We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but very tired and in need of some TLC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, but very tired and in need of some TLC.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Fantastic location and clean, but the hotel is very tired. The hotel has been well worn by families and is in need of some TLC urgently. Missing tiles on the facade, missing tiles in the pool, and generally shabby appearance. Appliances (washing machine and drier) that are old and noisy. We also had to make a choice at times as to whether we watched TV or had the air con on as it was very noisy (think 737 taking off). The mattresses have well and truly had it and the ceiling fans only worked on 2 of the 3 settings.

Fantastic location,but......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Simon,
Thanks for taking the time to review the Rolling Surf Resort.
The resort had an extensive refurbishment only a few years ago which included a facelift to the outside of the building. We also refurbished the apartments, however being beside the ocean can take its toll especially on appliances. We encourage all guests to report any problems they have whilst staying so we can rectify these as soon as possible. The air conditioning is serviced twice a year and we have an air conditioning technician on call so if we were made aware that there was an issue with your air conditioning we could have had this looked at very quickly so your stay would have been more enjoyable. As we don't personally sleep on the beds or use the washing machine/dryer we appreciate guests letting us know if there is a problem so we can look into replacements. Even though you didn't report these issues to reception during your stay, hopefully you completed the feedback/suggested maintenance form given on departure so these things could be looked at for the next guests.
We are pleased you enjoyed our great location right on Kings Beach! Thanks again for your feedback.
Rolling Surf Resort Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    86
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
142
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elanora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A very happy returning customer! You just can't beat the location, no streets to cross to arrive at the beautiful beach, sand is virtually at your front door. Views incredible!!
Management as always very friendly, courteous and very happy to oblige any requests. Our 3 bed unit was very spacious and relaxing to stay in. The pool is clean and refreshing and the children just love it. I must say I love the new exercise machine! Keep up the good work Rolling Surf!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia04_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and that you keep coming back to us for your holidays! Our management and staff pride themselves on offering friendly, helpful service and appreciate your comments on this.
The facilities and apartment size's are certainly perfect for family's and it sounds like your Children make the most of our 60m heated swimming pool!
We look forward to having you stay again soon.
Rolling Surf Resort Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last week, we had a ocean front 2 bedroom suite on the second level.

Wow, what a great room with one of the best views in Caloundra, staff are friendly and helpful and the room was spotless.

We had a small problem with the icemaker, it was fixed within the hour.

The surf club is a short walk away and there is a very tasty coffee shop under the complex, great for breakfast.

cheers
We will booking again in the next few months, thank you for a very relaxing few days.

Room Tip: Ocean front room is the best option, unless you want poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your holiday! The view from the apartment you stayed in is beautiful and such a lovely outlook to remind you your really on a beach holiday! We always appreciate our guests letting us know if they have any problems during there stay as most of the time we can have these things fixed quickly so they don't impact on your holiday in any way.
We look forward to having you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This resort has everything at your fingertips. Ocean views of beautiful kings beach, pool right near your room so you can supervise the kids and a variety of eating places. Kids are happy - you are happy!!! I loved the challenging walk along the coast and the variety of swimming places. Also surf club a short walk away. A must for any family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It sounds like you and your family really enjoyed your time here at the Rolling Surf Resort and made the most of the wonderful outdoor activities on offer at Kings Beach and in Caloundra. We would love to welcome your family back again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great complex. We stayed in room 48 on the second floor and had sea views through the gap between the two front buildings. It is above the games room, one night it was noisy from a big group that had about 12 kids running around but I would say that was an exception. Beach access is great. Having stayed at other parts of Australia I wouldn't revisit Coloundra but it was a great place to stay for Australia Zoo. We went to underwater world at Maloolaba while we were here and a trip up to Noosa.

The rooms are big and spacious. We had two bathrooms and a spa bath. We choose view over pool access although either room position is fine. The rooms are clean but show signs of being by the sea with rust on the fridge and other areas that have metal. But cleanliness is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review on the Rolling Surf Resort. It sounds like you enjoyed our resort and the facilities on offer. We are a great location for exploring other parts of the Sunshine Coast like Mooloolaba, Noosa, Australia Zoo and the beautiful hinterland towns of Maleny and Montville. We appreciate you mentioning the rust on the fridge and the owner has since replaced this with a new one. Due to our beach front location appliances and other metal items do rust quickly! Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights recently. Paid extra for rooftop to have BBQs but BBQ only worked once. We had to ring reception every day to see what is happening as the BBQ got taken away. Very disappointing as we had bought lots of food to cook and sit up on the rooftop. I have since contacted rolling surf a week ago to discuss as no discount was offered and they have not returned my call. A big disappointment and would never stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Aus
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just back from a five night stay. Location is sensational, pool is really great and direct access to the beach all big plus'. However overall our two rooms were in poor condition, examples include...leaking toilet, oven did not work, wash basin in ensuite not connected [its falling out of the vanity], our double bed squeaked very badly, strange odour in foyers, room not clean hair everywhere.
The location warrants the premium rates charged but this is let down by the poor standards. And very strict rules about everything - example foldaway bed in the room has a chain lock.
Shame, but would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ACH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salt on Kings Apartments
Salt on Kings Apartments
#1 of 1 in Kings Beach
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
570 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sails Resort on Golden Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Property: Rolling Surf Resort
Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing