We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient apartment for a small family”
Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gemini Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We just came back from 8 nights at Gemini Resort at Golden Beach and had a lovely relaxing stay. We stayed in unit 81 on level 10 of the buliding which had a lovely view of the ocean and the town of Caloundra. We have an almost 2 year old daughter so we very rarely went on the balcony and kept it locked nearly all the time so we didn't get to fully enjoy the spacious balcony with table and chairs and gorgeous view. Kitchen had everything we needed including an oven so that made it really easy to self cater as eating out at restaurants with a toddler can be quite challenging. It was quite windy at nights so the rattling of the windows did disturb our sleep sometimes but I guess that can't really be helped.
Overall it was a great place to stay for the price and I would definitely recommend it to others with small children as there are great little parks right next door and conveniences of supermarkets, doctors and chemist within short walking distance. It is also only a short 30 minute drive to Australia Zoo which is fantastic for adults and children especially. We ended up buying a 2 day pass as it was that good and being so close made it easy to go back again for the second visit.

Room Tip: choose a lower floor if you have small kids - help keep the panic levels down when you want to use t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeliciaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear FeliciaSydney, Thank you very much for your review on Gemini Resort! We take great pleasure in offering some of the largest apartments in Caloundra. It is lovely to have a home-cooked meal on the balcony over-looking the ocean. The location is great for families and couples alike with everything at your doorstep, some of our guests don't even take their car out of the garage! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Australia's 4th best hotel 2013. Kind Regards, Hannah (Front desk receptionist)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Gemini Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have been bringing my family to Gemini for over 20 years. We just love this place. Great size family units. Awesome pool complex. Magnificent views. I seriously want to buy a family unit here. Whether I do or not, I will keep coming back to this piece of paradise. So many happy family holiday memories here...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Hello Don B, Your review has brightened our day! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. The apartments here are very spacious as you say, which is great for families. It is a fantastic place to have as a holiday home. Family holidays are our specialty. Very good to hear you enjoy the pool and the ocean views. Thank you very much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort! - Hannah (front desk reception)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Booked the Gemini from reviews from friends and was happy with our stay. The worst part of our stay was the rain, and that’s not anyone’s fault but it did rain 4 out of 5 days we were there. The rooms were great, views of the water and clean and tidy. Pools were good the kids wanted to swim all day but the rain made that hard. Location was good we walked to most of the shops and restaurants. Kids room was ok could use some new games. The rain made it hard to have fun but the stay was good and we would come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Dear Brent C,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Gemini Resort. It's so good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the weather has been shocking for most of February, but it cannot last forever, we are looking towards brighter skies. It's good to have an indoor game area for when the weather decides to be unreasonable. The pool is heated all year, which is great for all weather. We try our utmost best to give our guests a fantastic holiday. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort - Hannah (front desk reception)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My family have been staying at gemini for over 20 years, whilst the rooms are a great size for familys they are in need of a referb as the last room we stayed in the furniture was many years old and quite worn. The carpets in the lounge had stains every where and every time we stay we have to clean first as the cleaning standards are not top notch, have a look at the balconys they are always overlooked by the cleaners, noise is always a issue from the floor above your unit with the constant noise of chairs being scraped across the floor. The views are great and relaxing, the foyer is nice the games room is like stepping back 25 years, hasnt changed at all needs a serious revamp. Like i said we have been staying for over 20 yrs but will be looking elsewhere in future. Vaule for money ? You be the judge. So over all, some will like some will not, if you want a 3 star unit its fine, if you want a bit of upmarket accommodation or somewhere a bit special look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 10th floor so you dont have noise from rooms above.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jupiler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Jupiler2010, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Gemini Resort. As all the apartments are individually owned, some owners have not renovated in the last 3 years or so, while others are constantly renovating and renewing their apartment. We are sorry to hear that you were bothered by the noise from the apartment above you. Our games room has had a recent renovation, with new game machines, air hockey, table tennis, pool, chocolate machine etc. we have hung paintings and repainted the entire area. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Gemini Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have been coming to Gemini for nearly 10 years and each time we leave relaxed, having had a great time. The location is great, with wonderful views over Pumicestone passage to Caloundra - never tire of this view! The pool is a favorite with our kids and having the beach so close is a bonus. We love being able to walk in either direction and enjoy the views. Handy to local shops and not far from larger supermarkets. The location is quiet but handy to Caloundra and other beaches. Our unit was clean and well set up although the kitchen could do with a few more utensils to make cooking for a family a little easier. We will be back next year and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeeJaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

It's so great to get a review from such a loyal guest. Thank you FeeJaySydney for taking the time. The photo you shared is fantastic, it really shows off the view from Gemini. So glad to hear you enjoyed our pool and our beachfront location. Gemini Resort focuses on having a great reputation for families and couples alike. It is lovely to simply walk out the door and onto the boardwalk right alongside the Golden Beach. Thanks again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Hannah (front desk receptionist)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We chose Gemini @ Golden Beach for our 10 day family holiday just after Xmas. I always refer to Tripadvisor when making accommodation choices & Gemini came highly rated as a family destination on the Sunshine Coast but unfortunately our experience did not fully live up to the expectation set by Tripadvisor's glowing rating.

The location of the hotel was perfect for our beach-wary toddler - directly opposite a tiny, quiet sandy stretch with calm rippling waves. As for local amenities, there is a small, very basic convenience store, pharmacy, bottle shop & some take away shops within a few minutes walk. Despite some great fish & chips and a decent Chinese take away, we were anticipating more options for dining out but did not feel the eating places within walking distance had much ambience so we chose to drive to Kings Beach for meals out. Sure, only a 10min drive but we would have liked some places to walk to.

The hotel itself was ok, tidy & certainly on paper has everything you need - pool, restaurant & games room. But in reality, the facilities did not quite live up to our expectations.

The pool was cold (says heated but maybe we are used to MORE heating?!) so myself & my toddler did not enjoy a dip. We are probably soft I know but still we expected a pleasant temperature & for us, it was not. Also from descriptions we expected a lagoon style pool meaning the pool entry is graduated depth so our toddler could crawl/walk in to his depth so my husband & I did not have to hold him the whole time. In reality, the pool is split into two, separated by rocks which are slippery & not suitable for a young child to climb/walk over. The deep side had only a very small ledge at the far side and the shallower "kids" side was still far too deep for our toddler (perhaps adult waist deep). So there was nowhere it was shallow and safe enough for our toddler to paddle.

The onsite restaurant menu was appealing but when we enquired about opening times & bookings reception staff were quite vague & unenthusiastic. In our 10 day stay it appeared closed more often than not - no staff to be seen & chairs stacked on tables. We only noticed one or two groups of diners on one day.

The games room was extremely tired. The toys & books, sparse that they were, were dirty & broken. There was a ping pong & pool table which looked usable (can't go too wrong with those), a pinball, race car & skills tester that require coins. It was extremely hot in the room - only one window would open & after only a few minutes inside it was uncomfortable. Our toddler was not of an age to make use of the room but I would think it would be pretty in appealing even for an older child.

Our 2 bed unit was a great size - the kitchen, living & dining were very spacious. Separate toilet, 2 bathrooms including one bath & a laundry with washer, dryer & tub. The kitchen in particular was excellent - every appliance & utensil you could possibly need for self catering which was great. The decor was dated, but that didn't bother us - everything was clean & functional and very comfortable.

What was very disappointing about our unit was the bedrooms. The hotel & unit is described as air conditioned but in fact there is only one unit in the lounge area - the bedrooms only have ceiling fans.

After suffering through our first sweltering January night where none of us got much sleep, we experimented with setting the lounge air con to 16 & fan on high to see if it would cool the rooms but as they're round a bend in the hallway & right at the back of the unit the lounge air con unit has no chance. Our baby monitor, set up in the second bedroom with our son, displays the room temp & it did not get below 28, often sitting at 31 degrees day & night for the whole time we were there. Sleeping - and showering/bathing as these are both located out of the air con reach also - was very uncomfortable. Our toddler, usually a great sleeper woke in a layer of sweat multiple times every night, not what you're after any time but especially on holidays!!

In addition, the windows & sliding doors require servicing as they all rattle and bang constantly with the wind.

All in all, we did not have a terrible experience, however our discomfort in the bedrooms causing a lack of good sleep really took the shine off our stay. No air con is for sure a "first world problem" but when we are on holidays & paying decent money for our stay we expect a similar, if not better accommodation standard to what you have at home. And ultimately, this review is not saying that the Gemini Resort is a terrible place to stay, but we do want to highlight that - for us anyway - it did not live up to the description outlined on Tripadvisor or its own website.







  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Dear Jennifer S
On behalf of all of the Gemini Resort team we would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all reviews so thank you for taking the time to write one. We very sorry to hear you did not think that Gemini Resort was worthy of our ratings. The pool is heated to a minimum 27 degrees all year round and we have had very hot weather lately so it has been much warmer, perhaps this is why the water felt cool. We have never had any complaints about our pool before with many people re-booking especially for its size, kid’s pools and waterslide.
Our games room is enjoyed every day by many children and adults alike and we have just redecorated it, had a much bigger choice of games put in it and a new bookcase. We rely on guests looking after our free games and books but unfortunately they do get damaged and that is something we are unable to control and we do replace and add to them.
Our on-site-managers are available 24/7 to bring more stand up fans to anyone who asks when the weather is hot. We hope to look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort in the future. Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here with our family of four and found the accommodation very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and large and the rooms were comfortable and spacious. The location of the hotel was great. It is located away from the main part of the town so the congestion and noise was much less, but it was still very quick and easy to get to everything we needed. Parking spaces were large and easy to access. Down side for the apartment we stayed in (unit 82) was that it was starting to get a bit tired. The curtains were rotting, artwork faded and internet was non-existent in our room (we eventually had to go down to the lobby to use a coin operated computer). The pool was nice, especially for young kids. The slide is pretty small and really only usable by young kids, but it provided lots of fun and cooling off time for both kids and parents. Overall a very family-friendly spot that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaradaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear BaradaKitty,
Thank you very much for your review. It’s so good to hear that you found your stay very comfortable. We are in the process of finding a better internet service. The solid concrete walls make it very difficult for some apartments to get a signal. The owner has slowly been improving this apartment by buying a beautiful new lounge and all the bathrooms have been fully renovated to an extremely high standard. The kitchen is modern and recently renovated. The new curtains for apartment 82 are in our office, we are just waiting for the apartment to be free of guests so we can fit them. This beautiful weather has been a welcome bonus; So glad to hear you enjoyed our pool . Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Address: Gemini Towers 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range: £100 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing