We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Port Douglas, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friend and I had a fantastic week staying at Sails Resort on Golden Beach. We picked this resort after reading through many positive reviews. We needed to be close to the shops and the beach as we didn't have a car but we also didn't want to pay the high price that most resorts charge for a great location. The apartment exceeded our expectations, it was beautiful, impeccably clean, quiet and with amazing views of Pumices tone Passage. There is a Woolworths in the next street and a shopping centre a short walk away. The Managers Paul and Mary-Anne are the most beautiful welcoming people and are always happy to help. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone thinking of staying in Caloundra.

Room Tip: Level 4 had an incredible view and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazcoach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, General Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for the great review. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
42
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Kia ora, my mother, sister and I travelled from NZ and my brother travelled from Switzerland for my nieces wedding last October. I had to accommodate the wishes of my sister who wanted 'all the fruits' because she doesn't travel much, my elderly mother who needed easy access to the apartment, shower etc and my brother and I who just wanted something close to amenities and comfortable.
Sails Resort provided all of that. The apartment was clean and well presented. We were really comfortable there and it was so close to everything - but far enough away that we didn't hear traffic or the noise from a busy beach.
Paul and Mary-anne were so nice to deal with...even when I dropped the keys down the elevator shaft.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left as you enter the door means you won't get pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisette112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, Owner at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon. Regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have stayed at Sails Resort twice now and already have plans to stay again when in the area.

The customer service is excellent, the rooms and facilities are great and the tranquility is just right.

We highly recommend it as a place to stay for couples or families.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms to the left as you enter the building as they are further away from the pool and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avalona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for the great review, we loved having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable week at Sails Resort. We had visited Golden Beach previously when we stayed in Mooloolaba and knew it was quite stunning so we picked it for our Honeymoon destination. We choose Sails Resort based on the reviews. All rooms face the beautiful Pumise Stone Passage but for the best views choose the 3rd floor up but possibly the 2nd floor is also ok. There is no road between you and the water. A safe swimming spot is literally a 2 minute walk away and the town of Coloundra is only a 10 minute walk. The town has some good shopping, very good restaurants and a great Saturday market!
We had hired a car for the week but it hardly left the secure lock up garage. (we had planned day trips but found ourselves so comfortable and relaxed that we hardly took it out except for a couple of trips to Mooloolaba which is about a 15-20 minute drive). Supermarkets are an easy stroll away and we walked to these most day for fresh supplys. We found the Woolworths the better of the two markets. If you enjoy your walking this is a perfect spot. We walked every morning for about 1.5 hours along the water front and back. It was never boring and there is always the option of hiring a bike.
We rang Paul from New Zealand to place our booking with only 3 days notice. We required a unit with air conditioning in the bedroom to allow us to sleep so he allocated us Unit 15 a roomey two bedroom fully self contained unit (the are all self contained). It had everything you needed except scissors and when i asked if i could borrow a pair I was immediately supplied with a pair for the unit. Appartantly people steal them, amongst other things. Really! Why do people do this? (A little personel request from me - if youre going steal stay home).
The unit was very clean the bed was very comfortable (cannot comment on the two singles in the spare room which also has air con.) the linen was clean and of good quality and the bathrooms a very good size. An endless supply of Hot water and fantastic water pressure! The ensuite shower is a bit on the small size and if you drop the soap it pays to open the shower door if you dont want to get your hair wet so hubby showered in the main bathroom as he's over 6 foot. But thats a minor. The air conditioning kept us comfortable every night. Yeah, it was a bit old and a bit noisey but thats a small price to pay to be able to sleep. And not many units have air con. so i would ask for this particular unit again. We spent a lot of time on the deck/patio which is of a generous size an afforded a lovely view day and night. The lounge and dining funriture was comfortable and clean.
There is a nice pool on site with a BBQ area but we didnt use them. The gardens are kept very nicely as is the whole resort.
Paul and Mary-anne were fabulous and always willing to assist and/or stop for a chat. They work tirelessly with their team to keep this older resort in Tip Top order.
I have absolutley no complaints about Sails but as we are regular "world" travellers wouldnt class this resort as "luxury" due to the fact that a lot of the fittings are plastic ie the toilet seats, towel rails etc but that is not the resort manager's fault. If the owners are not prepared to ungrade particular things then it simply doesnt get done. So If you are expecting "luxury" you are not going to get it - but hey, at this price who seriously would?- What you will get here is a resort in a really good location that will allow you to walk to town, give you very spacious rooms and lovely view, great onsite management and little noise from fellow guests. The walls seem bullet proof! And no slamming doors thanks to it's clever layout and lift access!
Thank you for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay!
Whilst in Golden Beach make sure you dine at the Gurkali Restaurant. Many locals told us about it and we had never tried Nepalese before and ended up walking there several evenings for a meal. Fantastic!! Also The Moorings cafe for an excellent lunch. (both only a 15 minute walk away).
We Love Golden Beach!!!

Room Tip: If you want air con. in the bedrooms unit 15. All apartments face the view. 2-3 floor up is ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thanks for the comprehensive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We took our UK family too stay at the Sails Resort and they couldn't get over what great views and lovely rooms and we well looked after by Paul. thanks for a GREAT HOLIDAY. we will be back. that was our third stay there. keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 7 & 8 and they were excellent plus GREAT views and shops are in walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, General Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for the great review. We like to show those Poms what they are missing out on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a week at Sails. The unit was clean and tidy, had everything we needed. Gorgeous views of Pumistone Passage and the beach. Walking distance to Shopping centre, Restaurants and the CBD. Paul and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, General Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to submit a review. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A lovely appointed unit in a great position. Everything imaginable thing you could need in the kitchen. The top floor unit had access to a roof area which was lovely in the evenings. Beautifully clean and lovely furnishings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailsBoss, General Manager at Sails Resort on Golden Beach, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks for the great review Leisa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort on Golden Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort on Golden Beach

Property: Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Address: 3 Landsborough Pde | Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails Resort on Golden Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort is a family friendly absolute waterfront property. All 2 and 3 bedroom self catering apartments have ocean views. Linen is supplied. We have a heated pool, BBQ area, secure parking and lifts. All apartments and common areas are wheelchair accessible. We are only 200m to supermarkets and 500m to Caloundra CBD and restaurants. You can fish, sail, swim, kayak, windsurf or launch your boat from the adjacent Leach Park boat ramp. Australia Zoo, Underwater World, Aussie World, Ettamogah Pub, and countless places to visit are all within an easy drive. Sails Resort has free Wi-Fi,on-site management and a tour desk. Airport Transfers are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sails Resort on Golden Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing