We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy customer!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a happy customer!!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I booked back in may as I had my wedding at salt water @ kings in caloundra! Little did I know for an extra $40 I could of had a pent house! Not one of the staff told me this when booking! As for value for money the tv in the 3 bedroom ocean view was nothing more than a crappy tv that I had 15 years ago! Not one non smoking sign on the balcony and we were told off for smoking well if I had of known we couldn't smoke I would defiinately not had stayed! It's my freakin wedding I will probably need a ciggie or two! I was not happy with the service or how imformative the stuck up staff are! the location is the only thing this place has going for it! It's the loudest echoiest place you will ever stay at! For the price really have a look around caloundra there are plenty of self contained accommodation that are half the price and just as good! My mum was going to stay at rolling surf for 4 nights it was going to cost her 1000 bucks but did some research mum got a beautiful place looking over the ocean for a week for $550! Caloundra is gorgeous but rolling surf is not! Will never go back or recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trishw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Hi Trish, thank you for your review we always appreciate any feedback we receive from guests.

We realise that on your wedding day it can be an extremely stressful day, but we pride ourselves on our professionalism. We feel that we catered to your every need to make your day special. We met and escorted on numerous occasions, not only your friends right to your door, but also your hair dresser, bouquet maker, jeweller, photographer and the video recorder, so we did not disturb your routine for your special day.

In regards to your comments about smoking, it is clearly stated on our website that our complex is smoke free and when you came to check in it was stated and highlighted on the registration form you filled out and signed. It was also written and highlighted a third time on the information form and car park map you were given when you arrived.

When you came down to reception, yelling and screaming and cussing at the staff member about the TV; your feedback was happily accepted and as we informed you on the day, we have contacted the owner and the issue is being rectified.

Once again, we thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    90
    35
    18
    13
See reviews for
147
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Great all round accommodation. We are a family of 5 with grandma along too made us 6. The 2 bed apt was adequate.

3 kids under 6 all of us vegetarian so we need self catering. The kitchen was well equipped and served us very well.

The location means that without a car its a long trek to the supermarket. But the upside being that the ocean is less than 100m fron the door.

Watch out for extortionate and crap coffee vendor at the front of the complex. Sea Salt, I dont think $4:50 for a flat white is justified even at the best venues. If you want to charge top whack at least take a Barrista course.

All up its a great little holiday spot though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Good Morning Toby P
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us here at The Rolling Surf Resort. We always appreciate receiving such positive comments from guests.

Here at the Rolling Surf Resort we take pride in being the only complete ocean front resort in Caloundra; with no parks or roads to cross to access the golden sands and pristine waters of Kings Beach.

In regards to your comments about the cafe Saltwater, they are externaly managed, but I am sure they would appreciate any feedback customers would like to give. You can contact them via their website. www.saltwateratkings.com

We hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Anne Fredericks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Had a great stay, room was great, had a great view. Was perfect for the family. Only neg was that we didn't realise there was a rooftop balcony until our last day. No one told us about the balcony nor were there any signs. We would have made much use of the huge balcony with the bbq, sauna if we had known it was there as we were there for a week!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle1975_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We've stayed here 5 times now because you can't beat the location, being steps away from the beach. It really is worth paying the extra to have sea view!

Room Tip: apartment no.8 has the best view for a 3 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This was a spare of the moment trip away in the middle of winter, we booked direct with the resort via email and phone and got a great price.

We specifically wanted an apartment in the "front" section of the Resort to have great views of the beach and ocean and we were very happy with it. Loved watching the ships pass by in the ocean. By the way the main shipping channel is not too far out to sea from Caloundra, we took our binoculars so had an even better view!

The check-in was quick with friendly staff. Parking under the complex was easy and secure.

The apartment was clean and spacious, with modern contemporary furnishings, with the exception of the second bedroom where our adult son slept. It was small, just fitted the 2 single beds and separated by sliding shutter doors from the living area.

Open living area was roomy with leather lounges, flat screen TV, DVD, Hi Fi system, and Austar. The main bedroom had a flat screen TV also.

Kitchen had everything we needed, including a dishwasher. Everything appeared to be well maintained. Spa bath in the main bathroom wasn't the biggest we've seen, but still good to relax.

A small balcony, but then Rolling Surf Resort was built a number of years ago, the rear section a little "younger" It's been recently renovated, and the pool area although not large was adequate. With the beach and surf out front and the weather cold, we didn't need to use it anyway.

We chose to go in the off season as the accommodation is cheaper and it was much quieter with only a few of the apartments occupied.

A family with young children moved in above us on the afternoon before our departure the next morning and we could hear them talking/yelling etc and screeching the chairs across the tiles. Luckily they went to bed early.

As we like quiet accommodation I don't think I'd consider any apartment block at Kings Beach or Bullcock Beach during peak times. Great for young families though.

We've visited Caloundra numerous times over a very long period of time, and it has changed so much especially in the last 10 years. It's certainly not the sleepy little beach town it once was.

Overall a relaxing stay, great views of the ocean, spacious clean apartment, and easy access to everything.

Room Tip: Choose the 2 or 3 bedroom apartments in the block right on the beach for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lifetravellerbrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We only stayed for 3 nights but were very impressed. We stayed in a rooftop 1 bedroom and had our own roof section with bbq/spa/sauna and awesome views, the same from our balcony. The bed was so comfortable and falling asleep to the ocean waves was amazing.
The staff were very friendly. The only thing we would recommend is a newer television like a flat screen (was an old box tele, didn't seem to fit in with the style) although in saying that it wasn't turned on much as we were listening to the ocean :). thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: The best one bedroom rooftop is in the middle between the two front buildings awesome ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, FL
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was our 2nd time at this resort. As far as I could tell it's the only one that is absolute beachfront where you can walk straight out of the resort onto the beach. We had the rooftop 2 bedroom oceanfront so the view was great. The cargo ships pass by surprisingly close to shore. There's a very accommodating surf shop a few blocks back where you can rent surfboards, boogey boards, etc. and surf either Kings Beach or Happy Valley close by. The pool is huge and there's an arcade for kids. The things I would change are the shutters which are a poor choice since they block the gorgeous view, and the fact that the doors aren't sealed so there's quite a draft that blows through there which wastes a lot of AC/heat .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Property: Rolling Surf Resort
Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing