We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rolling Surf Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The family and i had such a good stay here, clean and open appartment with great views and everything we needed plua more. Right on the beach. And the reception staff were lovely. Cannot wait to come back!!!
Teisha, Jake and Kaylie :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed with our 2 children and thoroughly enjoyed our Sunshine Coast vacation. Upon arrival we were welcomed by friendly reception staff. Our room was perfect size and in a clean and maintained state. The pool is area is amazing and with the beach just across the way, kids were very happy. Lots of activities in walking distance either left or right of the resort along the pathways. Fish'n'Chips and other food options are available just below the resort, very convenient if you don't feel like cooking. We will definitely be back and didn't want our family holiday to end.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked on line which sometimes can be hit and miss as to quality of the room, but Rolling Surf did not dissappoint us as everything was spectacular. Had 2 bedroom apartment poolside with glimpses of the ocean. The room was well decked out - clean and bonus of comfortable beds. it is short walk to beach and restaurants and coffee shops. For the us the location was perfect and we had undercover parking as well.

Room Tip: The hotel advertisers free wifi but it is very limited and you would need to purchase extra which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GenG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We chose to stay at this resort for 5 nights, Booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were on a tight budget.

After seeing that it had a AAA Rating of 4 and and a half stars for the price we couldn't turn it down. The outside appearance of the resort is just lovely, and we were excited as we checked in.

Unfortunately we were however let down in a number of areas, Firstly and most importantly is the extra costs on top of the nightly rate, As standard they provide 4 towels for 4 people, if you want extra towels. $5 each

There is a charge for Beach towels, $6 per towel.

They provide 2 toilet rolls between 2 bathrooms, after they they charge you... Per roll..
Its the same deal with washing detergent for the dishwasher and washing machine, extra dish washing detergent is at 50c per satchel.

This may not sound like much but when you add it in to the nightly rate, it adds up, and as a family on a budget it just an expense that is not needed.

The room, we found was generally run down,

The room is tiled through out with floating floor boards near the balcony,

We found that there were loose floor tiles, and warn shabby floating floor boards.
*There were air vents near the spa that looked like they were falling out.
*The bed/Mattress felt like it was 20 years old, with springs that creaked and groaned and went "pop" in your back at night...
*The shower screen door was incredibly loud
*The door to the main bedroom was difficult to close, (Needs new rollers)

Most of the issues with the room are minor apart from the bed, but they add up to a poor experience. And the room is not what you would expect fom a 4.5 star AAA rated Resort.
My next point, I feel I need to mention is the NOISE, This place is situated right on the beach, you should in theory be able to hear the sound of the ocean. This is somewhat difficult at night due to the noise from what I would assume is the pool filter.

The rooms also Lack a Safe for valuables, and privacy in the spa is a concern when it opens out onto the lounge room..


Half way through our stay at about 10pm we had to call reception to complain about the neighbors in the apartment above... All we could hear was people either jumping or running, it was so loud it kept us and our daughter awake, it sounded like loud thumping. I Called reception I was on the phone for 15 minutes while they called the people in the apartment above.In the end I believe they sent security out, at which point the noise ceased.

Lastly the Pool is in a state of Disrepair, with SHARP and broken tiles throughout, At some points on the floor of the pool there are sandbags covering some of the missing tiles.

A previous reviewer stated that his daughter sliced her foot open,and it is easy to see how this could happen.



In Closing this place is a let down, Considering the above, left us wondering how they have a 4.5 star AAA Rating.

Note: I Would have given a terrible rating if it was not for the location, And my rating is given based on what you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel. At best I would rate this a 3 star hotel

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room before booking, Be aware of the added costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ITop_CatI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks for your review and feedback on your recent stay at the Rolling Surf Resort.

Our resort is self contained, self catering accommodation, as listed on our website.
On arrival guests are given a 'starter' pack containing toilet paper, shampoo, conditioner, soap, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, laundry powder, dish liquid and dishwasher powder. Once these supplies have run out it is up to the guests to purchase their own. We also have these items for sale at reception if only a small amount is needed. You will find this is standard in self contained accommodation and enables us to keep the accommodation prices lower.

We supply one towel per person staying, and if guests require additional towels these attract a small laundering fee of $2.00 per towel. We also have beach towels for hire from reception for a laundering fee of $5.00 per towel. All of this information, including information about storing valuable's in the reception safe, are listed in the 'in room' compendium.

We always encourage our guests to call down to reception if they have any issue's during the stay. We also provide a feedback/maintenance issue form on departure so guests can let us know about things like uncomfortable beds and the other maintenance issues you mentioned.
We did not receive any form's back from you, and no calls down to reception regarding any other problems during your stay. Unfortunately if we don't know there is a problem, we cannot fix it.
Our Body Corporate will be closing the swimming pool to repair the expansion joints in the near future and in the meantime measure's have been taken to ensure no body hurt's themselves on the popped tiles. This does mean there are sandbags at the bottom of the swimming pool, however we feel this is just a visual thing and enable's our guests to still enjoy the swimming pool until the repairs are completed.

We feel the Rolling Surf Resort offers great value for money, especially given we are the only absolute beach front resort in Kings Beach, and we offer great resort facilities with good sized apartments. We have great discounted special's for low season, which enable's those on a budget, like yourselves, to have a great beach holiday.

Regards,
Rolling Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a wonderful relaxing time we had here. The Apartment was appointed well and very clean. The staff were very good to deal with when required. We swam at the Beach most mornings (it was late April when we were there), and the kids just loved the Pools - they were amazing, very clean and a great place for the family to play together after a busy day on the Sunshine coast. We walked the Boardwalk most mornings, coming across many locals and nice Cafe's along the way if an early morning coffee is your thing. Caloundra is definitely the "Tidiest Town in Queensland". The Rolling Surf's location is perfect to experience all that the Sunshine coast has to offer.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Pools and looking out to the Beach is perfect - away from any street noices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandsonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Rolling Surf Resort. It sounds like you and your family made great use of the many activities and facilities on offer in Caloundra and at the Rolling Surf Resort. The Coffee Cat Cafe downstairs is very popular and we are lucky to have such a great choice of eateries right on our doorstep. Our 60m swimming pool is always popular with the kids and it certainly sounds like your children loved it! We hope you will return for another holiday with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Do yourself a favour and relax at this marvellous location right by the ocean with all amenities at your fingertips! I took my Mum for a mother-daughter weekend and found the 60min drive from Brisbane easy and picturesque. We had a swim in warm (23C) water in May! Then we looked up and saw the Rolling Surf Resort just behind where we enjoyed a coffee on the beach terrace cafe called Coffee Cat. I said I'd pop in and ask if they had a 2 bedroom apartment and without hesitation I was told we could have a free ocean view upgrade on the third floor, looking right over a huge expanse of coastline and white sandy beach. An immaculate well appointed secure apartment greeted us and we relaxed in the sun, watching all the swimmers, surfers, kayakers and joggers just below us. There is a huge pool if you prefer that. When we asked Reception for a nice place for dinner we were recommended to go to Domenico's a short walk down the esplanade. What a beautiful pergola restaurant overlooking the beach! It was such excellent Italian cuisine that we returned for brekky next day, and we were not disappointed. We were greeted like old friends. I will be returning for romance with my hubby soon for calm serenity by the ocean at Caloundra.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, but you could take a pool view for a cheaper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Champagne552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review regarding your recent stay at our resort! It sounds like you really enjoyed all the wonderful things Kings Beach have to offer and we are pleased you enjoyed the spectacular view from your ocean front apartment. Domenico's is a favourite of the staff here at the Rolling Surf Resort so we are pleased you also enjoyed it and that they are treating our guest's so well! We look forward to having you back again soon for another relaxing holiday.
From Rolling Surf Resort Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We only spent a short time here but we will be back. The greatest at Kings Beach, Caloundra. The staff are friendly and more than helpful, the resort is fabulous......great facilities and super kid friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hzcurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine26, Manager at Rolling Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Rolling Surf Resort. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful-this is important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
0.6 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
746 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gemini Resort
Gemini Resort
#7 of 16 in Caloundra
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
ULTIQA Shearwater Resort
#1 of 12 in Kings Beach
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rolling Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rolling Surf Resort

Address: 10 Levuka Avenue, Caloundra, Queensland 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Caloundra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Caloundra
Price Range: £78 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rolling Surf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rolling Surf Resort takes pride as being the closest resort to the ocean. The resort has a 4 star AAA rating and has no roads to cross to the beach. Our spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained and comfortably furnished, our apartments offer varied views including the resorts pool, the ocean or private courtyard apartments. Enjoy relaxing on your balcony or exclusive rooftop area or why not stay in a pool entry apartment, you can swim right up to the balcony gate! When you're not enjoying Kings Beach, visiting the local attractions or touring the hinterland, take advantage of the following facilities; a spectacular resort pool that spans the entire length of the resort, sauna, fitness room, games room and BBQ entertainment area and free wireless internet access, you will find something to indulge every mood. The resort also features a beachfront restaurant, coffee shop & take away shop (external management). A short stroll away is Caloundra Town Centre with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops. Within easy access to all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer and an unbeatable location right on Kings Beach, Rolling Surf Resort is the ideal choice for your next Sunshine Coast holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rolling Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolling Surf Hotel Caloundra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing