We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gemini Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have been coming to Gemini for nearly 10 years and each time we leave relaxed, having had a great time. The location is great, with wonderful views over Pumicestone passage to Caloundra - never tire of this view! The pool is a favorite with our kids and having the beach so close is a bonus. We love being able to walk in either direction and enjoy the views. Handy to local shops and not far from larger supermarkets. The location is quiet but handy to Caloundra and other beaches. Our unit was clean and well set up although the kitchen could do with a few more utensils to make cooking for a family a little easier. We will be back next year and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeeJaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
It's so great to get a review from such a loyal guest. Thank you FeeJaySydney for taking the time. The photo you shared is fantastic, it really shows off the view from Gemini. So glad to hear you enjoyed our pool and our beachfront location. Gemini Resort focuses on having a great reputation for families and couples alike. It is lovely to simply walk out the door and onto the boardwalk right alongside the Golden Beach. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Hannah (front desk receptionist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    69
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
158
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We chose Gemini @ Golden Beach for our 10 day family holiday just after Xmas. I always refer to Tripadvisor when making accommodation choices & Gemini came highly rated as a family destination on the Sunshine Coast but unfortunately our experience did not fully live up to the expectation set by Tripadvisor's glowing rating.

The location of the hotel was perfect for our beach-wary toddler - directly opposite a tiny, quiet sandy stretch with calm rippling waves. As for local amenities, there is a small, very basic convenience store, pharmacy, bottle shop & some take away shops within a few minutes walk. Despite some great fish & chips and a decent Chinese take away, we were anticipating more options for dining out but did not feel the eating places within walking distance had much ambience so we chose to drive to Kings Beach for meals out. Sure, only a 10min drive but we would have liked some places to walk to.

The hotel itself was ok, tidy & certainly on paper has everything you need - pool, restaurant & games room. But in reality, the facilities did not quite live up to our expectations.

The pool was cold (says heated but maybe we are used to MORE heating?!) so myself & my toddler did not enjoy a dip. We are probably soft I know but still we expected a pleasant temperature & for us, it was not. Also from descriptions we expected a lagoon style pool meaning the pool entry is graduated depth so our toddler could crawl/walk in to his depth so my husband & I did not have to hold him the whole time. In reality, the pool is split into two, separated by rocks which are slippery & not suitable for a young child to climb/walk over. The deep side had only a very small ledge at the far side and the shallower "kids" side was still far too deep for our toddler (perhaps adult waist deep). So there was nowhere it was shallow and safe enough for our toddler to paddle.

The onsite restaurant menu was appealing but when we enquired about opening times & bookings reception staff were quite vague & unenthusiastic. In our 10 day stay it appeared closed more often than not - no staff to be seen & chairs stacked on tables. We only noticed one or two groups of diners on one day.

The games room was extremely tired. The toys & books, sparse that they were, were dirty & broken. There was a ping pong & pool table which looked usable (can't go too wrong with those), a pinball, race car & skills tester that require coins. It was extremely hot in the room - only one window would open & after only a few minutes inside it was uncomfortable. Our toddler was not of an age to make use of the room but I would think it would be pretty in appealing even for an older child.

Our 2 bed unit was a great size - the kitchen, living & dining were very spacious. Separate toilet, 2 bathrooms including one bath & a laundry with washer, dryer & tub. The kitchen in particular was excellent - every appliance & utensil you could possibly need for self catering which was great. The decor was dated, but that didn't bother us - everything was clean & functional and very comfortable.

What was very disappointing about our unit was the bedrooms. The hotel & unit is described as air conditioned but in fact there is only one unit in the lounge area - the bedrooms only have ceiling fans.

After suffering through our first sweltering January night where none of us got much sleep, we experimented with setting the lounge air con to 16 & fan on high to see if it would cool the rooms but as they're round a bend in the hallway & right at the back of the unit the lounge air con unit has no chance. Our baby monitor, set up in the second bedroom with our son, displays the room temp & it did not get below 28, often sitting at 31 degrees day & night for the whole time we were there. Sleeping - and showering/bathing as these are both located out of the air con reach also - was very uncomfortable. Our toddler, usually a great sleeper woke in a layer of sweat multiple times every night, not what you're after any time but especially on holidays!!

In addition, the windows & sliding doors require servicing as they all rattle and bang constantly with the wind.

All in all, we did not have a terrible experience, however our discomfort in the bedrooms causing a lack of good sleep really took the shine off our stay. No air con is for sure a "first world problem" but when we are on holidays & paying decent money for our stay we expect a similar, if not better accommodation standard to what you have at home. And ultimately, this review is not saying that the Gemini Resort is a terrible place to stay, but we do want to highlight that - for us anyway - it did not live up to the description outlined on Tripadvisor or its own website.







  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Jennifer S
On behalf of all of the Gemini Resort team we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all reviews so thank you for taking the time to write one. We very sorry to hear you did not think that Gemini Resort was worthy of our ratings. The pool is heated to a minimum 27 degrees all year round and we have had very hot weather lately so it has been much warmer, perhaps this is why the water felt cool. We have never had any complaints about our pool before with many people re-booking especially for its size, kid’s pools and waterslide.
Our games room is enjoyed every day by many children and adults alike and we have just redecorated it, had a much bigger choice of games put in it and a new bookcase. We rely on guests looking after our free games and books but unfortunately they do get damaged and that is something we are unable to control and we do replace and add to them.
Our on-site-managers are available 24/7 to bring more stand up fans to anyone who asks when the weather is hot. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort in the future. Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here with our family of four and found the accommodation very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and large and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. The location of the hotel was great. It is located away from the main part of the town so the congestion and noise was much less, but it was still very quick and easy to get to everything we needed. Parking spaces were large and easy to access. Down side for the apartment we stayed in (unit 82) was that it was starting to get a bit tired. The curtains were rotting, artwork faded and internet was non-existent in our room (we eventually had to go down to the lobby to use a coin operated computer). The pool was nice, especially for young kids. The slide is pretty small and really only usable by young kids, but it provided lots of fun and cooling off time for both kids and parents. Overall a very family-friendly spot that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaradaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear BaradaKitty,
Thank you very much for your review. It’s so good to hear that you found your stay very comfortable. We are in the process of finding a better internet service. The solid concrete walls make it very difficult for some apartments to get a signal. The owner has slowly been improving this apartment by buying a beautiful new lounge and all the bathrooms have been fully renovated to an extremely high standard. The kitchen is modern and recently renovated. The new curtains for apartment 82 are in our office, we are just waiting for the apartment to be free of guests so we can fit them. This beautiful weather has been a welcome bonus; So glad to hear you enjoyed our pool . Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

What a fantastic location for a family holiday!

Outstanding pool, patrolled beach out the front, walking paths and kids parks straight outside, newsagent, bakery, a small supermarket and some restaurants and cafes just a short walk away.

And it is just a short drive to surf beaches, full size supermarket and the Caloundra main street.

Our 3 bedroom unit was very large. The kitchen has been refurbished and is very usable. The bathrooms are original and very simple, but clean and work perfectly.

We had a great time and will be back at the same time next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Fabulous Family Holiday

Dear Anne663, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday here on Golden Beach. Staying at Gemini Resort is ideal even if you do not have a car because the beach, shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort next year! Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We just returned from 7 nights at gemini. We are a family of 4 and stayed with 2 other families of 4. We were in room 55. The stayed below us in 31 and 39. The quality of the furnishings differed between the rooms. We had the better view being higher, although our bedrooms had no fans or aircon. There was only one aircon unit in the main living and one pedestal fan that we tried to share between the rooms. It was hot and coming from Nth Qld we are used to ceiling fans, so we left the doors open for the breeze. But we were then woken at 5am with the traffic noise. So our son slept most of the nights on the lounge under the aircon. We had an older style TV than our friends and we had taken the kids PS3 which we could not play on our TV. The DVD stopped working but it was quickly replaced by the staff. Apart from the hot nights we had a great stay. The pool is wonderful and our kids also had a lot of freedom with the patrolled beach so close. There is also a jetty to fish off (or jump off as ours did). The resort is in easy walking distance to shops and take aways. We also walked to the Power Boat Club on New Years which is a pleasant walk along the waterfront.

Room Tip: The South Tower would be best to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec71_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Bec71_13, Thank you very much for your review on Gemini Resort. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Having the beach outside your door is a fantastic bonus and no road to cross makes it great for small children. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort. Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Perfect for a family holiday! We have stayed again and again at Gemini and rebooked for next Christmas. You never want to leave. Staff couldnt be more helpful we always stay at Gemini and every room we have had has been lovely! Highly Recommend!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Your review is much appreciated Shelldel, thank you for sharing it with us. I am very glad to hear that your stays here have been enjoyable. This Christmas we have been very fortunate weather wise, it has been a great year for our guests as nearly every day has been warm and sunny here on Golden Beach. Swimming in the pool and the sea alike has been very refreshing. Thank you again and we will see you Christmas 2013! Kind Regards, Hannah (front office reception)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This was our 6th visit to Gemini Resort. We loved coming here as a couple and now we enjoy it with our family. There is everything a family could want- safe swimming, patrolled beach right at your doorstep. Parkland that goes on forever with BBQ's, swings, pathways, bike hire, watercraft hire etc. Fishing and boating to enjoy the gorgeous weather!
Across the road plenty of take away food restaurants, including thai, chinese, pizza, noodles, ice cream etc. There is also a doctor, hairdresser, chemist, newsagent, grocery and liquor shop!
The resort has a great little bistro which has tapas and easy relaxed meals, which are well priced.
The pool is amazing! Large swimming areas for both adults and little ones with a fun slide. Plenty of shady seating too and a spa. There is a games room too!
We love coming here for the relaxed lifestyle of Caloundra and everything we need is at our doorstep.
We highly recommend a stay for any family!
We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We have stayed a few rooms now but we prefer Unit 1 for families and it has great easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kymbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Kymbo65,
It was lovely to have you again Kym! Thank you so much for your review; it really makes our day to have such positive feedback. We like to think our return guests are like family here. We are so blessed with location, as you say everything you could ask for on a perfect holiday is right on your doorstep. Apartment 1 is one of my favorites as it has that private pathway to the beach and a massive courtyard which is perfect for parties or weddings. The photos you have shared look lovely. Thank you for your support and loyalty over the years, it has not gone unnoticed. Kind Regards, Hannah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Property: Gemini Resort
Address: Gemini Towers 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing