We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Garden

Bamboo Garden
Ranked #52 of 203 Restaurants in Caloundra
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Bamboo Garden Chinese is located in the main street of Caloundra along the tourist strip. We offer Takeaway and Dining-in menu, you can bring your own alcohol with a very small charge for corkage. We cater for family with children menu and gluten free menu as well. Small functions and birthday parties up to 30 people. Special Banquet Menu is available or we can write you a special menu to suit your budget. Friendly staff is waiting on you every step of the way and make sure you will have a memorable dining experience.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had our high hopes for good Chinese food at Caloundra dashed. The food was OK but not enough to come back for. Small cafe and rather dowdy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunyabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Bought some takeaway from here one night. When we ordered we were told 25 minutes but it was almost 45 minutes before we got our food. People coming in after us were being told it was up to an hour.....think they may need more staff or just be better prepared. The food though was lovely, almost worth the wait. Not so sure about the veggies and meat in the short soup...short soup is supposed to be broth with wontons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDeeH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Easy, clean, friendly and awesome tasting Chinese! The best by far and great value for money. The meal packs were a great option for first timers. I can't wait to chose off the menu or even eat in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jotin_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra
Level Contributor
346 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Simple Casual Chinese and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

When we can't think of where to go for a quick casual Chinese, we never get any objection to suggesting the Bamboo Garden. Please don't be put off with the unattractive exterior nor the plastic table clothes. You are here for the best Chinese feed in Caloundra. The experienced proprietor has obviously got good kitchen staff and the food comes out so fresh and hot.
Despite having limited seating capacity, the menu is fairly comprehensive so any member of your party will be catered for. Be prepared to create your own atmosphere as there is little provided - until the food arrives. Great food and great value. BYO alcohol.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingSandy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
“By far the Best Chinese takeaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

For years I have been searching for the best chinese restaurant on the Sunshine Coast. I couldn't believe my luck when I came across Bamboo Gardens last year. Their Take away is quick, tasty and very affordable. The vegetables are perfectly cooked, and the meat they use- is real! I highly recommend their Mongolian lamb, Gingered lamb, Curry Chicken, Honey Chicken and cashew chicken. They are by far my favourite!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joelle93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Garden also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Bamboo Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing