We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for what we had”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coffee Club

The Coffee Club
Ranked #6 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Caloundra
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There are 2 Coffee Clubs in Caloundra - this is the one at Rumba Resort not the one at Stockland shopping centre.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive for what we had”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were disappointed that this was the only cafe in the Mall for us to eat. We chose fried eggs on ciabatta toast and tomato with a tea and iced tea. Turned out to be an expensive meal which is mirrored in each franchise in NZ and Australia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank w0lves70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    76
    42
    17
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor everything...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Usual coffee club service from start to finish. Slow to get their attention for a seat. Slow to get a waitress to take or order. Then when the meals come out. Two were correct and two were wrong. One was cold. Another had the wrong order. Pitiful. Young service staff and lazy cooks who need to care a little bit more....Every time I think coffee club might be a bit better I give them another go and they disappoint every time. Never go here EVER!

Helpful?
Thank JayD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Incredible disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

When we first arrived there was no one there so we sat out the front only to be told to move with no reason as to why. They then moved us into section one inside. We were then treated as though we were twelve and not our proper adult age. Service was absolutly terrible, our drinks tasted like they used off milk, as my brother couldn't drink his at all because it was that bad we order another drink, once we were ready to order our food, the waitress had to ask three times how we wanted out eggs, then come up for the fourth time and asked if we had hash brown which we did. I had order an omelette which was really good that I wanted it a second time but when it arrived it didn't even look the same. Let alone taste the same, so as we were discussed how we were treated we just to get the hell out, while my friend was waiting to pay for our meals, so we all waited outside but to top it all of a lady ran out to accuse us of not paying the bill, but it wasn't to me it was to 14 year old brother. So I snapped an told them that our friend was paying. I will never dine in there again worst experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiggo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Slow service and pushy staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Went for coffee with friends. Made to feel like we should eat even though about 11am. Service slow and then made to feel like we should leave as soon as drunk coffee or order more coffee. That would be ok if place full but hardly anyone there. Good job there is a nice view.
The coffee club at the Stockland Centre in Caloundra and in the shopping centre in Kawana are much nicer as the staff are much better trained.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCarolandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Appauling service, bad food, overpriced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived yesterday for lunch with some regular clients, sat outside and placed our order of entrees and mains. The coffee shop was less than half full. Our entrees of salt and pepper squid arrived within about 15 mins - they were a bit on the small side but absolutely delicious so being very hungry, we were looking forward to the mains. After 1 hour when the food still hadn't arrived, we questioned one of the waitresses as to the progress of the order. She looked at us blankly for a few seconds and walked away to check. A few minutes later the food arrived with no comments or apologies.

Two ceasar salads were ordered which arrived with stale croutons. Fresh ones were requested but we were told that the ones on the salad could be replaced with new ones which were identical - why would this be even offered??? Again, no apology. Repeated requests were made to have it taken back and taken off the bill, which was greeted with blank stares. One salad was eaten due to the fact that we were starving, however upon payment the matter was again pointed out to the waitress at the till. Her response was "I let the cook know at the time". Once again, no apology and no offers of the other salad being complementary - she simply took the money and totally ignored the issue.

Overall, this establishment, although in a very nice location, appears to be in desperate need of some decent customer service training. The owners are very nice but that definitely has not rubbed off on the staff. In my opinion, the food is over priced for what is received.

There are plenty of other places along this strip to choose from and I for one will definitely not be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pixie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Club also viewed

 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to The Coffee Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing