We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy at weekends!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Shea's Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Shea's Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Goondiwindi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noisy at weekends!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Pleasant enough hotel but really noisy at weekends. My husband and I stayed here on a Friday night and there was absolutely no soundproofing to protect residents from the nightclubesque noise from below.

Maybe their DJ was most annoying of all, "woo!"ing into his microphone with abandon.

The room itself is adequate with a fridge and air con. Shared bathroom is clean and smells fresh. Wifi has a good strong signal and is free to use.

Really disappointed with the noise control. This is the poorest pub hotel I've ever stayed in because of that, and led to a restless night.

We wouldn't stay here a second time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NEishJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owena M, Front Office Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi Neish,
We really do appreciate your feedback.
Usually our staff informs guests of the noise on weekends (or if you booked online, its in the info) and we are always happy to move guests to the further rooms where we never have noise problems, unfortunately if we are fully booked this is not possible.

I offer my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We are looking into the issue of our end rooms to increase soundproofing.

If you do stay with us again, please do not hesitate to mention your issue and I will assure that you are placed away from the noise on weekends.

Again, Thank you for your feedback, it helps us constantly improve and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
15
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We initially booked the budget $77.00 room, which was fine using a shared bathroom but we decided to have the motel room for $94.00 with ensuite. The room was a good size with a bench like table, tea and coffee. Very clean with opening windows. Unfortunately we has an air conditioner right outside that went all night which lead to a part sleepless night. We mentioned this in the morning and the staff were very apologetic and immediately went to investigate. They put a call out for maintenance. Room 2 had this problem just check when booking. We stayed on a Sunday night and there was no pub noise or traffic. We will stay there again. Very professional. Some Melbourne establishments could take a lesson from these guys.

Room Tip: Check out A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ydnew0956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owena M, Front Office Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and feedback.
All reviews help us improve our hotel and service.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I booked online but in future I will ring direct. The room was reasonable given the price and was more or less what I expected, I would prefer onsuite but those were already booked it being a Easter weekend it was fully booked. I only eat at the restaurant on the Saturday night but the food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar if you are staying on the Saturday night, it can get noisy if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owena M, Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at The Royal in Gundi on our way home to the Gold Coast. No surprise though as it was St Patrick's Day the bar was going to be full of people in green. Very warm welcome and after 5 hours of driving was great to have a more than comfortable room. We had dinner in the restaurant and opted for what we were recommended, Coral Chicken is a winner and the lamb cutlets very good. My family are staying for the Gundi races in April and I'm sure they will have a great time. Another thing tomention after travelling through many towns and stopping at different locations, this was the only pub that actually served decent wine over the bar by the glass!!! Thank you to the O'Shea family for such a nice stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastGretel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owena M, Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and of a descent size. Good location. We arrived at 9pm on a Wednesday night, too late to get a meal. Nothing else open in town either so stop before you arrive if you are on a road trip.good place to stay on a long trip.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owena M, Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Hotel.
We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here for a night in Oct 2012 on the drive back south from Brisbane. As others have mentioned, its ideally located in the main street of Goondi (though off the highway bypass). We had an ensuite room, a little sparse but quite OK and reasonably priced. Great happy hour drink prices (from 4 to 6?) and the restaurant was a surprise. Meals were well priced and serves were huge. Number of people eating on the Monday Labor Day night was quite impressive so obviously has a good reputation locally.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalhotel4390, Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at O'Shea's Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had a function in Goondiwindi, and we needed a family room rather than shelling out for 2 normal motel rooms, enter O'Shea's Royal Hotel and their family unit. 3 bedrooms generous lounge with air con in all rooms which in summer is a must. If you feel lazy you only have to head downstairs for the dining room or you could venture out to experience other Pub style Grub. Positioned in the main street with all the shops close by it would be also possible to self cater although there is only an electric fry pan and microwave. The hotel its self was clean and staff friendly, there are many other rooms they had some with shared bath rooms and others fully self contained. Over all a pleasurable Pub Accommodation experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: The family unit sleeps 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierrethedirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalhotel4390, Manager at O'Shea's Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at O'Shea's Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goondiwindi hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
Comfort Inn Goondiwindi
#7 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Town House Motor Inn
The Town House Motor Inn
#4 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Binalong Motel
Binalong Motel
#5 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macintyre Motor Inn
Macintyre Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Goondiwindi Motel
Goondiwindi Motel
#8 of 9 in Goondiwindi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Shea's Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Royal Hotel

Property: O'Shea's Royal Hotel
Address: 48 Marshall St, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Shea's Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Shea's Royal Hotel is Located in Goondiwindi QLD. We have an onsite restaurant for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.Gaming and live entertainment on weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your O'Shea's Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing