We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad - for a cooler night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad - for a cooler night!”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Stayed one night in a Queen Spa room in late july. Room itself was quite clean, a few cobwebs and a champagne cork lying around, but the rest was very tidy. The room was spacious - more like a small apartment than a hotel room. Nice view overlooking the pool, swamp and golf course.

Pretty quiet, unfortunately we were on the second floor and there were a few rowdy people hanging around the pool area till quite late at night.

One minus point was that the air conditioning was set at 25°, and unable to be changed to anything cooler. It was a warm night and we were quite uncomfortable. Aside from this, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    176
    103
    42
    30
See reviews for
95
229
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Last Wednesday morning (16/6) my wife and I proceeded to check out after a most enjoyable six day stay at Pelican Waters. What took place over the following 20 minutes was some of the worst treatment I have ever been subjected to at a hotel reception. The personnel have obviously never been trained in customer relationship nor understand the ongoing potential value of a long standing client, particularly one that holds a Gold level status and is a Priority Privilege Club member.

Whilst Ken and his assistant exhibited a ‘very’ professional approach in discussing our concerns, it was an attitude that totally lacked any compassion or empathy. When I first made the booking enquiry on line using my Entertainment Card, a rate of $104.00 per night was listed. When I then used my Priority Privilege Membership a buy one night with one night free rate came up at a rate of $180.00 for a 1 bedroom apartment. I admit that being the first time I had used this Priority Privilege membership, I failed to read all the conditions in fine print, including the fact that I needed a coupon from the folder sent to us.

A friend who had introduced us to the Privilege Club had given us a transferable “buy one get one free” dinner coupon which we had handed to the waitress at the resort’s restaurant, not noticing that there was an expiry date in small print on the reverse. You can understand my dismay when told that the discounted meal cost had been reverted back to a full price because of this.

I also advised that I had a booking for four paid nights and two free and handed over a Priority Privilege ‘pay 1 night get 1 night free’ coupon so that it could become a 3 paid 3 free night charge. I was then advised that as I had only handed over 1 coupon, I would be now required in fact to pay an additional $180.00 resulting in a total charge of $900.00. If I had proceeded with my initial booking using the Entertainment Card I would have only paid $624.00, even if this was for a slightly smaller room.

Given my wife and I played two rounds of golf and spent over $300.00 in the shop, on this our 3rd visit to Pelican Waters, I would have expected far better treatment. They could have even suggested we use the 25% discount voucher which was in the package, which in my disturbed state of mind overlooked.

Over the past three years to achieve our current “Gold” status, you will note from your records we have previously enjoyed numerous stays at your Torquay, Natadola Resort, Hunter Valley and Pelican Waters resorts and have always been a keen advocate. In fact I had completed a very complimentary client survey, which in my anger tore up due to it now being totally inaccurate. The parting remark “ I hope you have a nice day” was totally unnecessary and unwelcomed given the circumstances.

As a result of this experience we cancelled two nights booked last Thursday and Friday at your Surfers Paradise resort and after we return from Natadola Beach Resort Fiji in August, see no reason why we should stay at or recommend your company in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gilesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caloundra hotels

gold coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We booked this resort as it is situated next to the Greg norman Golf Course. After reading a few negative reveiws, we were not expecting much, however were very happy with our choice. The room was clean, spacious and had a huge balcony overlooking the golf course. While we were only on the 2nd floor and could only see tree tops, it gave you a feeling of being surrounded by a rain forest and was very peacefull.

The service we recieved was good and they have a great 24 hour gym facility, I was impressed!! The day spa is such a gem and I enjoyed a nice treatment package.

We would definatley stay here again. My only tip would be to bring your insect repellent in force when playing a round of golf.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compact_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

what i liked, public areas, pool, balcony views, hotel staff were friendly, spa was good.
what i didn't like;
pubes in the spa
crappy fridge with outer door propped open
knackered old crt telly in living room
awful restaurant - avoid the potato mousaka which tastes of undercooked potatoes. steak and fish were fine.
restaurant staff were terrible, not knowing even which side side-plates go on, arguing over who holds the walkie talkie.
$5 dollar surplus for using the restaurant over easter? I appreciate they need to pay their staff a little more, but that can come out of their money not mine.
no wireless internet, what there was you had to pay through the nose for.
the lobby terminal is $5 dollars for five minutes, it should be free in a place like this.
the hotel convenience store was never opened.
the area the hotel sat in was a desolate hell of roundabouts and mcmansions.
breakfast should be included for the money we payed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Oz_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2010

If you require a room to put your head for a night then the Crowne Plaza will do. If you expect to get what you have paid for or any form of service forget it. We have previously stayed at this hotel when it was under the Ramada banner, chalk & cheese.
We booked an Executive Suite Dine & Unwind package online through their website.
The last thing we actually did their was unwind, quite the opposite.
The resort view was a view of the car park at the front of the Hotel, when I went to reception to quirey this they advised me that none of the Exec Suites overlook the resort & pool & that the website I had booked through had made a mistake. Funny I said it is your website. That set the tone for our whole stay. I could write an essay on the poor service & lack of interest from the staff. Waited over an hour for meals in a restuarant with a dozen people in it , asked to pay for childs meals that were supposed to be included in the package, had to ring to get a bed in our room for our daughter after booking with child. DIisgracefull. No reimbusment for room. A promise of discounted rate on our next stay, (Not a Chance) complimentry bottle of wine. What a joke 4.5 Star, We have stayed in better 2 star establishments in Europe which is way below Aus standards.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dvh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

This was our second stay at the hotel. We stayed 3 nights in a spa suite. Let down that we had a view over the front and not the pool. Room was very spacious, clean and serviced regularly. Pity there was no DVD player though. Check-in was a bit slow but apart from that staff were very helpful. Ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night but staff were very slow and it took 2 hours for a 2 course meal. Food was worth the wait though. Pool was fabulous and so were the other amenities. Had a great experience at the day spa and highly recommend it. Played golf, great couse but got eaten alive by mosquitos, take insect repellant! Club house was beautiful and had great meals for lunch. Location was bit out of the way, at least 15 minute drive to shops, beach etc.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

we are independent travelers and dont require much except efficient and friendly service, reasonably knowledgable reception staff and a room up to average standards. We found these expectations were far too high while staying here. Room:old tvs, fridge propped up on unstable wooden blocks, how dodgy,cupboard door to fridge that wouldnt shut due to fridge on dodgy wooden blocks, tv that would only work by turning it off at the wall then turning it back on to reboot it, no plugs for either the sink or bath which we realised at 11.30pm when we went to have a spa so felt real bad when we had to ring reception at that late hour, bed that had major sinkage in the middle, a clothes dryer in the room but no guest washing machine facilities?! are you serious! a kitchen sink in the room but no plug, dishwashing liquid or cloth?! are you serious! Facilities: no guest washing machine facilities, wanted to use the business centre but were told that it was only available every day after business hours?! what the! apparently their admin and accounts staff use it during business hours....oh but we could access the one coin operated computer for the whole resort.great. the gaming room consisted of old computers hooked up to old games. when we booked the tennis courts and racquets on two occasions and had walked down to the courts the staff member who we had made the booking with and had given us the racquets didnt turn on the court lights so we had to walk back to the hotel and ask them to turn them on.
Nothing will be done by management to rectify any of the above so make up your own mind.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank everydayperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caloundra
3.2 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
488 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
600 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 38 Mahogany Dr | Pelican Waters, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa is situated just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane International & Domestic Airports, 40 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport and only minutes from Sunshine Coast beaches.This 4 star resort provides the perfect getaway retreat with breathtaking views of the heritage listed Glasshouse Mountains, the Greg Norman designed championship Golf Course, Pelican Waters Golf Club and the seaside city of Caloundra and the Pacific Ocean.The hotel boasts excellent facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers with stylish guest rooms and apartments suitable for individuals right through to families staying one night or longer. There are plenty of opportunities to relax by our resort pool & heated lap pool, take a leisurely stroll or just relax with a good book and watch the world roll by. For the more energetic, you can dust off the golf clubs and play a round of 18 holes of golf. For those who want to be pampered, spoil yourself with a treatment at Pelican Waters Resort Day Spa.The Sunshine Coast enjoys a pleasant year round climate with average temperatures of 17 - 28 degrees in summer and 10 - 23 degrees in winter. Our region boasts many diverse, exciting and natural attractions from the popular Australia Zoo, UnderWater World, Big Kart Track and Aussie World to the famous Eumundi Markets, or a simple day of lazing on one of our many beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Pelican Waters Hotel Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Caloundra
Crowne Plaza Hotel Caloundra
Ramada Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing