We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family resort”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This resort has everything at your fingertips. Ocean views of beautiful kings beach, pool right near your room so you can supervise the kids and a variety of eating places. Kids are happy - you are happy!!! I loved the challenging walk along the coast and the variety of swimming places. Also surf club a short walk away. A must for any family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed your time here at the Rolling Surf Resort and made the most of the wonderful outdoor activities on offer at Kings Beach and in Caloundra. We would love to welcome your family back again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    87
    35
    18
    13
See reviews for
145
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great complex. We stayed in room 48 on the second floor and had sea views through the gap between the two front buildings. It is above the games room, one night it was noisy from a big group that had about 12 kids running around but I would say that was an exception. Beach access is great. Having stayed at other parts of Australia I wouldn't revisit Coloundra but it was a great place to stay for Australia Zoo. We went to underwater world at Maloolaba while we were here and a trip up to Noosa.

The rooms are big and spacious. We had two bathrooms and a spa bath. We choose view over pool access although either room position is fine. The rooms are clean but show signs of being by the sea with rust on the fridge and other areas that have metal. But cleanliness is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review on the Rolling Surf Resort. It sounds like you enjoyed our resort and the facilities on offer. We are a great location for exploring other parts of the Sunshine Coast like Mooloolaba, Noosa, Australia Zoo and the beautiful hinterland towns of Maleny and Montville. We appreciate you mentioning the rust on the fridge and the owner has since replaced this with a new one. Due to our beach front location appliances and other metal items do rust quickly! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights recently. Paid extra for rooftop to have BBQs but BBQ only worked once. We had to ring reception every day to see what is happening as the BBQ got taken away. Very disappointing as we had bought lots of food to cook and sit up on the rooftop. I have since contacted rolling surf a week ago to discuss as no discount was offered and they have not returned my call. A big disappointment and would never stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Aus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just back from a five night stay. Location is sensational, pool is really great and direct access to the beach all big plus'. However overall our two rooms were in poor condition, examples include...leaking toilet, oven did not work, wash basin in ensuite not connected [its falling out of the vanity], our double bed squeaked very badly, strange odour in foyers, room not clean hair everywhere.
The location warrants the premium rates charged but this is let down by the poor standards. And very strict rules about everything - example foldaway bed in the room has a chain lock.
Shame, but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ACH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here for a week,excellent family holiday location,beautiful views,pool and parking perfect,friendly staff but needs a little bit of money spent on beds and bedding as they were tired,ironing board was awful and maybe umbrellas and extra poolside furniture especially with the money being spent on accomodation.

Will stay again though

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great family Accomodation. Would only choose ocean front or pool access. If staying in a flat at the back. You may as well stay back a few blocks (where it's cheaper). Wonderful access to beach (not even a road to cross) & great post-surf shower facilities etc. Can sit on the veranda & hear the surf breaking or watch the ships pass (esp beautiful at night). Good kitchen facilities - easy cooking & cleaning. Pool is FABULOUS. Huge (though it gets crowded with families) & varied in depth. There's a shortage of seating & space around the pool discouraging just sub baking - most families come, swim & leave. Good coffee available nearby.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This is our second time here and although we love the location, it will probably be our last.

There is no incentive for booking in advance as wot if offer great last minute deals which the resort won't match if you've booked early.

I booked a room for 1 adult and 2 children but the room consisted of two double beds. My children are a bit too old to be sleeping together so we decided one would sleep in the sofa bed only to discover the sofa bed had great big bike lock on it.

The air con did not work at all. Not even a little bit. And light and power switches in the kitchen and spare bedroom gave us electrical shocks.

Overall a disappointing experience considering the cost but can't fault the location.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
0.8 mi away
Watermark Resort
Watermark Resort
#6 of 16 in Caloundra
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Property: Rolling Surf Resort
Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing