We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Inn Hotel, Tea Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Copacabana, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Club Inn Hotel, Tea Gardens”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Thanks Robyn for a lovely stay at your motel. The deals you had going with the local restaurants, club and whale watching tours just made it all so much easier and allowed us to do more activities without breaking the bank. I live in a small community so it was lovely to see your community supporting each other. The room was great and the spa relaxing. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and even the size of the TV was impressive so it was worth getting a couple of DVDs from your extensive collection.

The continental breakfast could be improved on, but as we were going to the Boatshed for breakfast on our last day it wasn't really a problem. We had a great time there and watched Dolphins and Pelicans.

Looking forward to coming again and spending time at your motel.

Chris and Chris from Copacabana

Room Tip: The Bushland suites are great and very quiet. Also, the outlook is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thanks so much. We really appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have worked very hard to put together the deals with the local business … the aim was to ensure our guests could experience the hospitality and natural experiences that make this area so special and of course to support our local economy. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of these deals.

We receive so many great comments about our rooms from our guests when they are checking out, especially the beds and spa baths, and the location of our Motel. Our guests really appreciate the relaxing location and of course the spas help to ensure you relax.

We have noted your comments on the breakfast and have decided in future to omit these from our packages when we do any future deals as we recognize that we do need to improve on these. Unfortunately we do not have the facilities to offer anything more than a continental breakfast and we find it difficult to compete with the waterfront restaurants, especially with the live entertainment provided by the dolphins and pelicans which add to the experience of dining on the waterfront.

Thank you again for your positive comments and we do look forward to seeing you again.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    54
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
27
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at Club inn motel on Friday 2nd & Saturday 3rd August in room 37 with my family and found it to be a nice & cosy experience. The staff were wonderful and extremely helpful.
The room was very clean and had that old cosy decore feel about it. My family and found it very inviting and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The spa bath worked well and the kids just loved being in it.
We all found the surroundings peaceful and all ammenties were close by,which was handy.
Our stay meet our expectations, because all we wanted to do was to go somewhere quiet and peaceful and chill out.We did what we wanted at our leisure.
If you are looking a place to chill out that is peaceful, then this is the place to be.We will definitely be booking there again.
Joe

Room Tip: Family deluxe room with corner spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the motel on a Groupon deal. Having read other reviews I'm amazed at what some people expect in a motel room. It was extremely large and well-appointed, with a comfortable bed and nice linen. The bathroom is enormous with a corner spa bath, which was of no interest to us, but having a separate good-sized shower recess was a winner (usually showers are positioned over the bath tubs). The breakfast supplied was insulting . . .4 slices of bread, 3 pats of butter, 3 jams. I also felt it was unhygienic to have uncovered jugs of milk and orange juice in the fridge. We don't eat weet bix, but luckily we had decent cereal (to add to the corn flakes) and bread in the car, to use on the second morning, as we were on our way home from holidaying up north. My suggestion would be to make the deal $10 dearer and supply more food and have sealed containers of the liquids. Water in the car park was also a problem. We did support local restaurants for lunch and two dinners!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Thank you Robyn for a quiet stay at your motel last Thursday night. We found it to be clean, very comfortable especially the bed! Lovely outlook from the bushland suite so I would recommend trying to book one of those. Big spa bath, and did I mention how comfortable the bed was? Yes it is dated, but for the price and the nice bed linen, it is worth it. We have already booked our nights accommodation on our return journey. Thanks also to the great range of fliers in the office. Found the breakfast menu for the Boatshed nearby. What a gem that was! Thanks again.

Room Tip: Try and book the Bushland Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thanks you so much for your delightful review. Receiving comments such as yours makes our long hours and hard work worthwhile. We are very proud of our housekeepers. They take pride in their work and like to ensure that the rooms are spotlessly clean for our guests.

The bushland suites and deluxe bushland spa suites are terrific. They cost a little more but are well worth the extra for a good night's sleep. Of course the big double corner spa baths are an added bonus.

Thank you also for staying with us on your return journey. Hope your trip home was uneventful and we look forward to seeing on your next trip up the coast.

Robyn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I can echo some of the experiences of other reviewers. Paid extra for a school holiday and weekend. By the time we paid extra it wasn't such a good deal after all. Room was very dated and while clean and a comfortable bed, we were not impressed with the noisy heater, the TV that wouldn't go higher than volume '30' , which may have been fine if the heater wasn't so noisy. I also have to ask the question, 'what is a continental breakfast?' 2 adults for 2 nights surely can expect more than 4 slices of bread and 3 jam packets (Why 3, why not 4 or 2?), some cereal and a minimal amount of milk/fruit juice. Yes we were on a Scoopon deal but surely the idea is to impress your potential customers and make them want to come back at a higher price. We we loved Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest - but we certainly won't be staying here when we return. Surely the owners can see this is a false economy when it would have been so easy to impress guests with only a little more expenditure. They missed return customers with us.

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our Motel.

I would like to respond to your comments as follows:

Firstly these packages went on sale in early May and were valid until 26 October. Bookings were required by 30 June. The surcharges for the School Holidays were highlighted in the email advertisement for information prior to purchasing the packages and again on the voucher you received when you purchased your package. Other people who purchased this deal elected to book as soon as they received their vouchers which enabled them to book their preferred dates at the purchase price of the deal.

It is unfortunate that you did not decide to book your accommodation until 20 June and that your preferred dates of 5-7 July were already booked out by then. These dates were also during the School Holidays. There were many other dates available between 20 June and 26 October which would not have incurred a room upgrade or School Holiday surcharges but you elected to stay with your preferred dates which meant a room upgrade the School Holiday surcharge.

We are an older style motel but our rooms are well maintained. Our housekeeping staff do an excellent job at ensuring our rooms are neat, clean and comfortable for incoming guests.

Your room has a new split system air-conditioner which are preset on 23 degrees for comfort. It is unfortunate that you did not advise us during your stay that the air-conditioner was noisy. We do regular maintenance ie clean filters, tighten fittings etc but unless guests tell of particular problems then we are unable to provide a solution.

Our televisions are set on Hotel Lock at 30 which is the accepted level of volume and ensures that guests in other rooms are not disturbed by other guests watching late night television or DVDs.

We provide a complimentary continental breakfast "in-room" for guests staying on the "deal" packages. This breakfast consists of 2 Weetbix or 40gm Cornflakes, 100ml milk, 100ml fruit juice, multigrain bread with butter and condiments. The aim of this "start up" breakfast is to enable guests to start the day with something light and experience the fine foods offered by various restaurants and food outlets in Port Stephens. We realise that this is probably not what guests eat in their own homes. Unfortunately we do not have a dining room to offer "all you can eat" buffet breakfasts which is what some people seem to be expecting. This breakfast is adequate and does meet the satisfaction of 99% of our guests.

We offer these packages at more than 50% discount on our normal prices, including a complimentary continental breakfast and bottle of wine, plus discounts to lots of local attractions and facilities, so that people can experience the beautiful northern shores of Port Stephens. Of course our aim is to always give our guests a positive experience so that they return to this area for future relaxation and enjoyment.

I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectation. We do try to ensure that guests leave our Motel with a positive impression but there is a small percentage of guests who have different expectations to a majority of our guests.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tea Gardens hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Bought this 'deal' on Groupon. Could not come during the week because we work. Very limited weekend availability. Had to pay a surcharge for a weekend then a further surcharge for school holidays! Groupon did not want to know. Rooms were very old, cracks in the walls, loose taps, mosquitos. Car park full of huge puddles making getting to the room difficult. Breakfast consisted of 2 plastic containers, 1 with 4 weekbix, the other with Cornflakes. A jug each of orange juice & milk in the fridge. 4 slices of bread to toast yourself plus 3 pats of butter with 3 single serves of jam. Tea & coffee plus 1 packet of biscuits. All this deemed as adequate for 2 adults for 2 nights. No room service for the duration of our stay. Discount vouchers in room mostly not available during school holidays. 'Club' next door was like entering Deliverence country, where you couldn't get a glass of water in the 'restaurant', had to go to the bar yourself. This would have to be the worst hotel/ experience we've had in 15 years. Never stay here again, never use Groupon again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley2759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
I wanted to take the opportunity to respond to your comments regarding the 'deal' you purchased for our Motel.

I have to say firstly that we have now had over 2000 guests through on a variety of "deals" in the last 12 months. From the comments on TripAdvisor some had a different perception and expectation on what the "deal" was offering but a majority of the guests who have stayed with us have really enjoyed their time in Tea Gardens and Hawks Nest and the Port Stephens area and have provided us with extremely positive comments when they are checking out.

The package you purchased went on sale on 14 January 2013 with bookings to be made by 10 March 2013. This particular promotion was extremely popular and many people who purchased this package booked soon after purchasing their package.

In relation to specific issues that you have raised:

1. Your request to book your packages was made at 2.17pm on 8 March 2013 - two days before bookings expired. The package does not guarantee that weekends will be available and most people who could only come on weekends booked their package soon after purchasing to ensure they were able to come on their preferred dates.

2. The rooms for your package were already booked out on your preferred weekend of 28-29 June. You were offered an upgraded room on your preferred weekend at an additional charge and as per the conditions clearly set out in the "deal" at the time of advertising and in your voucher, surcharges applied during School Holidays.

3. You were offered alternative weekends outside School Holidays with a room surcharge but you declined these dates and confirmed that 28-29 June were your preferred dates. You were given a COMPLIMENTARY upgrade to a deluxe bushland spa suite and charge the $50.00 per night School Holiday surcharge. There was also availability on other days when surcharges were not incurred.

4. We are an older style Motel but we work very hard to ensure that our rooms are clean and well maintained.

5. As with many areas of New South Wales including Sydney, in the weeks preceding your stay, and since your stay, we had an enormous amount of rain. The car park did have huge puddles and still has puddles although they are starting to dry out. We have little control over Mother Nature.

6. The COMPLIMENTARY "start-up" continental breakfast is aimed to get you up and on the go for the day. The breakfast provided meets the standard daily intake per person for breakfast ie 2 Weetbix or 30gm Cornflakes (the standard is 25gm), 100mls milk, 100mls juice and bread (for toast) with butter and condiments. We do realise that many people eat more than this for breakfast each day but our breakfast meet the daily intake requirements.

7. COMPLIMENTARY tea, coffee and milk is provided in each guest room for the period of our guests stay.

8. The restrictions on using discount vouchers is clearly stated in the email advertisement sent to "deal" customers by the "deal" provider prior to their purchasing these "deals" including the possibility that discount may not be available during School Holiday. This is also included in the voucher once purchased. It is then up to the "deal" customer whether they elect to redeem their vouchers during School Holidays.

9. We regularly receive excellent feedback regarding the meals and services at the Tea Gardens Country Club and the Sun Tea Gardens Restaurant. It is disappointing that you have to make such derogatory comments regarding one of our local businesses relating to the services they provide especially when they are offering COMPLIMENTARY drink vouchers to our guests. I recently went to a major leagues club in Sydney for a meal. We had a fairly normal "Club" meal but we also had to go to the bar to purchase our drinks and in fact we had to go back to where our order was taken to collect our meal!

Robyn Henshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here last weekend and had a really lovely time. The motel was so much better than previous reviewers had indicated and we look forward to returning soon. We liked the fact it was all on one level, the rooms were spacious with all mod cons. The fully tiled bathroom was large with a good sized spa bath, the hosts friendly and helpful. We were on a 'deal' and thought the continental breakfast was as expected......what did people on a deal expect......hot buffett?! The grounds and pool were well kept. The Club next door was handy for a meal on the night we arrived (Sunday) but there was no noise or disturbance from the club at all. Diane and Stan

Room Tip: Rooms at the back looking into the bush would be lovely in summer and front facing rooms better in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clubinn, Owner at Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
It is so refreshing to get such a positive review of our Motel. We are so pleased you stayed with us on a "deal" and that you enjoyed your time in Port Stephens and that the "deal" and our Motel exceeded your expectations

We wish everyone who had a positive experience such as yours, would put a review on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in our Motel and work hard to keep it up to an acceptable standard.

Our Motel, although an older style property, is neat and cleaned and well maintained. The rooms sizes surprise many of our guests and many guests comment on the size of our bathrooms. Of course the spa baths are always a winner.

We have to admit that we would like to do a full refurbishment but in such a difficult economic climate this is not possible. We therefore try to ensure that our guests have a nice relaxing stay and enjoy the highlights of the local area.

Once again thank you for such a lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Robyn Henshaw
Owner

PS Keep an eye out for our email with our 50% August discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.2 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
199 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
0.5 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel

Property: Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Address: 2 Yalinbah St, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not offer free breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing