We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooftop pool is really cool, but that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pumicestone Blue Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The rooftop pool is really cool, but that's about it.”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I have just come back from an overnight stay, it was okay. I always ask for the highest floor available so I get a good view, but all I could see from the sofa was rooftops & a small amount of water from the balcony. On the plus side my apartment was clean & comfortable. The bed was great & I slept really well, which is always a plus when you're overnighting somewhere new. I booked a 1brm & was given a 2brm with instructions not to use the rooms I didn't book, which is fair enough, I was on my own, so not a problem, but the apartment was quite small & I'm not sure how I would feel about sharing it with 3 other people. The ensuite was tiny (glad I was on my own, or i would have been tempted to use the other bathroom) The sofa is way to close to the tv to be comfortable. The small kitchen was well equipped, it had everything you would need if you were there for a longer stay. I booked this apartment for the rooftop pool as it looked amazing in the pics, unfortunately the weather was off, so I didn't get to hang out up there and read a book, but it would have been nice if the sun was shining! And lastly, it is located on the main road in town, so can get a little noisy, you can't really watch tv with the balcony door open because of the road noise. But easy to walk everywhere if you don't have a car, and there was no noise that kept me awake at night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Worst service I have ever received, we were charged extra cost for no reason, without our permission and spoken to horribly. Managers were very unorganized and unprofessional. Bedrooms were small, beds uncomfortable, air conditioning not even working. Do yourself a favour and do not book here.

Room Tip: Overpriced, bad service, uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank where_2_go_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Both my husband & I loved staying @ Pumicestone Blue Resort. It's location is @ the bottom end of Bulcock Street & in walking distance to most restaurants, cafe, etc. & approx. 10 minute walk to Stockland Shopping Centre. We found the staff very co-operative & friendly. We especially were impressed not only with the tariff, facilities & views, but the security that is provided. We definately will be staying there again & to think only a 1 hour's drive from our home @ Carseldine. The resort seems very organised & we would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayetemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I came up to Caloundra to visit extended family, and stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment at the hotel with my family. Though most of our time wasn't spent at the hotel, for the time we were there we experienced poor service and faulty rooms.

The door to our apartment didn't lock, and during the night we had to push a chair against the door after someone came into our apartment. The door got fixed towards the end of our stay, however the handy man fixing the door locked himself into our apartment - which added to the stress. As well as the faulty door, the shower in the master bedroom was also damaged, and didn't get fixed during our stay and the airconditioner leaked water onto the bench.

During our stay, we finished the toilet paper and laundry detergent we were given. When we went down to reception to ask for more, we were told that what was provided in our room was a 'starter pack' and anything else we required could either be bought at reception or at a supermarket. A basic neccesity like toilet paper should've been provided by the hotel, especially at the price we were paying.

Our apartment had a kitchenette which we used during our stay. Although we ate out some nights, when we used the kitchen to cook dinner there wasn't adaquate cooking utensils. We weren't provided with enough saucepans/frypans and a chopping board. Due to the lack of chopping boards, we were forced to use dinner plates to cut vegetables on.

To sum up Pumiestone Blue Resort, the place is faulty, unclean and has bad service. For the price we payed, it certainly wasn't worth it, and I suggest you look at staying at another place. The staff have a bad attitude, the rooms are faulty and the service is poor.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlynneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bundaberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This resort was just beautiful, pleasant staff, loved the roof top pool & BBQ area, had a great night with fellow guests around the pool & BBQ. Lots to see & do in the area will be coming back to experience more of your beautiful area. Just didn't have enough time in the few days we had. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We arrived to be greeted by supercilious staff, with a full list of things we couldn't do and we would be charged for (rubbish, overdue key charges, hourly rates for late checkouts, the list of potential fines were a few pages long). Beware, the building has no one bedroom apartments, so if you book one on wotif, you receive a two bedroom apartment (seemingly an upgrade) but you are charged for the two bedroom if you break the seal on the second bathroom (which they don't tell you just include in the long potential fine list), or do a range of things that incur additional cleaning charges.

We were greeted in the elevator by a long term tenant moving his stuff out of the apartment, there seemed very few actual tourists there. Whenever we had contact with the staff we felt like badly behaved house guests and we were made to wait very sternly for ten minutes on departure so they could check our room to ensure we hadn't incurred any extra charges (which we hadn't as we had thoroughly read and digested our extra charges booklet). It was a pity as the rooms were spacious and clean, but the whole experience made for a tense holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unluckyinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We booked a room with ocean view but when we checked in, our low level floored room did not have a view to speak of. When we went back to reception to complain, we got moved to a higher floor but had to pay a cleaning fee for the previous room even though we had not touched a thing! Even though the higher floor did have a better vantage for a view, the view itself is not of sweeping sea, but of the scrubby passage way. Resorts on the other side of the main strip would have much better views of the beautiful ocean. The service is far away from being 4.5 stars. You basically can get a key during set hours and otherwise look after yourself. We had horribly noisy people above us with children jumping off the bed on to the floor and scraping chairs on the floor above our head for hours on end at night and the reception didn't want to know about it. The rooftop pool and spa is quite small. We felt like we were intruding upon other guests when we went there; not enough space to share. Caloundra is lovely but this resort is not well placed to enjoy it all. This is a pity as the apartments themselves are very nice - large, clean, modern, stylish and well appointed. All in all, we were disappointed and felt that the experience did not match the enticing photos of this resort.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#9 of 16 in Caloundra
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 52 in Caloundra
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumicestone Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumicestone Blue Resort

Property: Pumicestone Blue Resort
Address: 111 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumicestone Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumicestone Blue Caloundra Resort is the first landmark holiday building you see as you enter Caloundra's CBD. A first class locationoverlooking Pumicestone Passage and Bribie Island. Pumicestone Blue Resort is uniquely placed to take the advantage of Caloundra's superb location, within easy walking distance of beaches, cafes, restaurants, shops & clubs.Pumicestone Blue holiday-makers have privileged access to the 12th level rooftop sun terrace via two high-speed elevators. From there, you'll enjoy glorious 360 degree views that encompass the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, Pacific Ocean and the Glass House Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pumicestone Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing