We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Greek influenced dining in the middle of `the Spot`” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skara Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Skara Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at "The Spot" on the iconic St Pauls street in Randwick, Skara offers a unique ambience that is hard to compare with any other local venue. Authentic Greek Mediterranean dishes, signature cocktails, unique imported and local beers, wines & spirits. Our signature Lamb Fourno - Slow baked seasoned lamb shoulder & our Souvlaki are just a few of Skara's mouth-watering dishes that will definitely seduce your tastebuds! If you are willing to experience the most delicious trip back to Greece, then you are at the right place, Skara Bar & Restaurant!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek influenced dining in the middle of `the Spot`”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

After seeing a movie at the Ritz cinema, we were looking for a place to eat. It was about 9pm on a Saturday night and the impressive cluster of eateries known as 'The Spot' was jumping. Skara Bar and Restaurant looked inviting, and though it was busy they were able to fit us in. We ordered Lamb and Veal dishes for our mains and the qualuty and presentation was excellent. The menu is clearly Greek influenced, but the style is modern and there are plenty of other 'mediterranean style' choices too. Our waitress was very helpful with advice on the wine selection. Even though the place was full, with some lively groups, service was friendly, efficient and timely. We did not have to wait very long for our food, and there was plenty of it.The owners and staff know what they are doing: they have a good system and it works! When the bill came it was quite reasonable for what we had enjoyed here. We were very happy to have stumbled into this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punchbowl, Australia
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch and the food was amazing would recommend people to go.Staff were excellent and very friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good Greek Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I again visited towards the end of 2013. A reservation was made for nine for lunch.

We arrived to find that the tables had been joined to accommodate our party. The dining area has undergone a refresh recently and instead of the Mediterranean rustic look that greeted diners previously, a more modern look now appears in place. It certainly doesn't look as it appears on Google Maps anymore.

I made an order for the Chicken Athenian, the chicken part of which tasted fine but I wasn't a fan of the haloumi cheese placed on top of the chicken, probably just not my type of thing. I also tried part of the mixed dip platter. The dips were refreshing as usual. It was the first time I'd tried the crispy dippers and found them to be crunchy and tasty, nice to eat on their own. The combo platter ordered looked like it contained a substantial amount on the plate.

Service was fine from the waitress, who appeared to be British or English. The waiter (possibly part-owner or manager) provided decent but slightly impersonal service. The main issue concerned the orders taking a while to fulfil, perhaps because we were early and there were nine of us.

Prices for the dishes here are moderate although I'd probably expect something more for the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty and generous meals..lovely spot to eat on busy corner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Ordered roast lamb with ratatouille and moussaka. .both delicious and ample to eat. Unfortunately given wrong bill but easily fixed. Black and red colour scheme attractive, casual dress.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xxxlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“I liked the dish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I've dined here a few times in the past, usually having the chicken souvlaki on skewers, which also come with some pita bread and a dip. The chicken's always tasted very nice, tender and succulent especially with the lemon squeezed over it. The coffee here is just ok but with so many coffee outlets in the area, I usually head nearby for coffee instead. The service is quite friendly. It's located along a main road and has an open and airy feel to it. The seating is just ok but probably not the most comfortable. Overall, it's a good place to eat out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skara Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kingsford, Randwick
La Perouse, Randwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing