We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool and golf course.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Last month I stayed at the Crowne Plaza, but booked a privately owned apartment which was okay. But I can't really judge the hotels reputation on the privately owned apartment. But I can say the pool was amazing! And so was the dining facilities, beautiful food and lovely service. The day spa was also a highlight with good specials and lovely massages.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleineb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed there with two little kids. Booked on a online special it said all rooms have A view if the golf course.not quite. The first room we got had a view of the Carpark.we changed rooms and then got a view of the pool which we said okay too but the balcony was right by trees so really a didn't see anything.but anyway if you looked hard enough through the trees I suppose you could see the pool.

The hotel was clean and nice.the staff were helpful.the pool was good fun for the kids but is not heated.

Quite a but away from town but its only a ten minute drive.

I think most people stay there just to play golf.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfreaks4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

travelfreaks4lyfe,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and providing feedback. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received, but pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your stay. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed in Oct-11 for a friends' wedding reception and the hotel was wonderful. Rooms were lovely and clean, plus since they were booked out we got a free upgrade to a room with a huge shower and big balcony. The location isn't ideal but if you're looking for a great hotel in a nice spot that isn't immediately handy to the beach then this is it. The food in the restaurant was nice too.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Brodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Upon entering reception, was very cold, unattended and had to wait till someone approached, though the check in its self was very swift and professional.
After parking the car in the unsecured car-park, the lift was the first challenge as the card wouldn't work and we needed the assistance of another guest to get us to our floor ( 4 ).
Getting out of the lift on too our floor, the first thing we noticed was the smell of the musty, oldish carpet ( not sure if this had just been cleaned and hadn't dried properly, but it did smell ).
The room was nicely furnished, we had 415, 2 double beds, but a long narrow room, but still with very nice decor etc looking over the pool and canal. The cleaning of the room was a bit hit and miss, the glass doors to the balcony had hand marks and scuff marks, the shower door was filthy, the carpet was old and needs some loving, under the half chase was probably a years worth of dust and bits of paper etc, and under the beds were not much better. In the bathroom there was water marks on the mirror, and the shower may of have been cleaned, but the walls etc had soap and shampoo on them.
I went to get some ice out of the freezer compartment in the mini-bar, only to find the ice tray was empty, so went to reception to get some ice, they referred me to the restaurant very quickly and was told i could only have half a bucket of ice - regardless of how many in the room.
The room information was very poor as we wanted to dine in the restaurant, but the compendium had no information regarding the rest etc and we had to log in to there internet site on the i phones ( no wireless internet ) to at least see opening times and menu etc, but the restaurant seemed competitively priced, but we still chose to dine at a near by tavern, where the meals and service were A1.
On a more positive note, the breakfast was excellent, huge selection of all types of food, staff all were well dressed and presented and friendly, which made the morning all that more enjoyable.
Would i stay again - prob not as there are other places where i have stayed before close by.

Room Tip: rooms looking over the pool and canal a definite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

had a really relaxing nite away in a spa room suite extremely clean and spacious great kitchenette and nice lounge area
overall the facilities and complex is very well maintained and enjoyed a very relaxing wkend away .breakfast buffet great choices just pity couldnt get a hot cuppa only downfall but im sure if id asked they would have sorted the machine out
definately be back ,lovely place !!

Room Tip: hi lovely balcony on pool side pity we didnt realise till later had carpark view but must ask next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymoonersBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a work function but brought my Mother and child with me. The facilities for the conference were excellent and all the meals were very good. The only issue for us was the lack of facilities and places to go for my Mother and child. The only thing available to them was a swimming pool which is not covered so out of the question between 10 and 2.30 pm. The compendium says the local bus is 10 minutes walk but it's more like a 25 minute power walk and only then does the bus go two stop to the local shopping centre which is a 30 minute walk. It's a long way from the beach as well if you don't have a car. It's not the place to stay if you want to roam the local area and you don't have a car. A shuttle bus would make this hotel exceptional.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less noise from the pool or outside area when there are parties. The lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is modern, friendly and kid perfect. Spacious accomodation, great service and I love the underground parking and easy lift access. Its a little bit of a drive into Caloundra but thats OK. You can swim play tennins, go to the gym and of course The Shark's golf course is right there.
We stayed for a week and the food was brilliant, especially the ample breakfast.
My only complaint was that the beers are a bit steep at $8. I think the food made up for that.
Im definately going back.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter which way you face you will have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
3.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
525 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
252 reviews
12.0 mi away
Oaks Seaforth Resort
Oaks Seaforth Resort
#2 of 7 in Alexandra Headland
532 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 38 Mahogany Dr | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: £98 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa.The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing