We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gemini Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Pro's :- great sea view, master bedroom was good comfortable bed. Pool good. Restaurant good. Tennis courts good. Great coffee machine. Kitchen workable for large family.

Cons :-
We didn't realise that although it is a resort, each appartment is privately owned and therefore the staff were unable to attend to any issues. The patio doors from the lounge and childrens' bedrooms had no way of being locked. There was only a latch which our 5 year could open from her bedroom onto a balcony 9 floors high. The sofas were disintegrating and the fabric flaked off every time they were sat on. There was a high pitch whistle most nights from the lounge window which could be heared in all the bedrooms, when mentioned to staff they suggested we should leave the door open, great idea when we had 3 children under the age of 11. The second double bed room had no were to store our clothes. There was no wardrobe in the bedroom the owner had locked a cupboard outside the bedroom which apparently was the wardrobe . Lights in the childrens' bedroom didn't work and the cable had been cut. When mentioned to staff it was removed from the room. There was a lot of dust around the appartment when we arrived and a musty smell. No internet access in the room and the internet computers downstairs were very slow and crashed three times in 20 minutes.

Room Tip: choose sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank janel432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Janel432, Thank you for your review on Gemini Resort. So good to hear you enjoyed the view, Restaurant and master bedroom. The owner takes great pride in equipping his unit, the coffee machine is a new feature in this room. We have taken into account all your 'Cons' and will be discussing a few things with the owner. The sofa has recently started flaking and the owner is in the process of purchasing a new one. We are discussing the rubber seals on the doors leading out the balcony and whether they should be replaced to reduce the noise level. The apartment in which you stayed in is an extremely popular apartment as it can sleep many people and has had barely any complaints throughout the years. THank you again and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    71
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
163
61
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Pines, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have been to Gemini Resort about 5 times. Every time we have been it has been great. The units are great very spacious. I would recommend it to anyone. The beach is at your door. the sunday markets in the main street of coloundra are great lots to look at. the last time we stayed it was for 9 days. Gemini is a great family holiday

Room Tip: higher floors are great. Over the pool units are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hello Justine W! Thank you very much for your glowing review on Gemini Resort. It's great to hear that you enjoy your holidays here. The markets are definitely a Sunday morning must. We take great pride in providing absolute beach front accommodation and very spacious apartments which make a family holidays very enjoyable. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, the Gemini Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My family and I have stayed at this resort multiple times, the apartments are spacious and airy with views across Pumicestone Passage. On our most recent visit we hired a 7 seater pontoon from Bob's Boat Hire located 2 minutes down the road from Gemini, and we spent the day cruising around the passage, fishing and swimming. The only issue I could speak of is that in the apartment we stayed in this time our bed seemed a few years old and wasn't the most comfortable. We were able to sleep mostly through the night, however, woke in the morning with the worst aches and pains. Overall, Gemini is great for the more budget conscious families that aim for good value and a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBahBahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear BahBahs, We greatly appreciate you writing a review on Gemini Resort. It's great to hear you enjoyed the large apartments and the fantastic location. It is lovely to relax on the Pumicestone Passage on a boat or kayak. I am sorry to hear that you had aches and pains when waking up in the morning, please do not be afraid to tell reception how you are feeling about your room. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards, the Gemini Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is the second time at Gemini and the hotel,rooms and location are just superb. Golden beach is just the perfect family location with safe patrolled beaches and long paths for walking,cycling and even skating. We had a whole week at Gemini and the holiday was awesome and soooo relaxing.
The units are individually owned and furnished and we lucked out with our appointments in the room being first class.
The staff leave you to do your thing and were kind enough to put on an Easter Egg hunt for the kids.
I was disappointed by the Pool being closed for about 4 hours on Easter Monday whilst the storm clouds were looming and it seemed that negligence had caused this as it was a 3rd party pool company came in and chemical bombed the pool to bring the water back to safe swim standards, but I did not feel the need to address this as I am sure others would have, and it was just as easy to take an extra 10 steps to go to the beach for a few hours.
We have been before and will be back.
Doors were a little noisy during the more windy nights.....but hey....the views easily compensated.

GREAT FOR FAMILIES !!!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean view as the breeze and views are just spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisvegasPilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hello BrisvegasHoliday! We were delighted to receive your review on Gemini Resort. Our location is definitely one of the best in Caloundra, it’s very comforting to know the kids don’t have to cross the road to get to the beach. So happy to hear that you found your stay relaxing, that is what we always aim for. We are very happy to hear that your children enjoyed the Easter Egg hunt. Our most sincere apologies for the pool being closed. It was something we did not expect to happen as we were advised by an outside pool company, we do apologise for not being able to give notice regarding. We are very happy to hear that we will have the pleasure of your company sometime in the future. Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to tell us about your stay. Kind Regards, Hannah (Front desk receptionist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have been staying at Gemini for 27 years and always have a wonderful time. The units are a fantastic size and the views glorious, after staying so many times you know which tower/unit configuertion is see over the pool, passage and into the town of Caloundra. There are a great set of shops over the road and a walking path out the front to walk to the park or Power Boat Club! We will keep going back, I took my children when they were small and now we take our grandchildren who love it. We have also recommended to many friends over the years who have not been disappointed.

Room Tip: North tower family unit looking over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear SHM000, We greatly appreciate your review on Gemini Resort. It is fantastic to hear that you have been a frequent guests here. The 27 years that you have been coming is quite an impressive amount of years! The shops across the road are in a very handy location for anyone who has left their car at home. It is good to hear that you know which unit/tower that you prefer. We would like to thank you for recommending us to your friends. A recommendation is the best compliment we can receive. We are so privileged you have chosen Gemini Resort as your family tradition; we look forward to keeping to our high standards of hospitality. Kind Regards, Hannah (front desk receptionist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Have being going here for years as have my parents. The rooms are huge, so spacious, plenty of room to move around without getting in each other's way. The views are spectacular. The staff are so willing to help. The pool awesome. A quick two minute stroll and your either on the beach or on the walking path along the beach. Take binoculars to watch the ships passing by or hire a canoe and canoe over to Bribie Island. Perfect peaceful resort that is well priced.

Room Tip: Level 5 to 7 are excellent with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekbg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Ekbg2002, We were very pleased to get such a glowing review! It's very rewarding to hear that you and your parents have continued to spend holidays here. We are very privileged to have large apartments to accommodate families of all sizes. Thank you for your comment on our staff, we do strive to keep all our guests happy during their holidays here. Again, thank you very much for your review, it's a pleasure to accommodate you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gemini Resort! Kind Regards, Hannah (Front desk receptionist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The view is quite nice, be aware that the units are individually owned and furnished so some will have really old, tired furniture. The kind you get when someone retires and puts all the old stuff they don't use anymore in it for holiday people to use. The unit we stayed in needed a lot of maintenance, the recliner chair still had the dirty feet marks on the foot stool part, couldn't walk across the lounge floor without getting dirt and bits of something on our feet. Having to vacuum when you arrive is just not acceptable at $220 per night.

If it is windy you will not sleep as the doors and windows 'whistle' all night long and there isn't anything you can do about it, believe me, we tried. Supposedly a building code issue....hmmm.

The restaurant serves quite nice food - when it is open - but atmosphere definitely lacking as there is hardly ever anyone eating in there, looks abandoned.

Complex is for families with small children and guess that's why people go there for 20 years, just not very interesting and there are hardly any shops nearby except for a pie shop, the obligatory fish & chip shop, a pizza restaurant, couple of others and a very very good Spar that it is the neatest I have ever seen. Not sure why it won any awards, wonder what category? Management mistake - to email those who have already booked offering discounts that they can't have because they have already booked and then saying it is because the offer is last minute and doesn't guarantee a particular unit number. How would you know what unit number to ask for if you haven't been before. More importantly choose which unit to NOT have again, the dirty, windy one!

Room Tip: Don't go when it is windy and it is the luck of the drawer whether or not you get a unit that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear 1navajo1, Thank you for your review on Gemini Resort. It comes as a bit of a surprise to receive such a review. It is absolutely true that all the apartments are individually owned and therefore all differently decorated. We are sorry to hear that you had to vacuum when you arrived, had you made a complaint when you arrived we would have been able to help you. When you are booking you are very welcome to ask our opinion as to what unit would best suit your taste, which have been recently renovated, what type of views you will see etc. We do last minute offers for all our return guests which work quite well as we give great discounts on last minute bookings. We are sorry to hear that you found it noisy in your apartment, it can be quite windy as we are very close to the ocean and therefore can come in at different angles making the sliding doors whistle slightly, again, had you made a complaint while you were staying with us we would have been able to help you with this. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards,
The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Property: Gemini Resort
Address: Gemini Towers 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing