We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay at a lovely place”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely stay at a lovely place”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

such a lovely resort, pools are fantastic as is the location with the added bonus of surrounding restaurants on the doorstep.
Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean - kids loved the spa.
Will definately be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. It really is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    149
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
247
199
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a recent 2 day mid week stay at Rumba. Well it certainly was five star and then some. The short notice reservation was sent and we received an early sms to say the room was ready early for us. Nice touch, as was the pillow selection, real coffee pod machine, the huge in room spa and the heated lap pool. We were pleased to walk through a private gate and right onto the esplanade in front of Bulcock Beach, lined with many restaurants to choose from. The apartment was modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The king sized bed was very comfy and the room was soft serviced too, with bed made and rubbish emptied daily. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything you could need was close to hand. Free WIFI was another lovely surprise.
We are thinking we won't need to look for Caloundra accommodation again, as we would return to Rumba every year without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. It appears you are very experienced travelers and this means a lot to us. Happy travels and hopefully we'll see you again. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First time visitor to Rumba Resort but this will not be my last visit. From my first contact with a text message 2 hours before check in time, to say my room was ready for me, to the quality of the accommodation to the superb location. Everything was great. The staff were always smiling and willing to help with anything needed, the pool area was always clean, water sparkling and inviting. Can not recommend Rumba enough. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are 3 towers, the two at the front have the better views but I was in the back tower from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nossy4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
What a glowing review, thank you for taking the time to post this, it is really appreciated. See you next time. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We loved our 7 night stay at the Rumba...we think resort is in the best location and offers everything you would want for a beach location. We didn't pay for a room with a sea view but we got one...very spacious...well appointed room. Staff friendly and helpful and the pools are lovely.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms at the back are quiet and have views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
What a generous review. Thank you. Great to hear that you were upgraded. We try and do that when we can. Once again, thank you. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked the cheapest room available so expected the worst, but were so happy with our room!! It was just like an apartment, with a great view of the beach. And fantastic to have all the restaurants below - I didn't think Hogs Breath would be my kind of restaurant, but we ate there about 5 times in 4 days. Pretty darn delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelinaAotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. We agree, the Hogs Breath is a great restaurant. Probably our most popular too. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beautiful beach front location. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Staff are lovely. Indoor pools were clean. the only small complaint would be that the pools were freezing despite being 'heated'. Happened to be here the same weekend as the music festival so it was all happening. The markets are awesome and the buskers were great. Perfect weather. It was my birthday and they had a box of chocolates waiting in my room for me! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlamarree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for such a good review. Not sure about your experience with out pool. We may have communicated poorly, sorry. Our lap pool is heated. Our resort pool is chilly this time of year. We hope you had a great birthday. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Caloundra is not our first choice of destination when visiting the Sunshine Coast but after our stay at Rumba it just might well be from now on. When our usual hotel was booked out in Mooloolaba we had to look further failed for accommodation and we settled on Rumba because it seemed to offer a lot for the price. And we were right, the service is impeccable and friendly. Nothing is too much bother, what I liked most was that when we ran out of those little sachets of laundry powder that come with your room we rang reception for more and weren't asked to pay the "small fee" for them. We stayed in a two bed apartment that gave us a partial views which was nice. It's close to everything you need and the room was spacious, well catered and had quality equipment. Free wifi and comfortable beds topped off a fabulous stay for us. We'll be back, thank you Rumba!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Decima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Brilliant review Decima, thank you. We look forward to seeing you back again. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing