We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable with water views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorings Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Affordable with water views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here on a 3 night package in a studio room. This is the budget accommodation and we knew exactly what we were getting for the money we paid. It is possible to pay more and get a bigger unit in the high rise with water views off the balcony. Our unit had a separate bedroom with a modern clean bathroom and plenty of cupboard space. The lounge area had a small couch to watch TV and a very basic kitchen. We had a tiny fridge, microwave and a two burner cooktop. Would not be enough for eating in on an extended stay but for 3 nights of eating out it suited us perfectly. The restaurant on site served very good breakfasts and lunch. Too cold to use the pool but it was well maintained and inviting. The grounds were also kept very tidy and a long walking track along the shoreline was straight across the road as was a shopping centre and restaurants. Overall a very pleasant and well managed complex.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the high rise if you want space and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank your for all your kind words. Hope to see you next time maybe for an extended break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

There is little to fault about The Moorings. We had the most wonderful 5 nights there and are planning to return in July to escape at least a couple of weeks of winter in NZ. My husband and I stayed in unit 408. This is a very spacious 2 bedroom unit facing the most beautiful view over the Pumice Stone Passage and Bridie Island. All apartments actually have a view but i would encourage you to look at 3rd floor and above for the better views. From our floor you could clearly see the ships passing by Bridie Island day and night and the kite surfers roaring up and down the passage just meters from the resort. Actually there is always something to watch from your deck.
Unit 408 is one of only 2 with a king size bed. These seem a rarity in Australia for some reason so we were wrapped to have one! The couch has definitely seen better days and for those of us with back problems impossible to sit in as it sags badly but issues like that are out of the resort managers hands as all units are privately owned and if the owners won't upgrade there is little they can do. The resort managers, Stan and Elizabeth are terrific to deal with. Nothing is too difficult for them and they are friendly and have maintained a good sense of humor after 7 years on the job! They are delightful!
The apartments/units are extremely clean and the kitchens are very well equipped. There is plenty of cutlery, crockery and appliances and plenty of bench space!
There is no air conditioning in the units and that did concern us but it turns out that they are designed in such a way as they receive really good air flow through them and we never ever felt the need for air con whist there ( April 4th-9th). The second bedroom also has a good size deck off the back of it and sliding doors that can be left open to insure this breeze. (some 2 bed units don't have these back decks).
The shower in the main bathroom was excellent. Plenty of pressure and hot water. I only used the en-suite shower once as it had one of those water saving shower roses on that sprayed heaps fine of spray everywhere but where you wanted it.
The swimming pool was a good size. Big enough for a swim not big enough to encourage too many screaming kids. This resort is actually really suited for older people who are trying to escape that noisy "family Resort" utopia. It just seems a bit more of a "grown ups" resort. Yes there was one loud family with 3 young kids whilst we were there but at least it was only one. Walk past the others just down the road and you will be thankful that this one does not boast a water-slide and a huge family pool!! The Moorings is positively peaceful compared to them!!
The beach is also at your doorstep and it really is safe for swimming and taking out your kayaks. Trees offer some shade as well.
Underground parking is available with plenty of space to maneuver and the gym on offer was actually ok for a workout. There is also a steam-room attached. The grounds are extremely well maintained and well laid out.
There is an excellent cafe attached. It really is very very good and open for breakfast and lunch. Hubby said the coffee is excellent.
For day to day needs there is everything at the shops behind the resort. The only thing not there is a bank but there is the "hole in the wall" to get cash from. There are several take- aways, Italian and Chinese Restaurants, supermarkets, Doctors, Post office, Woman's clothing....etc etc. You really don't need a car if you don't want one.
We truly had a wonderful time at The Moorings and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: 3 to 4th floor up for the best views. Main tower has lifts smaller towers on either side do not but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you for your most wonderful review. We appreciate every word written and the time it took to give such a detailed review. We hope to see you again soon. Till next time............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved our apartment on the 7th floor. Stunning views that change with the tide. I could never get tired of just staring out the window. Kids loved the pool. Right across the road from the beach. Great little cafe onsite. We only had 3 nights , a week would've been better. We went to Australia zoo and the markets on Sunday were brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelles1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you for your review. Yes please stay longer next time. We are glad your enjoyed your short stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenford, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I recently went for a three night stay at Golden Beach. After one night at our accommodation elsewhere, we decided we couldn't stay there any longer and dropped in to The Moorings to see if they had a nice room available. We were greeted by a lovely gentleman (unfortunately I did not get his name) who was more than happy to show us a room he had available for two nights before we made a decision on whether to stay. It was a one bedroom apartment on the second floor of one of the walk-up buildings with a large balcony and water view. We immediately agreed as the apartment was spacious and most importantly, spotlessly clean.

We very much enjoyed our two nights here and would most certainly consider The Moorings again if we return to Golden Beach. It was an easy walk to local shops, the waterfront and the Caloundra Power Boat Club.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foo_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return soon. The man you spoke with is Stan the onsite manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This Resort is right on the water. The views are wonderful with many different birds to be seen and photographed, also there are large ships on there way into and coming out of the Brisbane Harbour. Views to Caloundra across the passage are great especially at night. Shops are only 75m away with a great selection of cafes and restaurants, small supermarket, post office and paper shop, doctors and a medical center are also available in the center, a Power Boat Club is 100m down the street, with great meals on a large covered area facing the passage. Coles and Woolworths are only 5 minutes away in either direction. All of this without going into Caloundra. Small areas of sand along Golden Beach for all to enjoy. For a great day out, , this is also a great place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Moorings is a great place to stay and enjoy a holiday on the idyllic Sunshine Coast of Australia. The staff are friendly and efficient, always keen to assist with any requirements. It has been a pleasure to stay at the Moorings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor provide absolutely stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmanuelConde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us at The Moorings Beach Resort.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will return again
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've just come home after our 3rd stay at the Moorings, and this time we were lucky to have a long weekend to rest and unwind. We are so happy with the quality of our unit, and we have found Stan and Elizabeth to be fantastic hosts who always make us feel very welcome. We have booked again for next year and are counting the days. Golden Beach has become our favourite place to escape, and The Moorings Beach Resort is our PERFECT place to stay!

Brett and Carey Morris.

Room Tip: Book directly with Stan and Elizabeth as they are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooringsManager, Manager at Moorings Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Was wonderful to see you all again. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caloundra hotels
1.4 mi away
Breakfree Grand Pacific Resort Sunshine Coast
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
Ramada Resort Golden Beach
#1 of 1 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Waters Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rolling Surf Resort
Rolling Surf Resort
#10 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oaks Oasis
Oaks Oasis
#2 of 16 in Caloundra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rumba Beach Resort
Rumba Beach Resort
#1 of 16 in Caloundra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings Beach Resort

Property: Moorings Beach Resort
Address: 88 Esplanade | PO Box 225 Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland Q 4551, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Caloundra
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Caloundra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moorings Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute water front location in peaceful Golden Beach. Self contained apartments, heated pool, kiddies pool, spa, sauna and gym. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Continuous. Immaculate gardens and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Moorings Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing