We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gardens, friendly management ,close to beach and cafes”
Review of Raintrees Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raintrees Resort
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My family booked two apartments for family get together. Both ground floor close to both pools on the site. Enjoyed the relaxed ambiance and environs. Our two bedroom unit was nice but the toilets were both upstairs. - slightly inconvenient. Otherwise great

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank helenc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Raintrees in September for 3 nights. There were 2 adults and 4 children and we booked a 3 bedroom apartment. On arrival, we were "greeted" at reception by a man (the manager I presume), whose first comment to us was "I hope there are not any more of you". Then we were advised that we had kept him waiting all afternoon re our check in time. (It was only around 4.45 when we got there). Finally, before being shown to our apartment we were advised to "make sure you keep it clean". Not a welcome at all, in fact it put a damper on our stay there.

The apartment - no 12 - was just lovely and obviously loved by the owners. It had a nice homey feel to it and was spacious and well supplied. Unfortunately we discovered the next morning that the dishwasher didn't work, and the man who had checked us in was aware of this, but didn't think to share with us.

The apartment had three bedrooms, large living area and kitchen. A patio off the front overlooking the rainforest, a patio off the main bedroom also looking over rainforest, and a courtyard at the back opening out to the pool area. The kids loved the slide in the pool and the BBQ Facilities were very good.

All in all, a beautiful resort, close to amenities but based on the zero customer service, I am not sure that I would stay there again.

When I went to check out, the manager's comment was "shame you are leaving today, the new dishwasher is coming"!! And that was that! This man had zero personality and would be better off working/managing a place where he doesn't have to talk to real people. I also feel sorry for the owner's of the apartments as they are losing business due to the manager's attitude.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault apartment 12 - and with the new dishwasher - all should be good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have stayed here numerous times since the 90s. The grounds are great and well kept. Location is good for a beach holiday. The units are a good size. However they are individually owned and vary enormously in the standard of fit out and up keep. Some are great, some average, some poor.

The one I last had had a lot of outstanding maintenance most of which could be easily fixed or cheaply replaced e.g. peeling paint on a bedroom ceiling, mould in very old prints, peeling veneer on a vanity, shower screens jammed, old crockery, curtains rails loose. This reluctance to repair and replace with new tired items really let down what could easily be a very pleasant unit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed at Raintress in October for 6 nights, Was fantastic we arrived early and lady in the office happily gave us our keys early.. We had our children with us and they enjoyed the swimming pool , beach and playgrounds nearby. We enjoyed every part of it, Quite peaceful family place to stay.. Will will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

When we first arrived, we were greeted by a rude and unfriendly manager and then had to wait 15 minutes to get into our room because we had been given the wrong keys and few instructions. We had only one car park for a 3 bedroom apartment and even though it was half full, they wouldn't allow the second car to park underneath resulting in a parking fine in wet weather. We had to pay for more toilet paper, with only 2 rolls supplied for seven people for 3 nights. The staff were rude and called us "You people". The manager was rude to my brother because he picked up a flower off the front desk. It was right next to an un-patrolled dog beach not suitable for swimming in.I don't suggest you go there if you have children or even if you don't. We had a bad experience which ruined the whole holiday. Go to Shearwater Resort at Kings beach instead.

Room Tip: Don't go at all. The rooms were motel quality with rock-hard beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isobel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Loved it This resort was the best I have stayed in for a very long time. It was very clean and the maintenance was great, Short walk to the beach/shops/BBQ's and another plus was the underground parking under security.
The unit was very spacious new appliances were new and Management and staff were very friendly I WILL be going back to this Resort.
Thank You Gold Coast Holidays for the referal to this resort and NO Myra you canot have our Trike : )
Thank You best regards
Kerry & Jenny Whitehead

Room Tip: I could not advise of room choice we had unit 21 I am very fussy with rooms I stay in, this Resort p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were not impressed with Raintrees. The accommodation was in much need of upgrade. Paint cracking, fans falling apart, dishwasher barely working, fridge door didn't shut properly, curtains falling off hinges, bed terribly lumpy, lights of poor quality. The waterslide was great for our little boy and he had a lovely time there. THe alarm was set for midnight on the first night and woke us all up and when I complained the manager shrugged and said that it intimated that it regularly happens (so check that they's off)! All in all I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
1.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.1 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
260 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Sebel Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
881 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raintrees Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raintrees Resort

Address: Raintrees Resort 1 Bryce St | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raintrees Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raintrees on Moffat consists of two and three bedroom spacious well appointed apartments with absolute beachfront access and no road to cross, making it an exceptional holiday destination in Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia. One of the best surf beaches in Caloundra on the Sunshine Coast, beautiful Moffat beach is only metres away. Raintrees is nestled amongst two acres of lush natural rainforest, this combined with safe lake swimming, makes Raintrees on Moffat the unique Caloundra, Sunshine Coast holiday accommodation. Why not sit back and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Raintrees, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. All you could wish for in the perfect getaway with rainforest, beach, and places to eat out within easy walking distance. Our main pool has a water slide and is heated to around 27C degrees. Once you have arrived you just will not want to leave. Many of our guests continue to come back year after year. FACILITIES  2 Beautiful Rockpools - a great place to relax and catch the winter or summer sun  1 Heated with 8m Waterslide & Spa - just what the kids require all year round  Undercover security parking  2 covered BBQ areas with outdoor furniture  Resident managers, Ian and Kerry Tuena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raintrees Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing