We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Motel Farrington
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at this Motel, as we have stayed at the Best Western chain previously, and as a rule the standard is very good. We were disappointed. The room was small as was the bathroom, which was very basic. However, it was very clean. Free broadband was advertised but guests need an ethernet cable which I had not packed. The cables were available for sale at the office for $10. As I had one at home I did not bother. Wireless did not work via my mobile broadband internet. Visitors to Tumut should know Mobile phone signal is extremely weak and did not work at all in the room. This must be a problem in the Tumut area and nothing to do with the motel. We thought, for the standard provided by this facility, $115 using a Best Western card was overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWandGW, Owner at Best Western Motel Farrington, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Motel Farrington in Tumut. We have recently upgraded and completely renovated most of our units (and bathrooms) at the Farrington, unfortunately some of our standard units still have smaller bathrooms (due to lack of space). We are continuing with our current upgrading programme and always try to make sure all rooms are kept clean and comfortable with a very strict cleaning & maintenance programme.

I am sorry that you did not ask at reception for a internet cable (we have plenty on the counter for our guest's use (as well as for sale) We also now have Free Wifi as well as wired broadband internet access in all guest's units.

Unfortunately most of the Tumut Valley has very poor mobile phone reception (I suppose because we are at the bottom of the Valley) Good Digital TV coverage has finally arrived in Tumut so hopefully our mobile phone coverage will improve too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
12
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Good on you Graham and Gail. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we felt welcome. That cold winter night was made warm by your hospitality and the quality of our rooms facilities. No dodgey heaters or paper thin walls here. If you want that cosey warm welcome feeling in a beutiful country town don't go past the Farrington.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarathustraperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tumut hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashton Townhouse Motel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Amaroo Motel
Amaroo Motel
#1 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merivale Motel
Merivale Motel
#2 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tumut Valley Motel
Tumut Valley Motel
#4 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tumut Motor Inn
Tumut Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elms Motor Inn
Elms Motor Inn
#6 of 8 in Tumut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Motel Farrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Motel Farrington

Property: Best Western Motel Farrington
Address: 71 - 73 Capper St, Tumut, New South Wales 2720, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tumut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Motel Farrington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the Best Western Motel Farrington is a quality three and half star rated family owned & operated Motel. Specialising in old fashioned country hospitality, Graham & Gail offer their guests, a quiet comfortable stay in the relaxed atmosphere of a friendly country town and just a short easy stroll to pubs, clubs, restaurants & CBD. With single, double or family units/suites,(all no smoking) the Farrington offers corporate, holiday makers, tourists and families a variety of choices. Comfortable beds, reverse cycle air-conditioning/heating, free Austar cable TV, Free wifi & wired broadband internet access in all rooms. Motel facilities include Solar heated outdoor swimming pool, children's play area, free gas BBQ & picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Motel Farrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing