We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, comfortable stay. Nothing bad, nothing exceptional.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average, comfortable stay. Nothing bad, nothing exceptional.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here 4 times to date.

Under new management again.

Room this time, average. Bed was very uncomfortable. Never been so glad to return to our own bed after 2 days here. Both of us sore necks & backs.

Lovely building & premises.

Breakfast nice.

Reception staff, young lady, very nice.

Nothing wrong with the stay, wasn't anything overly special. Went for our anniversary & would not say it was anything spectacular, staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    187
    106
    42
    30
See reviews for
104
236
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Unfortunately this place has gone down hill recently. Rude incompetent reception and bar staff. Still a lovely location but I won't come back. Big shame :-( Breakfasts used to be great, now average. Had to wait nearly an hour for lunch to arrive - for three deep fried bar snacks - unacceptable. We had dinner one night, the food was lovely, but we weren't allowed a coffee as the machine was being cleaned, obviously the staff wanted to go home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55BBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Our deluxe spa room was wonderful. The pool and bar area was lovely. Our first night we asked for some advice on venues providing a shuttle bus to dinner. We got a massive bum steer on the location of one of the places we were offered. The first morning we were told at the breakfast area that we were not entitled to free breakfast because we weren't on the list. After the girl went and enquired at reception she said sorry, you haven't paid? When I started to go over and sort it out another lady said look just eat and we will get it sorted which was great. After we ate I wanted to make sure it was sorted out and the young man said yes all is good. No sorry for earlier! The room information said we could hire bikes from reception. When we asked at reception...."no not anymore" the company is in Noosa if you want their number? We asked about whether there was a bus route from the hotel to the local shopping village. "Sure, not sure how often they run but just look for the bus stop on the road out the front" no bus stop in sight for the 40 minute walk to the shops! Don't try the gym either "it's not part of the hotel anymore"! The complimentary day spa treatment I was given with our room was not available on the website before we left as they were "closed for new ownership branding". Upon checkout the day spa was open at 9am and I could have made an appointment if I had been informed. Overall the rooms and resort were great, but to get people to return again, the front desk staff need a lesson in customer service. The area is remote and without a car so your options are very limited for food options and activities.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1971Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

When you stay at what is advertised as a ‘resort’ there is a certain level of expectation. You expect that your room is clean, you can park your car, and that you will receive a certain level of service. During our recent stay, Pelican Waters failed on all accounts. The room was unclean – we were greeted by an artificial nail left by a previous occupant in the centre of the floor of the living room of the ‘suite’ and there were long hairs left on the kitchen bench. We took one look at the outdoor setting and concluded we weren’t prepared to sit on it.
Due to its situation, you will most likely need to have a car and consequently a car park. On the Saturday night that we stayed there we had elected to go out for dinner. Upon return there were no car parks available – both undercover and outside of the complex. Identifying that there were numerous parks that were reserved, we asked for authorisation from the person at the front desk to be permitted to park in one of these car-parks, given that there were no alternatives. We were told that we could on this occasion. Unfortunately when we parked we were confronted with a woman who identified herself as the Operations Manager who informed us that we were not permitted to park there. We recounted that we were given authorisation to do so given that there were no other parks available. She asserted that even though you are paying guests who are staying at the hotel, you are not guaranteed to have a car park. I was amazed by this. When you are staying at a hotel you should be able to park your car. The proposition that you may need to find a side-street somewhere in suburbia and then walk to your accommodation is astounding. I am making mention of this as given the location of the ‘resort’ it is highly likely that people will be driving. It is a basic necessity for this form of accommodation and as a paying guest you should not be confronted nor have to justify this very basic requirement.
Of note, the only pleasant experience was our dealings with the gentleman at the front desk on check-in and Saturday night. He was enthusiastic, attentive and did provide customer service.
We were looking forward to having a nice weekend away at a resort. Unfortunately, Pelican Waters did not live up to our very basic of expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeM990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The conference rooms were adequate and well equipped, and regularly cleaned and maintained by the staff. Food was good, and the restaurant clean. My room was fantastic and once again very clean. Beautiful gardens surround this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisa851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Husband and I spent 3 nights at Pelican Waters and Golf Resort Spa to celebrate our 8 years anniversary. Unfortunately, we didn't expect it would be a very dull place. The place itself needs renovation as it has changed into a new management. Service was poor. Receptionists need more training handling guests especially the newly arrived guests who just travelled the whole day to get there. There were no smiles and "hellos" "welcome" but a finger pointing at us to wait. We waited for 10 minutes, patiently. We stayed there for 3 days and no one has greeted us "hello", "good morning" nor "hi". We only had contact with them when we checked in and checked out of the hotel. As a couple who are used to going to hotels, we find this very odd.

"Free breakfast" was atrocious as we were told we can not have the hot meal (e.g. eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown). If we were to get from the hot buffet servings, we were told to pay a certain amount. Thus, our "free breakfast" were the cereals, bread and coffee.

The location is very remote. There are no shops nearby. The nearest is 30-40 minutes walk. If you love to walk 1.5 kilometres to buy a drink, this is your place. This resort is secluded and good only for people who travelled with their own car. Car park is also very scarce.

"Heated pool" was very cold!

On the contrary, we had a spa tub in our room which was the only positive mark after such a looong walk to and back the shops. Gym was accessible and free for guests.

Room Tip: We had the room facing the road and there were nothing extraordinary to see. I guess the rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoggera, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my partner wanted to spend a romantic night here. The staff were great, the room was great, (the spa bath smelt wierd) and the buffet was so yummy. It was clean and well stocked. I liked that i was aloud to smoke on the balcony. The room was beautifully clean and If i could compare this to twin waters and Twin waters would fail miserably. The shops weren't far Woolies etc, hotel was next to them. It is away from the beach/caloundra but thats why we booked. To be honest the reviews on here are nothing like what i experienced. All up it was a fantastic weekend. If your looking at stay further inland this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shez19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
3.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
633 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 38 Mahogany Dr | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa.The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing