We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed - There is no warm and friendly service here.”
Review of Gelateria Milano

Gelateria Milano
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Trading hours: Tuesday to Saturday from 11am to 9pm, Sunday 10am to 9pm. Closed on Monday - Closed for winter until Saturday 23rd August (2014)
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed - There is no warm and friendly service here.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The staff lacked a friendly persona. A smile and warm greeting is an attribute that will take a business far.

Don't ask to taste of any of the selections before you decide which gelato you'd enjoy, as your request will be declined. Having in tow, 5 small children, I was not about to pay for gelato that if not enjoyed by the kids, would end up in the bin! This business could learn at lot about customer service from other similar gelato/ice-cream stores. Very Disappointed, and will NOT be back to visit Gelateria Milano, which is a shame, because, maybe you do create amazing gelato, your just not willing to assist the customer in making an informed decision. I'd would have even paid a small fee to taste selections, before choosing which flavours would be winners with the kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank iCreate4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GelateriaMilano, Manager at Gelateria Milano, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear iCreate4me
We are sorry that you and your family missed the opportunity to have our beautiful ice-cream.
We used to give free testers, and we did it for 8 years. Everyone always liked what they tested; more often than not that flavour was the one they chose.
However this amounted to hundreds of free testers each week, because everyone wanted always to try some flavours. It also created a longer waiting time before being served.
With all the costs continuously increasing (ingredients, rent, electricity, wages etc) we always have to be careful on how to manage our business.
We don’t want to compromise on the high quality of our product, which is the reason why we won so many awards, so the remaining 2 options were:
1) Increase prices
2) Stop giving free samples
We then did a survey asking our customers what of the two solutions they would prefer, and the overwhelming response was to cut samples. We decided to go with our customers’ suggestion, knowing that not everybody would understand. Is not easy to find a solution that could please everyone, we are just trying our best.

Thanks to this policy, today we can still offer a 2 flavour cup or cone for $4.50 and a 3 flavour cup for $5.50.
As you can notice, considering our high quality, our prices are much more competitive than that of other ice-creameries or gelaterie (gelati stores).

We encourage our staff to be open and friendly, but it is not always easy for young people to feel at ease talking to customers. Nervousness can be mistaken sometimes for impoliteness.
We provide a high quality product with a friendly service that leaves most of our customers with a smile.

We wish you and your family all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    22
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A-MAZING!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Delicious ice cream and great service! The ice cream just melted in my mouth and I couldn't get enough!! Will definitely go back again when we are in the area - would highly recommend! Lots to choose from too,which made it hard, but gosh, what a great problem to have lol

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gelato, Gelato, Gelato!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Amazing flavours on offer. I am lactose intolerant and the dairy free flavours are amazing and there are heaps to choose from. I love guava when it is in stock and watermelon. No other gelato shops can compare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“World's best”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Better than the gelato in Italy. We spend serious dollars here each holiday and this ice cream is a big reason we holiday here. Enjoying the spectacular flavours at Gelateria Milano is a very important family tradition for us. Superb service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best icecream ever!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This place is awesome tastes so good and staff are very friendly. My boys loved it so much they wanted to go there everyday we were on holiday.Never had icecream that tasted so good. My favorite was mint.Yummo...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelateria Milano also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gelateria Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing