We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling surf ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rolling surf ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great family Accomodation. Would only choose ocean front or pool access. If staying in a flat at the back. You may as well stay back a few blocks (where it's cheaper). Wonderful access to beach (not even a road to cross) & great post-surf shower facilities etc. Can sit on the veranda & hear the surf breaking or watch the ships pass (esp beautiful at night). Good kitchen facilities - easy cooking & cleaning. Pool is FABULOUS. Huge (though it gets crowded with families) & varied in depth. There's a shortage of seating & space around the pool discouraging just sub baking - most families come, swim & leave. Good coffee available nearby.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    86
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
142
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second time here and although we love the location, it will probably be our last.

There is no incentive for booking in advance as wot if offer great last minute deals which the resort won't match if you've booked early.

I booked a room for 1 adult and 2 children but the room consisted of two double beds. My children are a bit too old to be sleeping together so we decided one would sleep in the sofa bed only to discover the sofa bed had great big bike lock on it.

The air con did not work at all. Not even a little bit. And light and power switches in the kitchen and spare bedroom gave us electrical shocks.

Overall a disappointing experience considering the cost but can't fault the location.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here as a family and found it the perfect choice for a mixed age group. The location right on the beach was fantastic as we could just come and go without having to stay at the beach all day. The older children could easily go back to the apartment when they tired of our company. The apartment had very thing we needed except a corkscrew. The rooftop balcony was the best feature as it provided space to relax. It has a BBQ, outdoor table and fridge was so perfect for relaxed dinners. The ever changing view of the passing boats was amazing. The only thing we didn't like was the temperature of the so called heated pool. It was quite cold at times.

Room Tip: If traveling with the family choose a room with rooftop balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This family friendly resort is a great place to see through Christmas & the New Year. The location does not get any better and the management are friendly and happy to oblige.

Yes, some of the units are showing their age but it is still great value for such a magnificant spot. Great pools, hot sauna and a gym that is useable.

Still believe it is the top stop in Caloundra.

Room Tip: Ocean view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 236solas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The 3-bedroom unit is large and we had a nice ocean view and large balcony. Great location on the beach and cafes and restaurants close by. The pool is huge and kept the kids entertained for hours. The complex is quite large and positioned around the pool so the noise from the pool did carry up to the bedrooms. Our unit was showing the signs of age with wooden shutters and blinds not shutting properly. Not cheap for what it is, but would keep it on the Caloundra accommodation list.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived mid afternoon on a family trip from New South Wales to Queensland. Checking in was s l o w. The front counter seemed flustered by the previous clients and somewhat confused. There was no happy, professional welcome, just some rather invasive forms thrust at us and this was after we'd already been waiting for five minutes. Parking is at a premium and it was a worry that the potential of half a dozen car parks in driveway were take up by a single car that had arrived 20 minutes before (but been held up by invasive forms, poor customer service and dazed staff) with the dad unpacking the roof racks there rather than being directed to the very nice and extremely spacious underground car park. Anyway we got to the car park and finally got to our rooms.

Wow, it is an older establishment that has recently been given a very professional touch up really refreshing it. Our two bedroom apt was on the top floor with a terrific view. The furnishing are a bit on the tired side and when we first tried the bed... oh dear this is going to be a problem, but it really wasn't. It was a terrific mattress, great nights sleep. The bathroom was more than adequate but it had a whirlpool tub in the middle of the lounge room ... odd, but behind screens so not invasive, just ... odd.

Security was excellent, swipe cards for door and garage access.

Heaps of great little restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity along with a bunch of other hotels, eateries and bars and all of Kings Beach.

I'd certainly stay there again. Not too flash nothing pretentious, I'd just like to see the front counter staff put through a refresher course on how to treat the paying guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salt on Kings Apartments
Salt on Kings Apartments
#1 of 1 in Kings Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Property: Rolling Surf Resort
Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing