We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at this motel for 2 days.
Pros:
Nice size room
Very clean
Large bathroom
Large shower with nice heat and good shower pressure
Nice pool
Breakfast, it was very basic but fine for 2 people
Air conditioner worked amazing
Friendly staff
Cons:
Room smelt very musty upon entering
Extra bed in room made room feel cramped
Out-dated furniture and décor/paint
Stains on furniture
Bed linen was standard motel fare but was disappointed as was expecting nice white bed linen
Pillows were flat and hard and mattress was hard, had a bad nights sleep both nights due to this

If the price was lower I would stay here again but as is I would not. Some basic updating is needed like pillows and linen but even then I don't think it would justify the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scareybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    54
    28
    11
    14
See reviews for
27
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We are over from the UK and have motored from Brisbane to Sydney. We found this motel by accident and because of the welcome we received and the beautiful surrounding area decided to stay an extra day. The food in the in the nearby club was great, the breakfasts and dinner in the Boatshed --a walk to the water--was sublime.

As to the previous complaint about lack of BOSE sound system--Bought Often Seldom Enjoyed--allegedly--GET A LIFE

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteraries2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I am choosing to leave a review because the previous negative reviews were so unreasonable.
The owner of this hotel is extremely friendly and made us feel so welcome even when we had an after hours check in late at night. The rooms were very spacious, a little dated but very clean and comfortable. The price is quite on par for the area I'd say.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccadeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans Head, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The quoted price is $200 a night but Booking.com did it at $143, so I expected a few touches, quality coffee and choice of teas, proper mild, diabetic sugars, a good sound system such as Bose so as to listen to ABC Fine Music, free wifi, a complimentary breakfast to raise it above the $80 a night I get in Melbourne as bog standard. Nup, none of the above.
Negative messages pasted like "Don't do this ... " etc. Staff OK but the place was tired and unwelcoming and certainly not worth the outrageous charges.
Drive onto Newcastle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tea Gardens hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Motel is over price and nothing to look forward to.
We stayed here on a Groupon deal which included breakfast. When asked, the Motel owner appeared not even aware of that. So as an afterthought, a tray was placed overnight in our room. The owner did not even bother to ask us what we would like for breakfast, there is no choice and they just give you what they like- how rude! . The food was just left in the room, exposed to the elements of the room in a most unhygenic manner. Beware too that the discount cruise is not available daily but only on specific days during the week which is not spelt out in the deal. Ferry is only twice a day and if you missed the morning ferry , you wil have to take the afternoon ferry and come back straight away or be stranded at Nelson Bay. All other discounts are quite useless too as majority of the discount shops are closed on Sundays! - All in all quite a terrible motel and a most boring place .There is absolutely nothing to do in the area - you are much better off going to Nelson Bay if you want to enjoy Port Stephens.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Today33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Motel would be ok for a night, not 3 nights. We stayed here on a Groupon deal. The rooms are nice and large as are the bathrooms, however the beds are the most uncomfortable beds I have ever stayed in. They are rock hard, woke up each day in pain. The other downside was the people smoking constantly in room next door. Could not leave screen door open as the smoke would come wafting in. We were on a breakfast deal, and there was to be enough breakfast in room for 3 days, really only enough for 2 ppl for 2 day. The location is close enough to everything in Tea Gardens. Tip: the Asian restaurant in nearby bowls club is great, less than 100 meters away.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Unfortunately we had to leave after one night. It is not a very clean or nice place to stay. The rooms smell really bad and are dusty. We both had allergies from breathing in the dust. This was not a pleasant weekend away as planned. I think this motel needs to lower its prices as it is too expensive compared to what your actually getting. The beds and furniture are very old and the rooms are not aired out properly. This motel is in need of a major overhaul. I will never book accommodation on Groupon ever again due to this bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tea Gardens
0.2 mi away
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
Boathouse Resort Tea Gardens
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
199 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
0.5 mi away
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
Tea Gardens Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Tea Gardens
44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawks Nest Motel
Hawks Nest Motel
#1 of 2 in Hawks Nest
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel

Property: Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel
Address: 2 Yalinbah St, Tea Gardens, New South Wales 2324, Australia (Formerly Club Inn Motel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tea Gardens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tea Gardens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not offer free breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Gardens Country Club & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Gardens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing