We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad bad”

Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 3 Ulladulla B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad bad bad”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Bed is probably 20 years old. Smelt of stale urine. Room was very very old and musty. Bar fridge prob 20yrs old too, falling apart. They don't allow kids under 17 although the room had dbl bed and 2 singles. Not recommend at all. Too many rules to mention. Eg: leave air con on and go out and you will lose air con privillages.
TERRIBLE

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akamumzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    1
    2
    13
See reviews for
4
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

On arrival was ok. Room small downstairs. The bed was itchy to the 3 of us 2A - 1 child. Granted they did not have to accept child. On approaching mgt in the morning whether cheap detergent was used or bed bugs in the beds causing the itchyness and a lengthy conversation about this, we were evicted and refunded one night. They were obnoxious to say the least. The local tourist info centre mentioned that they have had numerous complaints about this property. He told my son to get out whilst him and I argued. Anywhere else would have offered another room at least. He did not. Shower took a while to heat up and you had to run to catch the drops. The kettle was/is OHS issue as did not turn off automatically. When turning the kettle off, I burnt my finger in the process and the handle was hot so had to use a teatowel to pour the kettle. I have told heaps of people about this and emailed to numerous people around the country. To top it off, they have the business up for sale. Bad luck if we were potential buyers. The stay apart from this in Ulladulla and Milton was lovely to say the least.
Dave and Fiona

Room Tip: No noise, but noone else booked in either. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kimbacat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ulladulla hotels

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

reception guy was nice to stay up and wait for us to check in last minute and very late, 10pm? free Internet and dated but fine rooms. kettle rusty but oh well it's nice not to have to sleep in your cars. went back to Jervis bay next day, worth it but needs a few days camp or stay nearer to get the most out of it. Anyways, overall very quiet and pleasant, nice to be able to park the car right in front off the door so didn't have to take out luggage. とても便利、それだけ。遅くまでチェックインok.

Room Tip: just park right outside and get the cheaper rooms, you can just put the beds together if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We had a lovely stay. The room was spacious and the kitchen well equiped. Despite being close to the road, we heard little to no noise. The gardens are well taken care of and owners were lovely which adds to the positive experience. Location is great but probably more convenient if you have a car.
I would definitely stay there again and recommend this motel for a short stay/long weekend or a stopover.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clauxmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Staff are extremely rude. They yelled at my children, would turn off our air con from their office while we were using it, didn't supply enough towels, the milk they supplied had the tamper seal broken, Beds were old and very uncomfortable. The motel is in need of full refurbishment / demolition. Staff became very hostile when questioned about their shortcomings. These people should not be in the hospitality industry. Worst motel experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulladulla
0.0 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#4 of 5 in Ulladulla
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ulladulla Guest House
Ulladulla Guest House
#1 of 3 in Ulladulla
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Royal Motel
Harbour Royal Motel
#3 of 5 in Ulladulla
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 5 in Ulladulla
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pigeon House Motor Inn
Pigeon House Motor Inn
#1 of 5 in Ulladulla
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mollymook Caravan Park
Mollymook Caravan Park
#11 of 13 in Mollymook
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins

Property: Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins
Address: 13-17 Princes Hwy, Ulladulla, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Ulladulla
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ulladulla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Palms Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing