We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy”
Review of Oaks Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Oasis
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Booked a King Room was given a room with 2 Queen beds. This had hard cane chairs and not much space. Room I wanted had only 1 bed in room overlooked the "lake" and had a lounge to relax in. I was told I was upgraded cant see how.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear William F

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Whilst we do value the gift of feedback i was disappointed that our rooms did not meet your expectations. I did note your comments regarding the room upgrade not meeting your requirments and I will address this issue for future. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Gregory Guilford
General manager
Oaks Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

On arrival we we told they withdrawal $150.00 out of your credit card and hold it for 7 days this was not stated on our conformation email only that we had to present a credit card, I have stayed in a lot of hotels and never have I had to pay a deposit before we can check in even after the room had been fully paid for I have expressed this to a lot of friends and they say the same. The bathroom was horrible like we were staying in a hospital suit. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meldal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Medal4

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.
Our surcurity deposit policy is stated on each confirmation and this is only a per autherizaton hold as we do not draw any of these funds from your accout. We will take measures to make sure this is clear for future booking to save any confusion for future guests.


Yours sincerely
Gregory Guilford
General manager
Oaks Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Cheapish resort but my room was not entirely clean. They offered to move me but that is a nuisance once you have partly unpacked. Breakfast was good. We had a meeting there and the morning tea was taken away and dumped. We could have had it for lunch! What a waste.Didn't seem to be any stair access to the top floors- only the lift.

Room Tip: Top floor but stair door locked on the outside so have to use the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Dianne1305

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.
it was disappointing to read that your room was not clean to a high enough standard, i have passed this feedback on to our Executive Housekeeper to follow up and ensure this was only a one off error.

I did note your comments regarding the service during your meeting, we do clear food away after each break to meet with health regulations and not leave food out for extented periods.

In regard to our lifts we are more than happy to arrange a ground floor room upon request so that fire stairs and lift are not a consern in future.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Gregory Guilford
General manager
Oaks Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed at Oasis 3 times over the past 2 years and absolutely love it.
The staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and the facilities are well laid out. The new water park they have put in is an excellent addition!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nichibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Nichibb

I was delighted to read your review following your recent visit to the Sunshine Coast and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear how much everyone enjoyed the waterpark and our new rooms. I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Greg Guilford
General Manager
Oaks Oasis Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Reception was pleasant & courteuos. the room was spacious & comfortable. There was a lack of ammenities, no toaster or microwave,very little cuttlery. There was no information folder in room. The information sheet given at reception was very limited. Well located, handy to shopping complex and eateries. With improved room ammenities and information, this hotel would rate higher.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dcs297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear dcs297

Thank you for your feedback and i am happy to hear that our staff were pleasant and welcoming on your arrival.
Our executive rooms unfortunatley do not offer these facilities but we do have our 1 bedroom studios currently under refurbishment and these rooms will offer kitchenettes which will be fully equiped and we look forward to these rooms to be available during September.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort again and sample our self condained rooms to cater to all your needs once completed.

Yours Sincerely,
Greg Guilford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight here. My reception at front desk was very good with staff being friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, spacious, comfortable and modern. The room was mostly clean, but our shower wasn't draining properly, so I investigated to find the drain clogged with hair and soap scum. This was a minor issue, but one I would rather not deal with. We ate at the restaurant, Reflections, for dinner. This was where the property is let down. We were seated at 7:20pm. Service was very slow, with us waiting long periods between courses, our desserts not arriving until 9:30pm. My husband ordered the egg fettuccine with lobster, calamari and tiger prawn, but spaghetti arrived instead, sans any lobster and with no explanation. My husband made mention that his dish was not as he ordered, and we were told that chef did not explain that he had run out of fettuccine. This needed to have been communicated BEFORE we ordered, so that another choice could have been made. Little things like communication between kitchen and wait staff, and then communication between front of house staff and customers would go a long way to making dining a more enjoyable experience. Respecting that customers know the difference between fettuccine and spaghetti, and will usually respond in an understanding fashion if it is explained that the kitchen has run out of an ingredient, or is rushed etc is warranted. Again I want to say that the room was lovely and I think, with a little tweaking, the whole experience would be enhanced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emtee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Emtee W

I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback following your recent visit and it was my pleasure to address these issues personally with you over the phone. I did note your comments regarding the shower drains and due to your feedback we have implemented proceedures to fix this problem so no other guests have the same issue.

I have discussed the problems you raised about our Restaurant and your meals with our chef who was very sorry for the brake down in communication which unfortunatley resulted in your poor dinning experiance. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

Thank you for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Greg Guilford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paquita05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin H, General Manager at Oaks Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
0.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
528 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Oasis

Address: Tarus 2 Landsborough Pde, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: £88 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Oasis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished and perfectly positioned just a short walk from the sparkling waters of Golden Beach and now boasting a brand new onsite water play park, Oaks Oasis is an ideal Caloundra accommodation choice for families, couples and groups alike. Our extensive range of accommodation options, including newly refurbished hotel, studio, one and two bedroom apartments, and two and three bedroom villas, are equipped with everything you need to enjoy your Sunshine Coast holiday, such as reverse cycle air conditioning, cable TV, Wi-Fi internet access, large open plan living areas and with all except our hotel rooms having a kitchen or kitchenette. Oaks Oasis Waterpark set within the resort's sweeping grounds, the 500m2 play zone includes a sizeable splash pool and central, multi-level water attraction complete with water slides, fountains, colourful and interactive activities and a giant tipping bucket. A multitude of sun lounges feature prominently on new timber leisure decks, along with grassy, shaded areas and party tents, perfectly complementing the fully heated facility. The play zone is also fully fenced and monitored at all times during the park opening hours of 9.00Am - 5.00 pm daily, ensuring safety as a priority. Please note that children 12 years and under must be accompanied by a parent / guardian over 16 years of age. The waterpark is suitable for children 12 years and under only. Children over 12 years are not permitted to play on the waterpark. There is also an array of other leisure facilities and activities onsite. Play a game of tennis on the floodlit tennis courts or relax by our central, tropical pool with spa. Kids can also enjoy the children's playground and the beach volleyball court. Once you arrive at Oaks Oasis, you can park the car onsite and walk to Caloundra's finest attractions including Bulcock Beach, Kings Beach and boutique shopping. When hunger strikes, you can enjoy a bite from our poolside Reflections at Golden Beach Restaurant or stroll downtown to an assortment of cafes and restaurants. Oaks Oasis, Caloundra is located just an hour's drive north of Brisbane on the southern tip of Queensland's Sunshine Coast. We're also ideally situated within a short drive to a handful of Sunshine Coast favourites such as Australia Zoo, Underwater World the Ginger Factory and more. And if you're looking for a relaxed meeting and conference venue on the Sunshine Coast, we also have four newly refurbished onsite conference rooms and offer an array of catering options and business and secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Oasis Resort Caloundra Hotel Caloundra
Rydges Oasis Hotel Caloundra
Caloundra Rydges Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing