We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ceto Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Ceto Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Mu wife and I dined at Ceto, both of us haven two courses. I had the charcoal seared yellowfin tune for entree it was fabulous, my wife local prawns, small but very sweet, both had beef , I
Wagyu. Wife sirloin, both were perfect, tasty and moist. The bowl of greens were yummy, had a touch of chilli. The wine list was limited and slightly on expensive side. The view was one of the best in the town. Well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paddles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    14
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not for morning coffee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nothing to recommend here for a morning coffee. Latte was a large glass of weak milky coffee. Hopefully better later in the day or evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I booked a table for four for lunch for my husband's birthday via email. Off to a good start when the restaurant phoned to confirm and offered the A la carte evening menu as it was a special occasion. We accepted and turned up for our booking. We chose the Tasting menu at $95pp (inc wines with each course). We ordered a drink each when we got there, beers came and cocktails around 20mins later. The 5 mini courses took 3 hours, wines were not available and substitutes were served when they got the time. There were no dessert wines as on menu and only one wine with food as advertised. The Waygu was as tough as a beef roast and tasteless. Two oysters, four slivers of carpaccio, 3cm square piece of pork belly, 3 small slices of waygu and 3 small spoons of mousse for dessert...we left to get more food with a $416 bill!! The flavours were there but we were left wanting a lot more. View is lovely but stick to the lunch menu. I have never before felt the need to review a restaurant but this experience was just so costly and disappointing that I had to put our feeling out there. For that sort of coin, we should have been full and marvelling at the cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently went home to visit my parents and one of my friends took me to Ceto. We were given the corner table so had a beautiful view of Ulladulla Harbour.

We skipped the entrée and went straight to a main. Both of us ordered steak. They were cooked just how we ordered them and the mash potato was perfect. Yes, I'm a bit of a dag but I love mash!

Dessert was wonderful.

The restaurant was full but there was no rush to get us out. I will happily dine there next time I'm in town,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtleford, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but I was left wanting more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Everything was fine, but not outstanding. The location and service were good, but I would rate this really as just ok. The cocktails were the best part of our lunch

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank La_Lemon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceto Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing