We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at Rumba for our second stay and had a fantastic time. The apartments are huge and have everything we need. Our unit had a spa bath and large balcony with a great view of the river mouth. It was busy and we were expecting a lot of noise but it was surprisingly quiet and we had a great stay. The staff were great and the unit very clean - everyone did a brilliant job. Speacial thanks to Bob Buckland and his team. These guys run a great resort!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for giving us a great review. I've passed your comments through to Bob. It's really appreciated when memebers of our team get a personal mention. We look forward to seeing you a third time. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    146
    45
    4
    4
See reviews for
244
196
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just arrived home from a 4 night stay in Rumba and would love to have stayed so much longer. We got a great deal on Wotif deal of the week and stayed in a 2 bedroom spa apartment overlooking Bulcock Beach. The apartment was immaculate, very clean and functional and looked just as the website photos!
The location was brilliant, Bulcock Beach is pretty and sheltered, great for little kids swimming. One day we were spoilt by a dolphin show, right close into shore. The foreshore area is great, nice walkways, BBQs and picnic tables to enjoy dinner as the sun goes down. Having a good variety of cafes and resturants nearby meant not having to take the car out but just walking down the street and deciding where to go.
The large pool was being renovated (looks like it will be finished soon) but as that was un-heated it didn't bother us at all. The large heated lap pool was frequently visited as was the huge spa. The lap pool has portholes looking down into Hogs Breath below and onto the footpath below so this provided the children and adults alike much entertainment. My husband even went and bought some goggles so he could join in.
The apartment had everything we needed, although we didn't eat in much (only breakfast), it would have been very adequate for cooking up a meal. The beds were comfy and we appreciated the choice of pillows. Although when the beds were made up, the pillows were all mixed up again so we had to sort through which one was which again! The children enjoyed having their beds made for them each day and would come home in the afternoon excited to see where their teddies were placed!!
The staff were friendly although we didn't need them much, had all we needed. They were able to provide us with maps and information on the local area. There were bikes to hire at reception which would have been great however there were only adult ones (with some child seats on back) but none suitable for our 7 year old.
All in all, we loved Rumba Beach Resort and would be happy to come back again..........and again!!

Room Tip: Get a beach front apartment for the best views of the beach, tower B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Wow, what a great review, and so detailed. It’s really appreciated that you’ve taken the time to give Rumba such a big rap. Thank you again, from all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Perfect in everyday! The Rumba Resort, Caloundra is located right on the Esplanade with stunning views of Bribie Island. We arrived after hours and called Mark who help us check in. On entering our 2 bedroom apartment we were stunned and pleasantly surprised by the size and quality of our accommodation for the reasonable cost. At last a nice modern place to stay in Caloundra.

The apartment had 2 bedrooms, a large open plan lounge and kitchen dinner and also an ensure bathroom as well as a private bathroom for the second bedroom.

The following morning we went to reception and were assisted by Ellen who was very helpful and cheerful on both checkin and check out!

My only criticism is the name - such a great place in Caloundra does not fit the name Rumba! Will definitely stay again and recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dpt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for a great review. Caloundra is really coming into its own as a world class destination, and we are really proud to be part of the positive changes taking place. We hope you see you again, and I'll also pass to your kind words to Ellen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Didn't want for anything! Rumba Resort was perfect for our weekend away catching up with another couple. We had a 2bedroom 2 bathroom beachfront apartment and the view over Bulcock Beach was stunning and ever changing with the tide. It was sunny but crisp winter weather so we didn't use the pools or spa but did take advantage of the exceptional in-house movie list and high tech equipment, the restaurants and cafes just downstairs, browsing in the main street shops and the Sunday markets. The bed was exceptionally cosy and there was even a pillow selection. The kitchen had everything we needed even good size coffee mugs. Great property in a great location. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
What an amazing review! Thank you so much. Now that the weather is improving, the views over the Pumicestone Passage are great. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed for one night in a two bedroom spa resort room on the top floor. ( 5 th floor ).
This place is brand new so everything is modern. Perfect for long holidays with a well appointed kitchen with Miele appliances, etc. Pool area is fantastic but due to it being winter we didn't use it. People were in the jacuzzi having a ball. The cocktail bar is great with happy hour 5 to 6...$10 cocktails....I had the Midori Splice which was made professionally. The ladies at reception were lovely. Parking is free.
There are plenty of places to eat right around the resort. Markets in the main street are on sunday from 8 to 1 pm....we enjoyed strolling thru the many stalls.
So basically for a one night stay it wasn't enough time to enjoy all thats on offer. I highly recommend going here for a good holiday break. The beach was patrolled by life savers while we were there.

Room Tip: As all bedrooms are at the back of the units they are in the best place for sleeping, leaving the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Just a quick note to say thanks for a great review. It's really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanthorpe Qld Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed 5 nights in a 5th floor 2 bedroom apartment. We wanted an apartment with extensive ocean views which we got-almost. The view was spoilt seeing (and hearing) the numerous air conditioning ducts of the building in front. This could have been improved my better arrangements of the internal furniture to allow better views from couch and bed.
The apartment was very well appointed and we had a good deal (stay 5 nights, pay for 3 which we upgraded to try and get the views)
The reception staff were very friendly and the venue is located very close to a range of restaurants (Hogbreath, Coffee Club, Italian etc), esplanade walkway and town centre.
Parking and access were easy.

Room Tip: The better views were obviously from the front building but we informed that these were only 3 bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RumbaResort, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Unfortunately as with many hotels, some apartments enjoy better views than others. If you ever get the opportunity to return, please advise our Guest Relations team immediately upon arrival if there anything you're not 100% happy with. We will do everything we can to address any concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The staff are lovely, the location is great, the apartments are a good size but if you have a room at the back of the hotel you can expect to be woken up at 6am each morning from the garbage trucks.

I get up early every morning anyway so it didn't bother me but if you want to sleep in, then don't gat a room at the back - which I think are all the one bedroom apartments....make sure you check before making a booking.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the beach side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thanks for the comments, much appreciated. The garbage trucks do come early, sorry. As we are located right in the heart of town, we're quite restricted in this way. All trucks are required to vacate the CBD by 8am. In our Ocean Apartments, there are no noise issues at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing