We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Severe weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Due to the severe weather event on the Australia Day weekend we were unable to stay at the park, although we had prepaid for our stay it was unsafe for us to travel to caloundra so we, and many others, had to cancel. When I asked if we could use our booking for another time I was told the CEO HAD MADE THE DECISION TO NOT ALLOW PEOPLE TO REBOOK RESULTING IN THE LOSS OFALL MONEY PAID. the lady I spoke to was very nice but it was out of her hands. Considering the severity of the weather event I find this decision both ignorant and unfair. It's safe to say we won't be returning to this park, we will however choose a more liberal and understanding park such as the one at dickey beach.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Tictac121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed in a cabin overlooking the water for the christmas week, the cabins were very clean the only downfall was the bedrooms did not have any airconditioning so they were extremely hot. Both bedrooms had ceiling fans, but over a queensland christmas period it was not sufficient. Christmas eve, my husbands bike was stolen off our balcony on the cabin so it was a very dissappointing incident to wake up to on christmas morning, after going to the police, the reception staff were not able to show my husband the footage until 3 days after the incident. The reception staff also reported to my husband when he explained his bike was missing that one of the staff bikes had been taken recently as well - this vital information would have been really great if it was passed on to the guests, we would of taken extra precautions. The bike has still not shown up and was a very expensive one, so it was certainly a holiday to remember but maybe not for all the positive reasons. This area I have since found out has a lot of youth crime, so if you are planning a trip here just be careful with your belongings

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaloundraHP, General Manager at Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Hi Jane,

We are sorry for your loss. Thanks for your feedback. Since your incident, we have trained more staff members to be able to use the CCTV facilities (at the time, the manager who was in charge of the CCTV was on holidays). We enjoy a safe/crime free environment most of the time, but from time to time there are minor incidents of petty theft (common in lots of built up coastal areas).

Most of our guests do take the time to secure their possessions, so next time we'd suggest investing in a lock for your bike.

- Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This park was clean and tidy, but nowhere near the usual Big 4 standard we have grown accustomed to.
On booking we were told no skateboards or scooters, when we got there, you can actually have scooters within the park, but no skateboards. Not sure of the difference.
The office staff are absolutely horrendously rude and abrupt.
1 camp kitchen for around 40 sites, makes it a little difficult.
Unable to peg a tent into the campsites, as they must be on solid rock. If you plan to camp there, make sure you buy really strong, sharp pegs & a good mallet.
Very noisy with busy road.
This park is more for cabin stayers rather than campers.
Loved that Ray welcomed us on arrival.
Management do not really like children, and there was only 1 holiday activity for the children during the entire week we were there.
Would definitely not stay in this Big 4 again, and as far as Big 4's go, this is would be a the lower end.
The park & it's amenities are kept very clean, the cleaners & groundsmen do a very good job.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This place was magical!
Firstly, we stayed in the Frangipani three bedroom cabin. It was SO CLEAN. And so so comfortable. I travelled with my elderly parents, my 10 year old and my baby. So as you can imagine, it needed to suit us all, and it did!
Kitchen was great, bbq only a walk away, view to the water just across a walkway, a fish and chip shop a stroll away. Coles and Kmart shopping across the street. 5 minute drive to beach!!
The pool was strangely small for a park of that size, but my son loved it. He also loved the freedom to ride his bike around safely.
There was nowhere to bath my baby, but staff solved that in seconds by giving me a key to the baby room which was a short stroll away. That was fantastic!
I'm a bit fussy when it comes to holiday parks, and I've been to quite a few. This park made me want to join Big4 and book for easter!!
If you are doubting, don't, this place is awesome!!!

Room Tip: Frangipani room was away from the main area of the park, the only noise we heard was boats going in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziehobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is a lovely caravan park, very true to the Big 4 style. It's has obviously been completely overhauled since google maps pics were taken so I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and design of the park and amenities.

I was a little disappointed with our initial greeting at the front desk. A rather rude nonchalant older lady greeted us with a very solemn attitude. Looking over the top of her glasses she spoke quite abrupt and after a 6 hr drive, the least she could offer is service with a smile. After all, smiles are free! I don't expect bells and whistles on arrival, but a simple smile with a pleasant greet would be nice.

The only bad thing about this park is traffic noise. It seems to go all night long. The park is on a main road through the town and it is very busy! So, if you're a light sleeper, this is not for you!

Would I stay here again? Probably not. I've stayed in better that are not that far from here.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We had a wonderful stay in our caravan for 4 nights in Nov 2012 & were impressed with the layout,cleanliness,generous sites & the friendly staff that welcomed us when we first arrived. Our site didn't have a slab so we were able to change without too much fuss,even though it was quite noisy towards the main road,we would request a site further away from the road next time.It is a lovely park with lot's of great walks & cafe's & restaurants close by along the waterfront.We will return to this Park again as we love the position & the staff were always very helpful,thanks Angus!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We booked this park to explore the Australia Zoo and the Glass House Mountains. And what a fantastic park this is. Originally we planned to stay just 1 night, we ended up staying 4 nights. The amenities are absolutely clean, so is the camp kitchen. The pool was a little bit too cool, but after a long day of hiking in the sun we really enjoyed the cool-down. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moffat Beach Motel
Moffat Beach Motel
#12 of 16 in Caloundra
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Views Resort
Ocean Views Resort
#11 of 16 in Caloundra
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park

Address: Waterfront Holiday Park 44 Maloja Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range: £60 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a holiday packed full of family fun, you've found the ultimate destination. Ideally situated on the absolute water's edge of the famed Pumicestone Passage, choose accommodation from luxury cabins to the fun of camping outdoors.Be among the first to experience our $10 million redevelopment, conveniently close to Caloundra's amenities including parks, cafes and shops. Whether you feel like swimming, shopping, or just relaxing, there's something for every family member to enjoy at this BIG4 Holiday Park. Just an hour from Brisbane, 20 minutes from Maroochydore airport and close to Australia Zoo, Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park is the ultimate holiday destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caloundra Waterfront Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing