We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stopover on road trip, excellent for family”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victory Hotel Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Gympie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We booked into here last minute as we decided to break our trip, was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, cleanliness and comfort. TV was small but didn't really bother us. I liked the separate room for parents which you don't often get in a family motel room. Ate at the hotel which was very reasonabl, staff were lovely, just like you'd expect from a country pub.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Got to the (prepaid)room around 8pm Sunday only to find the air-conditioner not working, there was no instruction book to be found and after a long time fiddling with the control we were getting very anxious as it was extremely hot and the room had no ceiling fans. At this point our 18 month old daughter was getting agitated as it was well past her bedtime.

There was no staff on site and the rooms folder had 2 mobile numbers for emergency contact. First number was no answer and the second number we got through to DONNA, who told us she was out of town and would try to get someone to help us.
After hanging up we waited a good 1/2 an hour and had had no response from Donna. Rang her back. She did not pick up. Second ring she hung up on us and on the third try she finally picked up. At this point we were ropeable.
She proceeded to tell us that the electrician was at Rainbow Beach doing a job and would stop by when he was finished. She could not tell us how long he was going to be. At this stage it was almost 10pm and we did not fancy waiting all hours for an electrician. We asked for another room and were told no she could not do that as once again she was "out of town" and there was no one who could come in to the motel.
Donna then proceeds to ask us "is it really that hot? Can't you open a window?" This pushes us over the edge and we not impolitely tell her we are not happy with the service and would appreciate her chasing up the electrician and getting back to us immediately to which she starts speaking over my husband saying she doesn't know how long the electrician will be and she is 'out of town' and can't do anything. We then say well all we can do is wait and she immediately hangs up on us. Now we are really annoyed.

So my husband then takes matters into his own hands and decides to flip the mains switch. After a few goes we finally get the air-conditioning working. We then courteously ring Donna back to let her know we got it working and to not worry about the electrician (as we didn't want him turning up at all hours of the night) . It took us three goes to finally get through to her as she wasn't answering and before my husband could finish a sentence she not so politely says "I appreciate you ringing to tell me this but I am in hospital with a sick friend and do not ring this number again". Hangs up. Well we were shocked to say the least. I can't even describe how angry we were.
The next morning the cleaning lady apologizes and tells us it's been happening in a few of the rooms and that's how you fix it by flipping the mains.
1. Why doesn't Donna know this?
2. Why aren't there signs in the rooms with step by step instructions on how to fix it.
3. Why is it so difficult to get someone on site?
Suffice to say we were so upset by how we were treated we will NEVER be going back there again and we were planning on many more trips to the area too.
Upon the morning we were leaving (Boxing Day), I was preparing to give them a piece of my mind when handing the key over and there wasn't even anyone at reception or in the restaurant!
So disappointed as this is a nice, new, quite clean Motel and would have been the perfect place to stay for future visits if it wasn't for one person.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The towels had holes, no face washers or hand towels. The floors in the bathroom were filthy. The shower door didn't close properly. The shower was mouldy. The hot water handle in the shower leaked boiling hot water from the handle. The room was stale and musty. The tv was tiny and the microwave ancient. When we arrived we were given a room with 3 separate single beds when we are a husband and wife with a child, so we had to ask to be moved which was no problem at all and the staff were helpful. The staff were the only positive thing about our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is located off the main highway and in a scenic, beautiful location. The motel rooms are large and spotless. Unfortunately there were no chairs to sit at and watch the minute size TV, or work at the higher than normal desk. I grabbed a chair from the balcony and placed a phone book and pillow on the outdoor chair so I could read and use my laptop. The mini TV and lack of furniture are the only 2 things letting this hotel motel down. The Hotel Bistro is lovely with crisp table cloths and serviettes. The menu large and food great value for money. A really great spot.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Promised refund for prepaid booking and have refused to honor promise. Had money for 5 months in advance . If had told truth, could have made other arrangements and tried to minimize loss.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qldtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Ideal accommodation. Stayed overnight. Single beds were comfortable, though a little narrow. Air-con worked really well. Very clean large room. I had asked for 3 single beds, but were given one queen in a separate room and 3 singles in the other. Can't say a bad work about the place. People were friendly and helpful. Had our meal in the hotel. Food was great. Family friendly hotel, but noise a little loud so we just moved to a quieter area. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Whilst visiting friends in Gympie chose this hotel/motel because of its location. Most motels in Gympie are on the Bruce Highway, this one is located only a few minutes out of town and easy to access. It would have to be the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in. Rooms are very spacious for a motel room, balcony with a table and chairs, good sized bathroom. Room is equipped with microwave, television, jug, toaster, frypan and plenty of cooking utensils and crockery, cutlery etc. Staff were extremely pleasant and actually ran into one of them the following morning at the local markets. She informed the Manager was trying really hard to attract more business, hopefully this review will help. We will be travelling to Gympie quite often in the future and will definitely stay at this motel every time. Housekeeping standard is excellent, couldn't find dust anywhere.
It is also attached to a hotel with a bistro, didn't eat there, but must be good as it was extremely busy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dabbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gympie hotels
6.9 mi away
Lagoon Pocket Bed & Breakfast
Lagoon Pocket Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Lagoon Pocket
212 reviews
3 mi away
Great Eastern Motor Inn
11.6 mi away
Lake Barra Cottages
Lake Barra Cottages
#2 of 9 in Gympie
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gympie Muster Inn
Gympie Muster Inn
#2 of 5 in Gympie
83 reviews
2 mi away
Mary River Motor Inn
Mary River Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Gympie
119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shady Rest Motel
Shady Rest Motel
#2 of 6 in Gympie
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel Motel

Address: 54 Bath Terrace, Gympie, Queensland 4570, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Gympie
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gympie
Price Range: £78 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victory Hotel Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Victory Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing