We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place will consider returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norfolks on Moffat Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

On a whirlwind trip to the coast we only stayed one night. We did not get the opportunity to really use the facilities however most things appeared in good order.
Apart from the fantastic views from this location it is situated near some nice casual cafes and shops and only a five minute drive from a shopping centre, so it is an easy place to find any bits and pieces one has forgotten to pack.
The fact that there is no air conditiong in the living areas is a major drawback.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiebugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Norfolks on Moffat Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Norfolks is a wonderful weekend getaway for busy Brisbane folk. The ocean views and nearby cafes provide a fabulous addition to the excellent accommodation. My only gripe was the service provided by the female manager who is perhaps new to the job and maybe not familar with good face-to-face customer services practices. This aside we will definitely be back to enjoy the Norfolks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you will be returning. We apologise if you felt the service was not as you had expected, we certainly aim to extend the warmest of welcomes to all our guests and look forward to doing so next time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed for a long weekend and loved it. The complex was a bit convoluted but once we got used to it, it was easy to get around. The apartment on level 5 was so roomy. The air on in the bedroom was a must and nice to have. The view from the balcony is just perfect. Walking across the road to get a coffee or eat was so easy. Can't comment on the pool, didn't use it. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room 36 on level 5
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max21au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here based off a recommendation from good friends and we are so thankful! At the time of our stay our son was 16mths old and the ground floor apartment we booked was ideal due to the completely fenced in courtyard. Our son was able to play in what felt like his own play pen. We all spent many hours in the courtyard with my husband and I reading, our son playing while overlooking the pool and the beach.

The kitchen was stocked with everything you could possibly need. No scrounging around for a cheese knife or platter. There was even a wine cooler and toasted cheese maker. All the essentials :).

Great family accommodation. Extremely spacious unit with large living area that opened directly into the courtyard. Looking forward to returning one day.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Again enjoyed a great family holiday at a norfolks. Selected a 2nd floor room this time which we found convenient as straight out to street level behind & only 1 set of steps to the pool. View was great even on 2nd floor & nice to have just that little bit of privacy too. Room 12 was very modern with 1 large bathroom which was great for our family & daybed that had me zzzzz most days. Complex grounds including pool & BBQ's are kept in impeccable condition & a credit to the management. Had a smelly rug in our lounge room that we rolled up & left on balcony during our visit & let management know on way out so they could look into & no towels in room on arrival which they quickly responded too also so thank you. So many convenient takeaway food options we enjoyed every day/night just across the road & plenty to do without leaving moffats. Although I would recommend heading 5 mins down the road to currumundi lake if you have time for the afternoon, such a magic spot. See you again next year Norfolks.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here in November unit 11 which has recently been refurbished. Great big balconies, beach views. It was great having the park and space for the kids to run about on. If you had older kids you would be able to watch them from the balcony. Excellent pizza and burger shop across the road! Our only grumble was the bed in the master bedroom was hard as a rock. Otherwise satisfactory in every other way and the management were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The complex looks lovely, pool is excellent and our 2 bedroom unit was huge. Mostly modern furnishings but bathrooms are quite dated. Our kids loved the pool and the playground across the road. It was lovely to sit on the balcony overlooking the beach and park. We were disappointed there was no air con in the living areas - managers told us to leave the balcony doors open to get the breeze, but that didn't help in the humidity and there was no fly screens and nothing to stop our 2 children getting out on the balcony which was a bit of a safety concern. Lots of signs about break-ins on the coast, but quite lax security around the complex - Security doors left open, no deadbolts on the apartment doors, our 3 year old was able to open the apartment door and let himself out, and our key opened another apartment when my husband accidentally went to the wrong room. Only 1 lift in complex and it's very very slow and you can't use it to get to the pool level! Staircase down to the pool is VERY STEEP and not ideal for young kids or elderly. We got sore backs from the very soft mattresses and hard pillows. Sheets and towels were very old - 1 towel was fraying and bed sheets were either very thin or felt like hospital sheets. Beach opposite is a dog off-leash beach so not ideal for young kids if they're not used to dogs.
So while the complex and location were lovely, we experienced enough negatives with the room and security that we wouldn't return. For the cost, we have stayed at much nicer units. Not sure what makes it a 4 star property, but I don't think the bathrooms, beds or manchester were 4 star quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathlon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T, Manager at Norfolks on Moffat Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I am very sorry that you won't be coming back to stay but I would still like to address a few of your concerns. I noticed you stayed in one of the few units that have not had their bathrooms renovated. Most of our units have had complete renovations, with beautiful kitchens and bathrooms. You mention not being able to get to the pool via the lift. There is a walkway from the ground floor around to the front of the building and pool on the eastern side of the complex. I'm sorry that you didn't notice this as you need never have used the stairs if you did not wish to. A lot of families with children of the age you mentioned choose to stay in one of our nine ground floor apartments. This, of course, means there are no concerns about the balconies. We have only been managing the resort for 2 months and are presently in the process of replacing all the older linen that we "inherited" from the previous managers. I notice that the week you stayed was a week of extreme temperatures and I would like to say that the normal summer heat is more than offset by the lovely sea breezes that we enjoy year round. The vast majority of our guests find that the air conditioning in the bedrooms is all that is required. We are not permitted to have dead bolts on any of our doors due to fire and safety regulations. The doors are, in fact, as secure as we can make them. Hopefully, this helps clarify some of the issues you experienced during your stay. I am glad to hear about the many aspects of the resort and location that you and your family enjoyed. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope we get the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.0 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portobello By The Sea
Portobello By The Sea
#2 of 2 in Dicky Beach
141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolks on Moffat Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolks on Moffat Beach

Address: Norfolk Units 32 Queen of Colonies Pde | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: £73 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norfolks on Moffat Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Norfolks on Moffat Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing