We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and that is being kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Reviewed 4 June 2013

on the weekend just gone I used a deal that I purchased to stay here.
The pictures presented on the deal made the place look nice and very relaxing.
Now I bought this deal to surprise my partner for their birthday and when we arrived I was extremely disappointed with what we were presented with. The room was extremely out dated and smelt weird. Now this wouldn't have been an issue if on the deal they had put up a picture of what the real room looked like. I believe by not doing this, its false marketing and a miss representation of what was in the deal.

The next thing that was really disappointing was the continental breakfast and also complimentary bottle of wine. The breakfast was meant to be for 2 people for 2 days. We got there and there was 4 pieces of toast, some butter, 3 little jam packets and 2 chinese containers one with 4 wheatbix and the other cornflakes. And the wine was Brut sparkling wine that tasted disgusting. And also the lighting was very dark we had to have all the lights on to have enough light for the room.

And the thing that made this experience utterly horrible was the fact that my partner and myself where awoken at 5am on the sunday morning to a sound, when we turned the lights on we saw a mouse on the top of the bench. It was trying to eat the mini bar food. Now this is absolutely unacceptable to being going to a supposed 4 star motel and having rats or mice. And when we informed the owner of the place on check out all the women said was "oh well they tend to come out in the colder months." She obviously knew this happens and didn't offer any type of concession or refund. The mice ate through 2 packets on the bench of the mini bar so clearly it wasn't something we imagined.

I think that with all these issues combined and the fact that it really did ruin what was meant to be a romantic birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Don't book here unless you like outdated rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teganm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Motel.

Since offering our Motel on these "deal" websites we have received many positive comments from guests as they are checking out. It is always great to receive positive comments but we also know that there are guests who have been disappointed and their perception and expectations of what they were purchasing were not met.

We always supply the "deal" providers with photographs of our motel and the room being advertised along with photos of the Port Stephens area. We do have a range of rooms within the room-type offered and some have different soft furnishings and bedding configurations. However the rooms are all generally the same with at least a queen size bed and double corner spa bath in the bathroom and are located on the carpark for easy room access. Photographs of the rooms being advertised are also on our website.

For an additional fee guests can upgrade to a deluxe bushland spa suite and these rooms are located away from the carpark and have a lovely bushland aspect. They are perfect for special occasions and a relaxing getaway.

Although our Motel is not new, it is clean and well maintained. Our rooms are opened and aired for a few hours EVERY day and sprayed with an environmentally friendly air-fresheners consisting of lavender oil and water.

The complimentary "start up" continental breakfast is provided to get our guests up and on the go for the day. The breakfast has the recommended daily intake for each person for each day ie juice, toast and cereal. Unfortunately we cannot provide the same amount as guests eat in their own homes as this varies greatly but certainly what is provided is that recommended for a daily breakfast.

The complimentary bottle of wine is certainly not a national wine prize winner but they very rarely get left behind and most of the bottles are emptied.

We quite often get comments on the lighting in our rooms. As we have previously stated the lighting was replaced by Government contractors under the funding initiative to increase energy efficiency.

I was on duty at Reception on Sunday morning when you checked out and I do actually remember you advising us that you had an unwelcome visitor during the night. I have to say that this is not a regular occurrence at our Motel. In the 16 years we have owned this motel it has happened 2 or 3 times before, usually as the weather gets cooler. We did set a trap but there has been no sign of any creatures since your departure.

As a farm girl these types of things do not tend to phase me but I forget that some creatures can offend others who are not used to them. I have to apologize if my light-hearted response
seemed insensitive.

I am sorry if we did not meet your perceptions and expectations but I do not believe that we have misrepresented what was in the "deal" that you purchased and that this deal does represent extremely good value for money.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had read a number of reviews that said the same thing - and presumed that something would have been done about them. But no! We read the compendium and were amazed at just how many things attracted a 'fee'. We were amazed that the 'free continental breakfast' was deemed to be 'adequate'. For two breakfasts for two people there were two pieces of bread each to toast, with three butter portions and three jams as well as cereal in café take away containers. The poor lighting made it impossible to read and we love our Kindles and newspapers - they were a no go. The woman we dealt with was very pleasant but it would help the motel if there was a sense of kindness and generosity rather than an emphasis on frugality

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyAntoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make some comments on your stay at our Motel.

We offer the same services to all our guests and try to ensure that they enjoy their stay with us.

I have checked through the Compendium in the rooms and would just like to clarify the fees and charges you mention.

All our rooms are fully equipped with sufficient COMPLIMENTARY amenities for the full length of our guests stay ie tea, coffee, sugar, milk, biscuits, soap, shampoo and spa gel.

Because of the carelessness of past guests who have flooded our rooms by over-flowing the spa baths, burnt holes in our carpets with irons and portable stoves, we have had to introduce charges to cover our livelihood. We have no option but to charge a fee until rooms are repaired and ready to be re-occupied. If guests are act responsibly then this fee will not be an issue.

The same applies to the "Lost Key" fee. If a guest loses a key, or fails to return a key to Reception within 5 days of departing the premises we charge a fee to cover the cost of replacing this key with an appropriate security grade key.

There are other fees applying but we only charge a fee for services which incur a cost to our Motel. If guests do not use the mini-bar, then there is no fee. If guests to no use the telephone, then there is no fee.

Our complimentary continental breakfast are a "start-up" breakfast and are meant to give you a start to the day. They contain the recommended intake for breakfast for a continental breakfast ie cereal, juice and bread plus butter and condiments. Unfortunately we cannot cater for all appetites.

As we have commented on previous reviews the lighting in our rooms adhere to the relevant energy efficiency studies conducted. All our lights have been replaced by contractors funded by the Government as part of this initiative.

A majority of the reviews on our motel comment on how helpful our staff are. We always encourage our guests to speak to our staff about their concerns during their stay. Sometimes we can assist by offering different rooms but sometimes the problems are not ones we can easily solve.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Very pleasant couple running the motel. Oldish rooms with plenty of space and grass outlook was nice. Comfortable with couch , brekky adequate but more toast could be good. Good parking room for boat. Down side lots of Mosquitoes because of drain behind. Bathrooms fine. Lighting dark needs brighter lights in room.

Room Tip: Chinese at club next door poor, no room service
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

We are pleased that our staff made you feel welcome during your stay. We know our Motel is an older-style property but we do endeavour to ensure that it is well maintained and the rooms are clean and tidy with amenities to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.

Our deluxe bushland spa suites have a lovely aspect, away from the carpark and with nice seating on the lawns. Our rooms have comfortable couches and beds, with a table and chairs for breakfast.

Unfortunately we do back on to protected wetlands and this can sometimes create a perfect environment of mosquitos but they are not often a problem. We usually have a supply of insect repellent on hand for guests to borrow if needed.

Once again thank you for writing this review and we look forward to seeing you back again.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Me and my lovely wife stayed here a couple of months ago. In fact it was the name "Tea Gardens'" that attracted us to purchase the voucher stay.My wife's father is a tea taster and she has an attachment to tea and tea estates. I believe these were erstwhile tea estates! In any case, the property is cut off from the maddening world outside, and the "bush setting room"' was simply great. We would open the door out to the bush and sit on the bench and sip a cuppa or cappu in the mornings, whilst birds whistled and sang. The owner said earlier Kangaroos used to visit guests' but not anymore. It was perfect for bird watching and the whole atmosphere was so serene. The conty brekky was good to have and the onsite parking was a convenience. The Owner's were a friendly couple, especially the gentleman, who gave us a history of the place and introduced us to his dog, Zach(A Gordon setter) who was equally friendly. He let me hose my car down, which not many folks have let me in all my tours. There was a pool, but it was a bit nippy for a swim. Dvd's could be hired on gold coin donation. The rooms were not the best we've been to, but it wasn't too much of a complain for 2 nights. The mattresses could do with a change and the toilets are a tad old. But, we enjoyed our stay and the hospitality,more than made for lacking in other areas for us! Definitely,will go back.

Cheers
Shibu & Sabena
Sydney

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the back that doesn't face the parking lot. When cars drive in, they make...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shbjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Well what a lovely review. We work very hard to maintain a neat and clean motel and receiving reviews such as yours makes the long days and hard work so worthwhile. As we always say when we are approached to advertise our motel. It is not our motel which brings people to Tea Gardens but the beautiful surroundings. We are just a place to lay your head of an evening to prepare for the next day of adventure!

For people to be able sit outside and enjoy the birds and other wildlife while sipping a cup of tea of coffee or a glass of wine is exactly what we want ... for them to relax and unwind.

We do still have the occasional kangaroos graze on our back lawns and this brings great joy to our international visitors. We also have a large family of magpies (up to 11) and a smaller family of kookaburras (about 9) who regularly turn up looking for a meal.

We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality, and regularly daily visits from Zak. He is very sociable and loves the attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have stayed in this motel previously and returned again for one night. It is comfortable and close to a club where you can get some reasonably priced Chinese food. Rooms at the back have a good outlook to the grassy area. Would recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review. A majority of our guests are repeat guests who have enjoyed our motel and hospitality in the past and return time and again to relax and unwind. Our deluxe bushland spa suites are perfect for this as they are away from the carpark and of course our location next to the Tea Gardens Country Club with the Sun Tea Gardens Restaurant means our guests can have a great meal and couple of drink and walk home.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Tea Gardens Club Inn motel for 3 nights. The room (Bushland) was adequate for our needs - we wanted a quiet place to relax after a game of golf. The spa was a welcome addition to our stay. The rooms are a little dated, but the bed was extremely comfortable. The owners of the motel are warm and friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. The chinese restaurant in the Country club was very good value. Restaurants in Tea gardens at the time of year we visited were not all open but the boat shed was a highlight of our visit to Tea Gardens. We wil return one day

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Motel. .

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The deluxe bushland spa suites are lovely and quiet ... just the place to relax and unwind.

The Hawks Nest Golf Club is a hidden treasure and being a sand-based course it is one of the few golf courses around where you can play regardless of the weather.

Although our motel is an older style motel we try to ensure that all appliances and facilities are well maintained regardless of age and that the rooms are spotlessly clean.

As a small coastal town we are well serviced for restaurants etc however the off-season does mean that many of them reduce the hours and days they are open. The Boatshed Restaurant is quite exceptional and we are always receiving comments on how good the meals are. We receive similar comments about the Sun Tea Gardens Restaurant.

We are pleased our staff were able to assist you with their knowledge of the local area and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Motel.

PS We love having people from Canberra visit as that is our old home town and we enjoy catching up on what is happening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We paid for our stay through a "daily deals" site online, so price was ok, As with other reviews, we agree about the low lighting and privacy when curtains are opened to air the room out. Bathroom was ok, clean.The toiletries supplied were 2 shampoos and 2 small bars of soap. The breakfast supplies that were part of the deal were 4 slices of bread ( thought should have been 6 or 8 between 2 people for 2 breakfasts) 3 butters, vegemite, jam and marmalade (1 of each) enough tea & coffee sachets, though 1 only biscuit pack for 2 people for 3 days. Would have preferred milk and juice jugs be covered, milk jug didn't pour without spilling. Fridge didn't seem very cold, adjustment made no difference. Bed too hard. Ceiling from glass doors to right over bed very mouldy looking, so might explain the odour other reviewers mentioned. Agree with reviews about "thin walls", voices and banging cupboard doors made for sleep deprivation.

Room Tip: Our tip for choosing a good room is to find a hotel with better reviews.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for the time you have taken to write your review. I am pleased that you found the price acceptable.

With regard to your comments:

1. We have installed energy efficient lighting in accordance with Government guidelines and requirements;

2. There are both block out curtains and sheer privacy curtains in all our guest rooms. Sheer privacy curtains are required to be on all external windows for us to achieve a 3.5 star AAAT rating;

3. With regard to breakfast supplied, the breakfast is a “start up” breakfast to get you up an on the go and to enable you to enjoy a beautiful morning tea or lunch on the waterfront;

4. As with my response to other reviews, it is very difficult to satisfy all personal preferences with bedding but we do try to ensure that our beds are replaced on a regular basis;

5. There are double brick walls between all our rooms. Unfortunately we have found that some guests have a lack of respect to other guests when it comes to noise. We always try to not put guests side by side if possible but when the Motel is busy or if guests book particular types of rooms this is not always possible.

We do hope that you will come and visit again and we will try to ensure that we do not put any guests in rooms next to you.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.2 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
201 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
Oceanside Hawks Nest Motel
#2 of 2 in Hawks Nest
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel

Address: 2 Yalinbah St, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not offer free breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing