We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and special”
Review of Rumba Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rumba Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing and special”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Had a holiday close to beach and shopping facilities and attraction. Rumba was a sensational resort with plenty of eatery options within the boundaries. Many local qld "well known" attractions within 1/2 hour drive. Surf beach was a 15 min walk but also a safe beach area for young swimmers/familes to enjoy. Plenty of walking tracks and sights. Had a great time and have no hestitation in recommending this resort for holiday makers.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndypandyCranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    154
    46
    5
    5
See reviews for
252
207
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Great position with amazing views of pumistone passage. Great pools and big roomy apartments. Definately returning.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfy_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My husband and I went for a quick break to celebrate my birthday. It was a lovely surprise to be staying somewhere so comfortable, clean, spacious and within reach of everything. The Resort itsself is very new, trendy and has every comfort in modern living with a well equipped kitchen, you could comfortably live here. I enjoyed the lovely big bathroom, movies on demand, and friendly staff. The pool is well used and an amazing design as you can sit in the restaurant downstairs and look up at the swimmers (in Hogs Breathe Cafe) Under Rumba there are great places to eat, a trendy cafe, Hogs Breathe, Penny Farthings Pub and The Coffee Club, Fish and Chip shop, ice cream parlor plus a daily goods store. There is a bar near the pool that is open for drinks most of the time. Across the road is the beach with picnic tables, we sat out there our first night and enjoyed a glass of wine and watched families on the beach. With the new board walk open you can enjoy a walk right along the shore, we walked to Kings beach each day. It would be a great place for a family to holiday or like us, a busy couple to have a quick break away. I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstiatokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockhampton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Rumba would have to be one of the best places we have ever stayed at. Everything was brand new and the manangment were helpful when we wanted to exted out stay for an extra day, nothing seemed to be too difficult for them. I do not agree with the other persons valuation of the hotel, did they even stay at the same place ??
We chose it originally because it was fully self contained, therefore we did use the kitchen everyday. Everything was of the best quality, it even had a nespresso coffee machine in the room ( if you have not tried one you should) and a denon sound system.
Our two bedroom apartment did not really have a beach view, but i new that before I booked. This is not a problem as you are only meters from the beach anyway, no mater what room you stayed in.
I would highly recommend the rumba to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We are re-visiting and travelling the Sunshine Coast of Australia at leisure and are here finally in Caloundra (on Bulcock Beach) halfway through a 10 day stay at the Rumba Resort. After Melbournehamish's review we were worried but we shouldn't have been and we have not been disappointed. We cannot fault our stay thus far and the staff have been wonderful to deal with as they made sure we understood the difference between the different types of accommodation (and views) on offer which could perhaps be misinterpreted if you are only half listening.

Of all the places we have stayed so far from Noosa down, the Rumba resort is probably the best placed of all if you are here for a beach holiday. We also love hiking, and we chose Rumba because not only are they literally only a few paces from the nicest little sets of beaches we have ever been to, they are also close to the highways linking the coast to the hinterland.

We discovered on check-in that an added bonus for us is that there are 4 cafes/restaurants on the boulevard/esplanade downstairs from our apartment including an english style pub! From memory in days gone by , there used to be only a couple of little shacks on the site , no shops and no walkway so we were pleasantly surprised to see all this as well as a new convenience store and a futuristic boardwalk in front of the resort. As a youngster I remember my grandmother describing the Norfolk Pines on Bulcock Beach. She would be amazed to see them now as tall as they are.

Our apartment is very modern , exceptionally clean, and most comfortable. We have a glimpse of the ocean and upon a minute of us leaving our apartment, we have the sand between our toes and are in the surf. Bliss! The King bed and the spa are heavenly and much appreciated especially after a hard day's walking. Our kitchen is fabulous with full sized fridge, dishwasher, stove and microwave although we have been eating out a lot so havent used the facilities. The resort is full of family groups at the moment and from our balcony, we are enjoying watching the little ones frolicking in the pool and on the beach. We have been for a long walk in the mountains this morning, had a swim, laid on the beach, enjoyed lunch at the Coffee Club downstairs and are now catching up with our emails. The resort does thoughtfully provide free wifi in the guest lounging areas.

Amongst the things we have enjoyed doing and that we can recommend is to do the Glass House Mountains national park which is a short drive away from the Rumba Resort . Yesterday we found a lovely picnic area at the Stony Creek day-use area in the Bellthorpe Forest Reserve complete with small waterfalls and the cutest creeks and a rock pool. Today we walked a fabulous walking track at Mt Ngungun which does require a certain level of fitness but if you are well prepared with good hiking shoes, hat, mosquito spray and water you should be fine. If you just want to drive, we can especially recommend the very scenic drive on the Maleny Rd past the town of Landsborough. This town has an interesting old pub in the main street which is worth a stop at.

A few of the families we have talked to have been for a trip to the Australian Zoo which has been the highlight of their childrens holidays. Zoos arent our thing but apparently its full of fun for families. On Sundays in Caloundra the main Bulcock St turns into market stalls and on New Year's Eve, there was a twilight market on the Esplanade in front of the Rumba Resort - lots of locally produced foods and products. Apparently there is more of this planned for this progressive coastal town. Thumbs up - we are thoroughly enjoying our stay and will be recommending it to our friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We phoned the resort and got a price for an ocean view apartment as we had family from the UK over and we went right over the plan of the 3 towers and settled with an ocean room. We arrived Friday night and could see that we wer in the wrong tower and without an ocean view. I phoned reception to be told yes I remember making your booking and I shall see what I can do. Don't settle into your room and I shall call you back. 10 minutes later, grab your luggage and I can put you all in an ocean room for tonight. Then a phone call as we were exiting the room sorry but you will have to stay there for the night as they have all been booked out. I asked for the manager to call me first thing in the morning to get this sorted as I was not happy. No milk in the room and nobody to bring it up.10.30am still no call from the manager so I phoned reception to be told that "I" had booked the wrong room but they would offer some form of compensation. And we would have to stay in this room overlooking guess what 15 air conditioning units and a bit of ocean. And a middle aged man on the balcony opposite us that just loved parading around in the nude. Come departure day I phoned reception to speak to the manager but they did not know what time or even if he was coming in today. Absolutely no compensation, no apology, just a final word from reception You have a nice day Mrs !!!!!!!. Never again

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MelbourneHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
510 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 16 in Mooloolaba
363 reviews
18.3 mi away
Narrows Escape Rainforest Retreat
0.5 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumba Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumba Beach Resort

Property: Rumba Beach Resort
Address: Bulcock Beach Esplanade | Reception on Leeding Terrace, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumba Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumba Beach Resort brings to Caloundra the finest boutique hotel facilities. With arguably the most well-appointed guest suites on the Sunshine Coast, Rumba Resort integrates the relaxing atmosphere of a tropical resort with the convenience of being right in the heart of town. Cafes and fine dining restaurants pepper the beachfront esplanade and a network of boardwalks and coastal pathways link the main shopping precinct to the locale’s famous surf beaches and beyond.Stunning 1, 2 and 3 bedroom guest apartments offer spa ensuites, espresso coffee machines and home theatre systems, all as standard. Rumba's pool bar known as 26degrees is a relaxing and enjoyable place to unwind. Drinks are served on Rumba's pool deck by friendly and professional wait staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Rumba Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumba Beach Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing