We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I had ever dreamed of”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than I had ever dreamed of”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from a fantastic two nights @ Rumba and I'm so relaaaaaxxxed aaaahhhh :)
Although Rumba was a little out of our price range, we wanted to splash out on the best and get away from the hustle & bustle of daily life for a long weekend so we put all our money on this horse and won jackpot! Although we only booked a resort spa suite and the resort was booked out, I asked for a beach view room when booking and alas were granted our request...room 301 overlooking the beach. Tip: Most resort spa suites are in the back block and are behind the larger beachfront suites so only have a pool view. But rooms ending in 01 pop out the side so you will get a great view of the beach and boardwalk!

The rooms are huge and could easily fit two couples, an extra bathroom that we didn't even use. Full kitchen with everything provided. Loved watching the sun set on the huge balcony overlooking the water. Bliss! Plenty of car parking, a short stroll to great restaurants. Other reviewers mentioned being given discount vouchers for Restaurants nearby...I never got any so was a little bit disappointed to miss out on those.

The pool facilities were amazing, much much bigger than the photos show. Management: would love to see a barbeque area set up as I'm sure families would make good use, that seemed to be the only touch missing. Entrance and lobby were fresh & clean. Only downside for us was the daily morning visit of the noisy rubbish truck at six or seven o'clock which meant unfortunately we never had a sleep in. But hey that's no fault of Rumba's.

Thank you Rumba for a great time...did I mention I'm so relaaaaxxxeed now?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for these positive comments, and the constructive feedback. We wish we did have BBQs but they were never planned for. There are now quite a few free BBQs located across the road along the beachfront which guests find popular. They are very well maintained by the council - daily. The noise from the early collection of bins is something we are still working on. It's a lot better now to what it was, which is good. Anyway, thanks again for your honest comments. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    148
    46
    5
    4
See reviews for
247
198
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed four nights in November 2013 at short notice and was amazed at the apartment with sea views. This has to be one of the best places to stay in Coloundra.
Nice touch was the coffee expresso machine and the surround sound with the big TV and real comfy leather lounge suite.
Only complaint if any was the 6.00 am wake up by the local council bin man who was determined to welcome every one to Coloundra with a big "bang"

Room Tip: Be warned that most if not all Hotel receptions in Coloundra close at 5.00pm so if you are seeking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
"Best in Caloundra" is exactly what we hope to provide. Thank you for such great comments, it's really appreciated. We hope to see you again, Bill and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Five STAR yes yes yes Fantasitc location and OH What views, beautiful pools and wonderful friendly service. Rooms are very spacious and very clean. Local restaurants along Bulcock Beach boardwalk make for a nice romantic sunset walk. Recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJW544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Brilliant review guys, thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the offer to recommend us to others. We really appreciate it. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

such a lovely resort, pools are fantastic as is the location with the added bonus of surrounding restaurants on the doorstep.
Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean - kids loved the spa.
Will definately be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. It really is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a recent 2 day mid week stay at Rumba. Well it certainly was five star and then some. The short notice reservation was sent and we received an early sms to say the room was ready early for us. Nice touch, as was the pillow selection, real coffee pod machine, the huge in room spa and the heated lap pool. We were pleased to walk through a private gate and right onto the esplanade in front of Bulcock Beach, lined with many restaurants to choose from. The apartment was modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. The king sized bed was very comfy and the room was soft serviced too, with bed made and rubbish emptied daily. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything you could need was close to hand. Free WIFI was another lovely surprise.
We are thinking we won't need to look for Caloundra accommodation again, as we would return to Rumba every year without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review. It appears you are very experienced travelers and this means a lot to us. Happy travels and hopefully we'll see you again. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

First time visitor to Rumba Resort but this will not be my last visit. From my first contact with a text message 2 hours before check in time, to say my room was ready for me, to the quality of the accommodation to the superb location. Everything was great. The staff were always smiling and willing to help with anything needed, the pool area was always clean, water sparkling and inviting. Can not recommend Rumba enough. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are 3 towers, the two at the front have the better views but I was in the back tower from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nossy4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
What a glowing review, thank you for taking the time to post this, it is really appreciated. See you next time. Cheers, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We loved our 7 night stay at the Rumba...we think resort is in the best location and offers everything you would want for a beach location. We didn't pay for a room with a sea view but we got one...very spacious...well appointed room. Staff friendly and helpful and the pools are lovely.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms at the back are quiet and have views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
What a generous review. Thank you. Great to hear that you were upgraded. We try and do that when we can. Once again, thank you. Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing