We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab start - Sad ending!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gemini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gemini Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab start - Sad ending!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at The Gemini Resort for four weeks in October. Arrived at approximately 10.30 in the evening , no reception(we where aware) , received a code a couple of weeks previously to obtain a key for our apartment. Code that was given so we had to use the keypad outside(not great when you have kids who have just been on a Long flight!), took a member of staff what seemed like a lifetime to answer our Call. Our Apartment was on the 4th floor, whilst very dated was comfortable. We chose this resort as a base, as ex-pats just moving to Queensland it would give us a great base to begin our journey. The staff were fine when I requested photocopying services etc (yes it is extra but not a lot). Do not expect WiFi and do not waste money in the two little mites that they have in reception! No comment! Whilst in happy, holiday mode at the Gemini resort .we had a significant amount of English CASH stolen from our room and yes we did involve the Police! The Reception staff were not helpful at all, telling me that I could not prove anything! Strange as the management had been laughing about the things they found in bedside drawers only days before! We enjoyed our stay until we realised that money had been stolen! I would not recommend this Resort if you need to leave any amount of cash in your room.

Room Tip: We were in room 36 North Tower, spacious but dated as the Management Team confirmed, but acknowledge...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Billie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    69
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
159
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Clean spacious apartments, brilliant views. Reception staff only too willing to help. We had booked an apartment elsewhere in Caloundra through a holiday rental company and when we arrived were very disappointed for many reasons. We quickly checked out other apartments in Caloundra and found that Gemini had vacancies. The next morning we called and a very helpful young man - Joshua - fixed up the booking for us. The apartment was vacant so he allowed us to check in at 10am instead of waiting until the usual 2pm. We are so impressed by the resort that we have now booked to come back for 2 weeks in January. Again helpful staff at reception - Hannah - looked after the booking for us.

Room Tip: Level 3 or above give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justjan_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear justjan_1959, Thank you for your glowing review on Gemini Resort. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. thank you for your comment on our staff, it is very much appreciated. Our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We are delighted you will be staying again in January and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards,
The Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The apartment was beautiful and spacious with sweeping sea views. It was full moon while we were there and the moon coming up over the water was incredible. The kids spent hours in the pool, the slide was perfect for them because it wasn't too large( they are still small but competent swimmers at 5 and 3yrs ). I could lounge in a chair by the pool and watch them.
The restaurant downstairs was delicious, we got take out after we put the kids to bed. would definitely go again there. We also went to the RSL which has a free bus and that was a great laugh. We cooked in the kitchen too which is handy when you have famished boys that want to eat NOW.
Beds were great I prefer a King but it was fine, bathrooms clean, I cleaned the kitchen to my liking because I'm like that and I used their Vacuum cleaner (handy yes I have boys).
Loved it would go again, great break at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I think we were on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastGctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear GoldCoastGctraveller, Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our large heated pool is a great favourite with kids and adults alike. Thank you for the comment on the cleaning, we do our best to keep the apartments up to a great standard of cleanliness. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Gemini Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Took my Two Granddaughters to the Gemini Resort over the September Holidays, they had an amazing time,
30min from Australia Zoo, 15min from Aussie World,
The Facilities are First Class, the Pool area is a Kids Dream, great Park next door, Beach across the Path.
Rooms had every thing you could want.
We will be back over the Christmas Holidays

Room Tip: The rooms are self catered, if you have children, shop before leaving home if you can, or go into Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Tricia M, We appreciate your review on Gemini Resort. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed all our facilities, the pool area is fantastic for young children to adults. We are very fortunate to have a playground right next to the resort in Fraser Park. Thank you again for your pleasant review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Christmas. Kind regards, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darling Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed on a fourth floor apartment in the north tower. The apartment was really big and the furnishings were good. Great view. But if I went back I would get a higher floor on the south tower as the view from them is amazing! The pool is excellent, especially if you have little kids. There is an indoor spa and sauna you can book and the tennis court and BBQ area are excellent as well. There is a grocery store and couple of takeaway shops over the road that were handy. I would holiday here again because of the size of the apartments and the pool! We also had breakfast at the restaurant downstairs and the price was great and food was good too. All staff I dealt with were lovely too.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Kelly W, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our heated, lagoon style pool is a favorite for young and old alike, so good to hear that the kids enjoyed it. With the unusual building shape, all of the apartments face out to the ocean no matter what floor you are staying on. Thank you for your comment on our staff, we try our best to make all of our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regard, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Apart from the obvious outdated state of the "resort" be prepared to bring your own toilet paper and soap. We had half a roll in the bathroom when we arrived and one small guest soap. The second day we discovered that once that has been used you buy your own toilet paper and soap etc. which we have never come across at a "resort" before. Our mattress was very hard (not ensemble) which was on a wooden slatted bed and first two nights no sleep was possible. Management put a topper on the mattress for the last 2 nights of our stay after I reported the matter. The one highlight of the 4 night stay was the on site restaurant which served food from Nepal and it was delightful. We intend to spend much more time at the Sunshine Coast but next time we won't stay here.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room and dont expect to get service from reception unless after 9am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Robyn, We are sorry that you will not be staying here again. We provide a 'Welcome pack' to save you rushing out and buying a few things when you first arrive. All toilets are provided with a single toilet roll, fridge contains milk, detergents for washing and dishwasher liquid etc. We are a self catering resort which means we do not continue to freely provide the necessities throughout your stay. Thank you for pointing out that the management sorted out the uncomfortable bed as soon as you reported the problem. We do provide emergency service outside office hours, the phone number for the onsite managers is pointed out to every guest who checks in and given to them on their newsletter. Kind regards, The Gemini Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Good location in as much that it is pretty much on the 'beach'.....but it's more like an estuary but kids enjoyed it.
We arrived at night and had not been given the apartment we booked/selected - it was big but dark and not clean - road was noisy!

Blood on bed spread, mattress protector, spare pillows - table was filthy as were curtains/pelmet. Toothpaste left on bathroom taps and window sills very dirty.

The receptionist was very apologetic and gave us a discount - but stay was already tainted (no excuse at this price) No wifi - was told by other receptionist (English) it was poor due to building shape!

Resort is in need of refurb - entrance and pool area dated!
Pool ok but no control over diving jumping and bombing - no good when u have small kids - but they loved slide.

Ok for a one off but would not return!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJTSKWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geminiresort, Front Office Manager at Gemini Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear DJTSKWT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are located on Golden Beach which has very calm waters perfect for families with small children. We are sorry to hear you were not given the apartment you requested, but 'while all care is taken to ensure that guests requests are met, management reserves the right to substitute a unit of similar quality and standard to the one presently booked.' - this is included in every email confirmation letter one of which was sent to you on the 11th of July. As soon as you reported the issues regarding the cleanliness of the apartment, our management discounted your stay and personally supervised the cleaning and changing of sheets, mattress protectors and bed spreads in your apartment. We also cleaned the curtains, pelmet, bathrooms and supplied fresh towels. We are glad your children enjoyed our water slide and the beach outside the resort. Kind Regards, The Gemini Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moorings Beach Resort
Moorings Beach Resort
#14 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gemini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemini Resort

Property: Gemini Resort
Address: Gemini Towers 49 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gemini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gemini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing