We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raintrees Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Raintrees Resort
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have just recently stayed at Raintrees for my forth year in a row and it always lives up to my expectations but I wanted to make special mention of the amazing job the new management team - the lovely Kerry and her family - are doing. They are warm, friendly, professional and did everything they could to make my family's visit easy and pleasurable. I love everything about this place and it is fantastic for families with small children. Of course, I will return next year!!! Anne B

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sprinklelive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Raintree the w/e of the tough mudder challenge 2013. The staff at reception were polite, and friendly (despite our late check in) and very helpful in regards to parking (take note 4wds over 1.8 m will not fit in the undercover car park). However, we found a good park around the back of the property and found this to be just as convenient.
The location of Raintrees in the real winner, with easy access to the beach via a well formed path, and a short walk to shops and cafes (check out the espresso bar opposite the playground).
The 3 bedroom townhouse, had ocean views, modern amenities and funky decor. The kids particularly liked the heated pool and waterslide. Our only recommendation for the owner, would be a manual to operate the washing machine and dryer, as my year 8 german is a little rusty!
A well priced , family friendly resort, that begs for our return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 37 has ocean views :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at Raintrees 2 or 3 years ago and found the townhouse really spacious and well designed, and above all excellent value for money. I think we paid about $160 per night for a 2 bed 2 bath townhouse. We liked the warm pool and the beach (unfortunately the weather was not very good but nothing much you can do about that !). We are booked again for Sep/Oct and really looking forward to it. We are in a 3br ground floor (safer for the little one) and close to the pool. Will review again afterwards and see how it is.

Room Tip: Apparently number 37 has the best views (but I preferred to have a ground floor apartment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have stayed at raintrees over the years and our kids were so happy going from beach to heated pool. Especially with the fun slide, they had a ball and called it there second home. So safe and private it's a secret haven right beside the best surf beach on the coast. We had some rain in february/march but the undercover car park made things easier. You don't need a car really, everything you need is in walking distance. New management are great and really friendly.

Room Tip: Unit 16 faces the beach and you don't have to cross a road to get to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karencaulfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My family booked two apartments for family get together. Both ground floor close to both pools on the site. Enjoyed the relaxed ambiance and environs. Our two bedroom unit was nice but the toilets were both upstairs. - slightly inconvenient. Otherwise great

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank helenc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Raintrees in September for 3 nights. There were 2 adults and 4 children and we booked a 3 bedroom apartment. On arrival, we were "greeted" at reception by a man (the manager I presume), whose first comment to us was "I hope there are not any more of you". Then we were advised that we had kept him waiting all afternoon re our check in time. (It was only around 4.45 when we got there). Finally, before being shown to our apartment we were advised to "make sure you keep it clean". Not a welcome at all, in fact it put a damper on our stay there.

The apartment - no 12 - was just lovely and obviously loved by the owners. It had a nice homey feel to it and was spacious and well supplied. Unfortunately we discovered the next morning that the dishwasher didn't work, and the man who had checked us in was aware of this, but didn't think to share with us.

The apartment had three bedrooms, large living area and kitchen. A patio off the front overlooking the rainforest, a patio off the main bedroom also looking over rainforest, and a courtyard at the back opening out to the pool area. The kids loved the slide in the pool and the BBQ Facilities were very good.

All in all, a beautiful resort, close to amenities but based on the zero customer service, I am not sure that I would stay there again.

When I went to check out, the manager's comment was "shame you are leaving today, the new dishwasher is coming"!! And that was that! This man had zero personality and would be better off working/managing a place where he doesn't have to talk to real people. I also feel sorry for the owner's of the apartments as they are losing business due to the manager's attitude.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault apartment 12 - and with the new dishwasher - all should be good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have stayed here numerous times since the 90s. The grounds are great and well kept. Location is good for a beach holiday. The units are a good size. However they are individually owned and vary enormously in the standard of fit out and up keep. Some are great, some average, some poor.

The one I last had had a lot of outstanding maintenance most of which could be easily fixed or cheaply replaced e.g. peeling paint on a bedroom ceiling, mould in very old prints, peeling veneer on a vanity, shower screens jammed, old crockery, curtains rails loose. This reluctance to repair and replace with new tired items really let down what could easily be a very pleasant unit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
1.3 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.1 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raintrees Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raintrees Resort

Property: Raintrees Resort
Address: 1 Bryce St | Moffat Beach, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raintrees Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raintrees on Moffat consists of two and three bedroom spacious well appointed apartments with absolute beachfront access and no road to cross, making it an exceptional holiday destination in Caloundra, Sunshine Coast, Australia. One of the best surf beaches in Caloundra on the Sunshine Coast, beautiful Moffat beach is only metres away. Raintrees is nestled amongst two acres of lush natural rainforest, this combined with safe lake swimming, makes Raintrees on Moffat the unique Caloundra, Sunshine Coast holiday accommodation. Why not sit back and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Raintrees, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. All you could wish for in the perfect getaway with rainforest, beach, and places to eat out within easy walking distance. Our main pool has a water slide and is heated to around 27C degrees. Once you have arrived you just will not want to leave. Many of our guests continue to come back year after year. FACILITIES  2 Beautiful Rockpools - a great place to relax and catch the winter or summer sun  1 Heated with 8m Waterslide & Spa - just what the kids require all year round  Undercover security parking  2 covered BBQ areas with outdoor furniture  Resident managers, Ian and Kerry Tuena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Raintrees Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing