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince of wales public transport min walk foot traffic stay there again within walking distance central station old building across the road sydney buses suitcases
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our group of friends stayed in several shared rooms at the High Cross Park Lodge for 3 nights at the end of October while we attended an event at the University of NSW - which was an easy walk, an inexpensive taxi ride or a quick bus trip there & back. It's an old building so all the rooms varied in size and outlook - however because we were out all day and really only sleeping there, they were all large enough for our needs. The bathrooms were clean and modern and there were the standard kettle, bar fridge plus helpful extras like washing up rack, cutlery and tea-towel. There's a small courtyard with a bbq and a picnic table which was handy for us to all gather in before heading out. The pub next door does good meals and there are plenty of other options really close by including supermarkets and take-away. Kokkino Cafe around the corner did great coffee & breakfasts. It is very good value for money if you need to stay in or near Randwick or Kensington. It really is a guest house, not a hotel, so you can't expect things like room service. The front desk staff ranged from extremely helpful to very off-hand - it really does depend on who you encounter and when. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the main street are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MungoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The double room was very small and basic, and the small tv difficult to view perched on top of tall cupboard. The location is very good (for hospital and university and bus routes to city and beach) and our back room was not too noisy considering we were in the middle of Randwick. However the service we received was SHOCKING. We checked in about 4pm, put our luggage in the room and went out with nearby family, eventually going out for dinner and getting back to the lodge about 9:30/10:00pm. Reception is only open for limited hours and when we arrived back neither of our two keys opened the door. There was a note to ring a cell phone number on a Post-it Note on the door. As we were visiting from overseas, this meant an expensive global roaming call but what could we do, locked out of our room, with all our luggage inside (we hoped)? In any case it went straight to voice mail. We rang that same number 4 or 5 time over the next 2-3 hours; each time it went to voice mail. Searching around the (closed) reception area we discovered two cell phone numbers for after hours contacts; one was the number we had been unsuccessfully ringing. So we rang the other, and it went straight to voice mail as well. It was now around midnight, locked out of our room with no luggage (lucky i had taken my wallet with me, but they didnt know for sure that I had), and no-one answering our repeated calls. Luckily we happened to have with us a skinny and limber friend who was willing to risk trying to climb in the bathroom window - which is more dangerous than it sounds (and I certainly would not have fitted nor been able to bend around and fall in without crashing on the sink). So in the early hours of the morning we were able to break into our own room. I was afraid there may have been a fire, a break in, a burst pipe or something, but everything (apart from our unusual method of entry) seemed in order when we just threw ourselves into bed. In the morning, there was no approach to explain to us what had happened. When we asked, we were told that we had apparently arrived early the previous day (no we hadn't), and we were told the occupant from the previous night had not returned their key, so the locks had been changed. When we asked why no-one had answered our multiple calls over several hours, we were told that was just human error! When we asked why the second number also didnt answer, we were told the second manager was on leave and her phone was redirected to the first number! We were not spontaneously offered any compensation, and only when we said we wouldnt be paying for the night we were locked out was one night's refund offered. When our keys worked on each of the remaining 3 nights, we took it as a personal triumph. That we could be locked out and no-one wait to check we were ok is bad enough, but even if you accept leaving a cell phone number is ok - at least check the messages on your phone to make sure that your guests havent tried to call you!! We left our return phone number each time, and its clear no-one bothered. This is unforgiveable. I am a frequent business traveller - albeit often looking for a good deal. I have never in any country in any accommodation experienced such inexcusably poor and thoughtless service. I recommend no-one ever book with such a poor establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank N0npr0fitGuy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

For a room with a small double bed costing $131 for a one night stay it was disappointing. The room was not very clean. For example, beside the fridge the dust and dirt looked like it had been there for a while. The draws in the furniture were also unclean so we did not unpack our clothes. Perhaps they only let this room if they have nothing else to offer. It certainly felt like it needed a good clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the complex along the open verandah are very small and are not worth the price.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was a visiting scholar to UNSW and had to find a room last minute and was lucky enough to book a week and a half at High Cross. To summarize, I've stayed at 6 hotels in the Randwick area and High Cross is the best place I have stayed if you're looking to pay ~$100 or less per night.

Pros:
1. Convenient location - right next to the Spot, Belmore Road, walking distance to UNSW and even Coogee beach. A lot of bus lines passing by (pretty easy access to city center).
2. Generally quiet - the lodge is offset enough from Belmore to not get a ton of foot traffic (for example I also stayed at Randwick Lodge just up the road and found it was super noisy with car and people traffic until about 1-2 am every night)
3. Clean, spacious rooms - more room than some other places in the area and the bathrooms/kitchen area was quite clean
4. On-site laundry facility - $3 for washer and $3 for dryer, but they both worked great and were convenient.
5. Staff was friendly and helpful when I needed to leave my bags upon check out.
6. I didn't need to change the temperature since the weather was so temperate, but it did look like there was a cooling unit (and there was an extra blanket in the wardrobe for colder months). Some other places in the area rely on fans for comparison.

Cons:
1. Internet is through an external company (Myport) and is thus very expensive. Think $50/week or $10/night with a limited amount of data.

Overall, this would be my top choice of where to stay if I ever have to visit UNSW again.

Room Tip: Laundry facility and kitchen are on the ground floor, but there are a few balconies on the top floor with seating if you'd rather be close to this.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahlan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I think it is good value, considering location and alternatives. Plenty of eateries, Coles Woolies,etc within walking distance. Movie theater 5 mins walk,
If you want a place that has all the trimmings and daily service, don't stay there.If you want a clean room to sleep in and helpful staff, stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews