We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite for the locals who know”
Review of Java

Java
Ranked #30 of 545 Restaurants in Randwick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A favorite for the locals who know”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Visiting from California. Went there with some Sydney friends one of whom is Indonesian. Their rave recommendations were accurate. Good food, good prices, close enough to the Opera House to catch a performance conveniently. BYO apparently or at least that is what our friends did.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElmerDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian food in Sydney”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I lived in Jakarta for 9 years. When we returned to Sydney we looked far and wide for an Indoenisan resturant that would give us the culinary memories of our time there. We finaly found Java Restaurant. Since discovering Java we have been there many times and have never been disappointed. So if you are like us and want to rekindle memories of Indonesia this is the place. BTW it is so inexpensive !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“So friendly and yummy food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Java is a really good indonesian restaurant. Super cheap and good value for money, and also BYO which is free - no corkage! Tasty food as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly, good and cheap”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The menu is very large, food is very good and cheap. The waitresses are very attentive and friendly.

It is BYO. The decor is nothing special, bur certainly well worth going - a very good choice for an Indonesian restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We love this restaurant, the food is terrific, the price is right too. We usually go there every Thursday eveing with a bunch of people, that way you can try loads of srummy dishes.
Reading a few other reviews you will note that the food is consistently good. Most people who go there will become regulars.
One of my favourites is the Bone Marrow. yum also, try the egg plant with butter soya, the KFC chicken and the beef randang. All excellent. And the best thing YOU CAN BYO.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java also viewed

Randwick, Greater Sydney
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 
Kensington, Randwick
Randwick, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing