We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments, not much of a view though, and pretty poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pumicestone Blue Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
“Nice apartments, not much of a view though, and pretty poor service”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We booked a room with ocean view but when we checked in, our low level floored room did not have a view to speak of. When we went back to reception to complain, we got moved to a higher floor but had to pay a cleaning fee for the previous room even though we had not touched a thing! Even though the higher floor did have a better vantage for a view, the view itself is not of sweeping sea, but of the scrubby passage way. Resorts on the other side of the main strip would have much better views of the beautiful ocean. The service is far away from being 4.5 stars. You basically can get a key during set hours and otherwise look after yourself. We had horribly noisy people above us with children jumping off the bed on to the floor and scraping chairs on the floor above our head for hours on end at night and the reception didn't want to know about it. The rooftop pool and spa is quite small. We felt like we were intruding upon other guests when we went there; not enough space to share. Caloundra is lovely but this resort is not well placed to enjoy it all. This is a pity as the apartments themselves are very nice - large, clean, modern, stylish and well appointed. All in all, we were disappointed and felt that the experience did not match the enticing photos of this resort.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    25
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Our 10th floor condo couldn't have had a better view of Pumicestone Passage and Bribie Island. We never even went up to the pool and rooftop area as we had the perfect view and lounging area on our own private balcony.

The master bedroom offered this same incredible view. What more could you ask for than to wake up looking out at the blue waters and passing boats?

Location near Kings Beach and Golden Beach was optimal for beach time and renting kayaking to explore the nearby waters and Bribie.

All in our group agreed that Pumicestone Blue will be receiving a return visit from us. Just be sure to book well in advance and phone in to confirm your specific floor request (this will ensure you don't have poor room assignment as one other reviewer noted previously).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We visit Caloundra every year and became engaged on our previous trip. Naturally, we decided Caloundra would be the ideal place for our wedding. Normally we stayed at the Breakfree Caloundra, but after each visit became more and more disappointing, we decided to try Pumicestone Blue Resort.

We booked directly through the resort, as we also encouraged our wedding guests to book there. None of our guests reported problems with their bookings. The staff were friendly, accommodating and even placed us in a 2 bedroom apartment for the same price as a 1 bedroom because we were the bride and groom. Unfortunately, their attitude didn’t quite stay the same throughout the duration of our stay.

Our wedding party and guests didn’t quite feel 4.5 star enough for the resort. The first day we passed some foreign guests carrying their bike in towards the lifts. The reception staff gave them a hard time, sounded quite rude, saying that kind of behaviour was not fitting to a 4.5 star resort, and that they should have gone around back and into the car park and caught the lifts from there. I understand their point, but a polite “next time could you please enter with the bike through the car park” would have been enough. My new father-in-law got a lecture when passing through reception because they thought he was drinking alcohol, and when they wouldn’t believe it was soft drink, he had to pull the can from the stubby holder to prove it. There was no apology; they just went back to what they were doing. This was his first holiday at a “fancy” resort and he was quite embarrassed. One of our friends’ rooms was a little rowdy on the first night and got a knock on the door from their neighbour. They quietened down and apologised, but unfortunately, the neighbour had noise problems with the guests who’d checked out the night before. Thinking it was the same people from the past week, he complained to reception in the morning. Instead of speaking with the guests in the room in question, or even calling us, reception felt compelled to call ALL our wedding guests (including our parents and family) about the room and event the night before, and threaten to kick all of us out if there were any more complaints about any of the rooms, wedding or not. I was furious, but had our wedding in three days time, so rather than taking up the issue, I let it go and avoided the staff for the remainder of our stay.

Aside from the issues above, the rest of our stay was wonderful. The rooms are large, well appointed, bright and airy. Each apartment has a different owner so the fittings can vary, but they are all still modern and clean. The balconies have huge glass sliding doors and wonderful views. Our room was excellent, with a leather couch, LCD TV and step in shower, rather than the annoying (and dangerous if you ask me) spa bath/shower setup. Most other rooms however have a ‘standard’ fitting package, but are still quite comfortable. All apartments are actually 2-3 bedrooms, so if you book a 1 bedroom you’ll be told to not open the doors to the extra room and ensuite and if you do, you’ll be charged for the extra room for the duration of your stay.

The upstairs pool and BBQ area is beautiful, even if it gets a little windy, the view is worth it. There was a spa, but unfortunately it was damaged in recent weather and was being repaired.

A thing to note if you’re travelling in a group, each room key only gives you lift access to the roof, reception and your floor, so it can be annoying to meet up or visit each other.

So overall it was a lovely stay and I would recommend the resort to others. Just make sure you act “4.5 star” at all times around the staff.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saileyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I stayed in the Penthouse Apartment at this resort for two nights in January with my family, including my 6 week old niece. I'm aware that the apartments in this resort are privately owned so can only speak for the apartment that we stayed in but I cann't speak highly enough of it. The resort itself is a short stroll to the beautiful beach making it very convenient for a beach holiday. The apartment was absolutely stunning, enourmous, spacious and very clean. There was a balcony running around the entireity of the apartment which was very large and being on the 11th floor afforded us stunning views of the glasshouse mountains and the nearby beach. The apartment was very modern with a roomy kitchen attached to one of the living areas and comfortable sofas and chairs and dining table. There were three bathrooms in the apartment which was very handy with five adults! One of the bathrooms had a lovely spa bath and the rest of the bathrooms all had lovely shower/baths. The rooftop pool was absolutely beautiful, very large with an equal depth throughout and being heated meant you could easily spend hours just relaxing there, looking out over the beach. There are two jacuzzi areas and a sauna and these were just delightful to relax in. The staff were very helpful, overall I could not fault this resort. I will certainly be staying here on future visits to Caloundra and highly recommend it to others staying in the area.

  • Liked — Pool, location.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claireybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

A long overdue short family holiday very much anticipated.
We received a phone call on our mobile about half an hour from our hotel from staff advising us that the office was closed but advised us where the key would be upon our arrival which was fair enough.
However they then proceeded to mention they could not acccomodate us with our original booking which was a 2 bedroom, evelated position, ocean view suite but infact we were now going to be placed in a 3 bedroom.
I thought wow this is nice of them to upgrade us considering they could not accomodate us with our original booking. However when I probed further and asked were we still in an elevated position with a balcony and ocean view I was advised its location was actually positioned on the ' back side' (appropriate) of the building with a 'partial water view', that we were now placed on the first floor!!! (What'!) and that if we were to use the third bedroom we would be charged for its useage! ...(excuse me??? isnt a hotel supposed to accomodate guests rather that down grade them and have the audacity to threaten to charge them extra when it is they who have made the wrong???...
Once off the phone I explained this to my husband who is driving and not feeling very accomodated we call them back advising of our disappointment. We advised them how much we were so looking forward to our break, that whenever we go away we always book an ocean view room with balcony and hoped they could help us as that is what we had booked anyway. We are told that is the only room available and basically thats what you get when you book 'wotif.com'. We were floored with that response. Note to self ALWAYS call hotel prior to booking to make sure you get what you pay for.
As you can imagine we get there a little sceptical. Upon walk ing into our 1st floor room we are greeted by a lovely birdseye view of a massive power pole directly infront off of our balcony when we open the curtains (no wonder the curtains were closed). Again we are disappointed, it looks like spaghetti theres so many wires protruding and its SO close. Isnt that a health hazard?... Along with that there is a beautiful view of fish n chip shops etc and a permanent aroma of raw fish escalating from the takeaway store below... mmm how lucky are we! :) Furthermore there is an owner/occurpier playing 'doof doof' music directly above until all hours of the night... so we learn. OMG! Terrific, so glad we've paid money to stay here!
Besides that the partial 'water view' was just that, if you had binoculars and walked around the side of the balcony and stretched out to look between the buildings infront obstructing the view it was just that, a water view no bigger than a 50 cent stamp.
The balcony itself not useable as the airconditioning unit blasted hot air right across the entire area where you would be seated and so loud you'd have to yell to hear each other so unless you wanted to do that and to be blasted by hot air constantly on a very hot night in December in Queensland its probably what you would consider not quite adequate :)
Our first night was restless, although this mainly due to the doof doof music above us. The manager ends up going across the road at midnite (he tells us the next day) to consider how loud it is, to which he finally gets our party boy neighbour and 50 friends to tone it down. In speaking to management the next day to try and move to accomodation that we had initally booked it seemed since our stay was not as long as others we feel that they couldnt be bothered accomodating us elsewhere as there would be room cleaning costs etc in placing us elsewhere, being a cost to them.
In consideration of the rooms themselves, they are lovely and spacious and the kids loved their room too. We didnt find them crammed at all....and of course we did not touch the third bedroom as we had to sign a separate form confirming if it we used it we would pay!.
The pool on the roof was great, we all enjoyed that and spent the majority of our time there. Infact that was one of the main reasons we had booked to stay there...along with the reviews prior to booking...hmmm. We knew the kids would love it along with my husband and I having a beautiful view to enjoy (so we thought) while we sit out on the balcony and have a cocktail once the kids had gone to bed...easy mum and dad time ...hmmmm.
In addition on our departure there was a staff member speaking very rudely to another guest who was also checking out who had difficulty understanding english. I found the lack of courtesy and respect appalling to this person so realised it universal in their poor appreciation of their guests during in my experience.
Anyway all I can say is that the facilites are good themselves, in the size of the rooms and the pool location however it was the care factor of the staff that disappointed us so much with regard to our booking. This being the case we certainly wont be going back there again and certainly will not recommend.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — no view, assigned poor room location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripawayx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We decided to take our young family to Caloundra to escape the Gold Coast Indy weekend at home (which is so NOT a family event). Unfortunately, we didn't check what else was on the social calendar and got a last-minute surprise to find that accommodation in Caloundra (and the surrounding areas) was booked out due to a very popular music festival.

After phoning numerous resorts (and being told by Caloundra tourism that there was absolutely nothing north of Caboolture and south of Mooloolaba) we decided to jump in the car and just wing it. On the way, I contacted Pumicestone Blue resort on the recommendation of another hotel. Lucky us, we secured the last room!

For $176 we got a 2-brm/2bth apartment (no. 205) on the 2nd level - not great value by my reckoning, but beggars can't be choosers! A view of the carpark and a construction site was the only significant negative - I believe some of the apartments could have very good views of the Pumicestone Passage. The apartment was quite spacious - queen master bedroom with ensuite and a second bedroom with 2 x single beds ensuited to the main bathroom, which included a spa bath. The apartment was self-contained (including laundry vestibule), with two small balconies and was well-equipped for an extended stay, though we were only there overnight.

The apartments are individually owned and furnished, so you are really at the mercy of the landlord. Ours was mostly satisfactory (but nothing special) with a couple of exceptions: a broken blind in the master bedroom, the woeful pillows which felt as if they were stuffed with cotton wool and the benchtop ironing board - fine for overnight but not up to the job of an extended stay. Note, however, that the apartment fittings, in general, are decent quality eg. Hansa/Fowler bathware, stone benchtops in kitchen and bathrooms, sisal carpeting throughout (though tiles/timber is preferable for beach holidays in Qld).

I found the bathrooms spotless and modern, only downsides being the water pressure (a bit on the low side) and the frugal toiletries on offer (soap and shampoo & conditioner; no tissues, no shower caps).

The complex was well-maintained with basic facilities, such as rooftop pool (which offers a spectacular view of Pumicestone Passage) and a gym room which we didn't see. Not sure why it is billed as a "resort" as it is really an apartment complex. Undercover parking was strictly allocated at one vehicle per unit and a bit of a tight squeeze, but adequate.

The resort's location is at the base of Bulcock Street (slight incline, so no worries there), and is handy to the beaches, weekend market, a number of restaurants and the Stockland Shopping Centre. Unfortunately, the selection of restaurants in Caloundra is nothing to get excited about, so you may have to venture further afield, anyway.

On the whole, the complex was satisfactory, but by no means outstanding. I wouldn't call it 4 1/2 star - more a 4 star that is very well kept. It isn't particularly family-friendly (no special facilities for kids) and isn't the sort of place you would escape to for a romantic getaway (better options elsewhere), but it is still adequate if you can get it for a good price.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and well-maintained complex.
  • Disliked — View of the carpark.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milily_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.1 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monaco
Monaco
#1 of 51 in Caloundra
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumicestone Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumicestone Blue Resort

Property: Pumicestone Blue Resort
Address: 111 Bulcock St, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pumicestone Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pumicestone Blue Caloundra Resort is the first landmark holiday building you see as you enter Caloundra's CBD. A first class locationoverlooking Pumicestone Passage and Bribie Island. Pumicestone Blue Resort is uniquely placed to take the advantage of Caloundra's superb location, within easy walking distance of beaches, cafes, restaurants, shops & clubs.Pumicestone Blue holiday-makers have privileged access to the 12th level rooftop sun terrace via two high-speed elevators. From there, you'll enjoy glorious 360 degree views that encompass the Pumicestone Passage, Bribie Island, Pacific Ocean and the Glass House Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pumicestone Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing