We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, shame about the rest”
Review of La Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Promenade
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, shame about the rest”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

WE stayed in a top floor waterfront unit. The view was fantastic and the location was very quiet. Check in clerk was very unfriendly and hardly spoke to us (he seemed annoyed that we arrived at midday, even though we went to lunch and realised check-in was 2.00pm). The ground floor restaurant, again great views but food average and pricey. The owner was also very unfriendly and kept moving couples from larger tables to smaller ones (even though it was Monday and hardly anyone was dining).

We expected our unit to be tired and in need of updating after seeing the website photos and reading comments here, but we booked for the location and waterfront position and $165 seemed reasonable for this. However, we did not expect the dirt and dust and stained upholstery on the cane sofa. This place is really rundown! There were 3 big signs warning of a $690 fire brigade call-out fee if the alarm went off (that's why they removed the toaster, which could be obtained from reception if you signed a form agreeing to pay the $690 if the smoke detector was activated) The sign also advised that steam from the shower or from cooking on the hot plates can also set off the smoke detector, so we did not cook anything and were careful about boiling water in the kettle.

The rooftop deck was noisy as the big air conditioning units for the building are up there, so I can't imagine using this as a restful place to read or use the sun lounges. We could even hear the air conditioners from our unit.

I agree with an earlier comment that the 'receptionist' was so unfriendly and uncaring that he would not have done anything if you complained to him.

We were glad we only booked for 1 night and were glad to check-out at 8.30am.

Would not recommend this hotel in it's current condition and hope it gets a much needed renovation and change of staff who will show some enthusiasm and at least greet guests with a 'hello.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Voni30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    45
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
20
81
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Do not stay here. It is run down. We paid $180.00 for a studio/one bedroom with street and water views two months in advance off wotif.com.au. The blinds on the windows were falling down, the divider blinds separating the main living area to the bedroom were fall off. check in was unfriendly, We were told to park in a numbered spot which already had a car in it, parking was not lock up or undercover. The pool is a size of a puddle and we were our shoes in the room as our feet were getting black from the dirt. Was to scared to have a shower. The TV was broken and had lines running through it and because the check in was unfriendly we didnt report this as we knew it was going to be a waste of time. never again will I stay in this horrid place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Free15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Have now stayed here 4 times past 5 years.Grea location,so much potential,however the rooms are badly run down.
We have noticed lack of maintenance and will not stay there again.Paintwork in rooms chipped/shoddy,lounges saggy and generally the place requires maintenance and a freshen up urgently.

Rooms on street front can get noisy from traffic at night(hoons) and restaurant below is very average,even for breakfast.

Room Tip: choose waterfront,not roadside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel is all about the views.The room was really spacious and looked directly on to the water. We had the private rooftop courtyard which I loved- where else can you stay that gives you a private courtyard with your own BBQ (and outdoor spa in summer) and stunning ocean/island views from both the rooftop balcony and the room balcony.
Yes the indoor furniture (sofa in living room) needs replacing. But the whole room/bathroom/facilities etc were clean and functional.
The location is awesome, the staff were friendly, and for what it lacked in sofa quality it made up for in other areas. And with a location and views like that we didn't spend much time on the sofa watching TV anyway. If you book a ground floor room you can even fish from the front of your unit. I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Very disappointing ... The views & location were wonderful however the extremely old furniture/ dirty floors was a let down. The room was very poorly lit and the 'kitchen' was poorly equipped - not even a toaster.

The couches are the wicker variety which are caked in dust (in grooves). I had to complain as not only was the dust terrible, they were covered in mildew! The receptionist came and put sheets over them.

It's such a shame as they (the owners) could do so much as it had a lot of potential. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMCLPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The hotel is located in the best part of Caloundra and is practically bordering the bay. Arguably the best located hotel in Caloundra with the nicest views of the ocean, bay, and Bribie Island and close to restaurants, shops, supermarkets, etc. We booked a room in the 2nd floor. The room was huge with kitchenette and jacuzzi and was overall very clean. Liked how the jacuzzi was in the middle of the room since we could have a relaxing spa treatment while watching TV. There were some old/slightly decaying parts in the room such as metal tubes in the toilet but they posed no inconvenience at all to us. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were decent enough though. The a/c heater was in good condition and kept such a large unit well heated, however, it was a bit noisy (again, not too bothered by it). The room has the best ocean view we could ask for and a decently sized balcony to enjoy it. If you bring a car, there is an underground secure carpark with direct elevator access.

Service was as expected. Staff were friendly and showed us how to located and reach certain places. The only issue we had was the inflexibility of the staff to allow for late checkout (about 1 hour later) despite the fact that checked in a bit late. Could have used that extra one hour sleep.

All in all, we had a great time here and will come again if we stay in Caloundra.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at La Promenade for a weekend away in July 2012 and were a little dissapointed in the rooms. I work at an immaculate 4 1/2 star hotel in Brisbane city and after 10 years in the business I know how hard we work to keep our 4 1/2 star rating so I was very suprised that La Promenade is advertised at 4 1/2 stars.
The view and location was fantastic! It was just gorgeous spending time on the balcony over looking the water, boats and locals fishing along the board walk.
The apartment was older and you could tell that the managers tried very hard in keeping this apartment clean. I was impressed with the cleanliness but the condition of the bed was horrible and I went home with a sore back! This bed was very old and you could hear and feel every spring!
The cane furniture was dated and the fabric on the couch was sticky and smelly.
The spa bath in the middle of the living area was interesting but I think the green colour of the spa made it look a little worse - a fresh coat of paint would have brightened up this apartment!

If Management updated the cane furniture and spent a little money on a new comfortable bed, this apartment would have been a delight to stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view! it definitely made us feel better about disapointing apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug86_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 52 in Caloundra
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Promenade

Property: La Promenade
Address: 4 Tay Ave, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Promenade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing