We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but..”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed in a 3 bed ocean front apartment. Past experience has been good however this apartment was on the same level as the fish & chip shop extractor fan (stinks and is very noisy rendering the balcony and open sliding doors useless) and is above a bar which at 9.30pm on a Sunday night is playing music so loud the light fittings are rattling. No sleep for parents or children. Really bad weekend away. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask where your apartment is before booking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Firstly, thank you for taking the times to write us such a great review, really appreciated by the staff. We will follow up with the pool bar management too, normally the service is excellent so I don't know what happened there. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed at Rumba twice; once with a friend and our children and again with my husband and son. Both times I encountered great customer service from the staff, nothing was too much trouble.
The location is great for dining, shopping and beachside activities. The rooms spacious and well equipped with quality furnishings.
We enjoyed the pool & jacuzzi during our stay, a nice addition being the bar. Staff were always happy to pour a drink when it was unattended.

We will be coming back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Decima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

It's so good to hear this was your third visit. We really appreciate the positive feedback - thank you. Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our group booked 30 apartments at Rumba Resort as a base to compete at a National Championship. From my first contact with Ellen and Lea I have nothing but praise for the friendly professional service we experienced. We were anticipating a lovely resort but each family were simply blown away. Every apartment had spectacular views regardless of room type, the apartment fit outs were simply divine, the Nespresso machines a saviour - and set up to work perfectly with the cups provided, the sound system/ tv worked seamlessly, the entire resort was sparkling, the daily servicing team just delightful, the endless supply of pool towels fantastic for our teens who spent every spare moment at the pool/ spa or beach, Darryn at the pool bar with the most delicious of cocktails, Kristy at Rumba Room events delivering a very affordable and delicious team dinner perfectly suited to 130 hungry paddlers and their families, the location is perfect with everything at your doorstep from shopping, lovely walks, cafes, a one hat restaurant (very nice), the simple and plentiful under resort parking, to the team at reception with a hassle-free checkout! Thank you all for making this group trip an absolute delight!!! But sssshhhh keep this resort a secret!!!!!

Room Tip: Even the Resort Apartments have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for such a great review, we are so glad the group enjoyed their stay. We enjoyed having you. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Modern, family friendly, stunning pools, clean, resort staff friendly and helpful. Clhose proximity to restaurants, shops and across the road to beach. Highly recommended. Will be recommending to friends and family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank susan_hodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you so much you writing a great review, and for offering to recommend us. Really appreciated, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We'd highly recommend Rumba as one of the best places to stay in the area. We had it recommended to us and have not been disappointed.

The resort is nice and modern with great pools (incl a heated one). You can tell management take pride in presenting a professionally run resort. The rooms all seem nice and modern too - ours was.

And the resort is located in a great position - beaches, shops and restaurants all within 50m. And Bulcock beach is a great one for young kids like ours - patrolled and no waves. But if you like waves they are just around the corner.

The Sunshine Coast is a great spot with so many great beaches - very spoilt for choice. And of course fantastic weather!

We're having a great stay and would highly recommend.

Go here instead of the Gold Coast!!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Inverellboy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Great advice, come here instead of the Gold Coast! Thank you for writing such a great review, cheers, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This resort of perfect for families with children of all ages. We stayed in room 502 during April school holidays and were pleasantly surprised to have some ocean view and a clean, well maintained and modern room. We loved the quality kitchen and laundry appliances, Miele, and everything just worked! You can go to many places where dishwashers are filthy and fridges very noisy and leaking, but not here. Our room was fabulous. 2 spacious bathrooms and my son loved the free wireless!

Pools are great also, although one of them was very cool this time of year and we couldn't use it. The Jacuzzi is quite spacious. The kids loved swimming the lap pool and looking through the round pool windows underwater, which see through to Hogs Breath Cafe, which is directly below the pool/resort. Lots of fun for them.

We enjoyed eating out on the strip of restaurants below Rumba, our favorite was probably 'Drift' for lunch and dinner. Try the fettuccine carbonara, yummy. Also book in for a dinner at the Thai restaurant up the road, worth it. Oh and the fish and chips at Sandbar are awesome too. You just walk downstairs and are spoilt for choice.

We also noticed that Rumba have excellent reception and cleaning staff and they run a quality resort, no doubt. Reception staff were welcoming and always smiling and willing to help. Rooms are serviced daily too, bonus. Management are doing the right thing with running this resort, keep it up!

If I had to say any negatives, the daily rubbish collection is quite loud and woke us almost everyday, but it can't be helped.

More positives, comfy beds, comfy leather lounge, free wireless, good size TV, great climate control in room, all rooms air conditioned and lovely balcony.

Thanks for an unforgettable stay Rumba!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

The time and detail you've put into this review is very much appreciated, thank you. Sorry about the bin noise - we are looking at some alternative solutions. Regards, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a one night stasy in a one bedroom appartment on the 5th floor great views. We found the staff very friendly, the location was excellent with may restaurants to choose from. Our room had breakfast included which was provided by the Coffee Club at the Resort. We found this very handy with great choice of food.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William D, General Manager at Rumba Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Hopefully next time you can stay a bit longer. Thanks again, Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
538 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#4 of 16 in Mooloolaba
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
256 reviews
10 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#1 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: £109 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing