We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
18
54
45
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
54
45
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince of wales public transport min walk foot traffic stay there again within walking distance central station old building across the road sydney buses suitcases
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights here while in Sydney for NYE. The room was safe and comfortable with a decent bed and bathroom, tea making facilities, and air con. The management were friendly. The lodge is located close to bus services and places to eat. Found it very easy on NYE to commute into and out of the city and also to Eastgardens and Maroubra.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

How do I rate High Cross Park Lodge.
Great location, a 2 min walk across the park to the main street of Randwick and the Manager was really friendly and helpful.
The room itself was not much bigger than the double bed, allowing for a small round table, wardrobe and kitchen sink including cupboard. Basic necessities included; tv, tea, coffee making facilities, fridge etc were included.
The bathroom had recently been renovated and while it was a little clumsy in design it was clean. Unfortunately the toilet ran constantly and the shower water ran out onto the bathroom floor. The toilet seat was too small for the toilet which felt really unhygienic.
Our room was on the back lane which got considerable noise from the pub next door but it wasnt too much of a problem for us. I also think it would be a good idea to put security on windows!
Overall it was an easy going, no fuss, no frills stay, in a lovely only lodge, and great value for Sydney accomodation.

Room Tip: Perhaps inside the main part of the lodge would be better for noise and security, however this is difficult to comment on as we were on the back balcony outside the main lodge. Perhaps a good thing to ask when you are booking your room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASSunnyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our group of friends stayed in several shared rooms at the High Cross Park Lodge for 3 nights at the end of October while we attended an event at the University of NSW - which was an easy walk, an inexpensive taxi ride or a quick bus trip there & back. It's an old building so all the rooms varied in size and outlook - however because we were out all day and really only sleeping there, they were all large enough for our needs. The bathrooms were clean and modern and there were the standard kettle, bar fridge plus helpful extras like washing up rack, cutlery and tea-towel. There's a small courtyard with a bbq and a picnic table which was handy for us to all gather in before heading out. The pub next door does good meals and there are plenty of other options really close by including supermarkets and take-away. Kokkino Cafe around the corner did great coffee & breakfasts. It is very good value for money if you need to stay in or near Randwick or Kensington. It really is a guest house, not a hotel, so you can't expect things like room service. The front desk staff ranged from extremely helpful to very off-hand - it really does depend on who you encounter and when. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the main street are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MungoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The double room was very small and basic, and the small tv difficult to view perched on top of tall cupboard. The location is very good (for hospital and university and bus routes to city and beach) and our back room was not too noisy considering we were in the middle of Randwick. However the service we received was SHOCKING. We checked in about 4pm, put our luggage in the room and went out with nearby family, eventually going out for dinner and getting back to the lodge about 9:30/10:00pm. Reception is only open for limited hours and when we arrived back neither of our two keys opened the door. There was a note to ring a cell phone number on a Post-it Note on the door. As we were visiting from overseas, this meant an expensive global roaming call but what could we do, locked out of our room, with all our luggage inside (we hoped)? In any case it went straight to voice mail. We rang that same number 4 or 5 time over the next 2-3 hours; each time it went to voice mail. Searching around the (closed) reception area we discovered two cell phone numbers for after hours contacts; one was the number we had been unsuccessfully ringing. So we rang the other, and it went straight to voice mail as well. It was now around midnight, locked out of our room with no luggage (lucky i had taken my wallet with me, but they didnt know for sure that I had), and no-one answering our repeated calls. Luckily we happened to have with us a skinny and limber friend who was willing to risk trying to climb in the bathroom window - which is more dangerous than it sounds (and I certainly would not have fitted nor been able to bend around and fall in without crashing on the sink). So in the early hours of the morning we were able to break into our own room. I was afraid there may have been a fire, a break in, a burst pipe or something, but everything (apart from our unusual method of entry) seemed in order when we just threw ourselves into bed. In the morning, there was no approach to explain to us what had happened. When we asked, we were told that we had apparently arrived early the previous day (no we hadn't), and we were told the occupant from the previous night had not returned their key, so the locks had been changed. When we asked why no-one had answered our multiple calls over several hours, we were told that was just human error! When we asked why the second number also didnt answer, we were told the second manager was on leave and her phone was redirected to the first number! We were not spontaneously offered any compensation, and only when we said we wouldnt be paying for the night we were locked out was one night's refund offered. When our keys worked on each of the remaining 3 nights, we took it as a personal triumph. That we could be locked out and no-one wait to check we were ok is bad enough, but even if you accept leaving a cell phone number is ok - at least check the messages on your phone to make sure that your guests havent tried to call you!! We left our return phone number each time, and its clear no-one bothered. This is unforgiveable. I am a frequent business traveller - albeit often looking for a good deal. I have never in any country in any accommodation experienced such inexcusably poor and thoughtless service. I recommend no-one ever book with such a poor establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank N0npr0fitGuy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

For a room with a small double bed costing $131 for a one night stay it was disappointing. The room was not very clean. For example, beside the fridge the dust and dirt looked like it had been there for a while. The draws in the furniture were also unclean so we did not unpack our clothes. Perhaps they only let this room if they have nothing else to offer. It certainly felt like it needed a good clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the complex along the open verandah are very small and are not worth the price.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews