We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meals (didn't use motel)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory Hotel Motel

Victory Hotel Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victory Hotel Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Gympie B&B and Inns
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice meals (didn't use motel)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were passing through town. This location was recommended by a local friend. Lovely old but clean pub with friendly staff & good food. Meals up to $30 ea - we had reef & beef, it was beautiful steak w prawn scallop calamari sauce/salad/chips. Very satisfied & thankful for the recommendation.

Specials were roast meal for $14/quiche & salad & chips <$9

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blah-dee-blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked this at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised when we arived. The room had a microwave, toaster etc. We had a verandah with table and chairs and was lovely to sit there and hear the birds. It is a few minutes out of Gympie but the resturant was good and there is a convenience store near by. We stayed four nights and were very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazza853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We booked into here last minute as we decided to break our trip, was pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms, cleanliness and comfort. TV was small but didn't really bother us. I liked the separate room for parents which you don't often get in a family motel room. Ate at the hotel which was very reasonabl, staff were lovely, just like you'd expect from a country pub.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Got to the (prepaid)room around 8pm Sunday only to find the air-conditioner not working, there was no instruction book to be found and after a long time fiddling with the control we were getting very anxious as it was extremely hot and the room had no ceiling fans. At this point our 18 month old daughter was getting agitated as it was well past her bedtime.

There was no staff on site and the rooms folder had 2 mobile numbers for emergency contact. First number was no answer and the second number we got through to DONNA, who told us she was out of town and would try to get someone to help us.
After hanging up we waited a good 1/2 an hour and had had no response from Donna. Rang her back. She did not pick up. Second ring she hung up on us and on the third try she finally picked up. At this point we were ropeable.
She proceeded to tell us that the electrician was at Rainbow Beach doing a job and would stop by when he was finished. She could not tell us how long he was going to be. At this stage it was almost 10pm and we did not fancy waiting all hours for an electrician. We asked for another room and were told no she could not do that as once again she was "out of town" and there was no one who could come in to the motel.
Donna then proceeds to ask us "is it really that hot? Can't you open a window?" This pushes us over the edge and we not impolitely tell her we are not happy with the service and would appreciate her chasing up the electrician and getting back to us immediately to which she starts speaking over my husband saying she doesn't know how long the electrician will be and she is 'out of town' and can't do anything. We then say well all we can do is wait and she immediately hangs up on us. Now we are really annoyed.

So my husband then takes matters into his own hands and decides to flip the mains switch. After a few goes we finally get the air-conditioning working. We then courteously ring Donna back to let her know we got it working and to not worry about the electrician (as we didn't want him turning up at all hours of the night) . It took us three goes to finally get through to her as she wasn't answering and before my husband could finish a sentence she not so politely says "I appreciate you ringing to tell me this but I am in hospital with a sick friend and do not ring this number again". Hangs up. Well we were shocked to say the least. I can't even describe how angry we were.
The next morning the cleaning lady apologizes and tells us it's been happening in a few of the rooms and that's how you fix it by flipping the mains.
1. Why doesn't Donna know this?
2. Why aren't there signs in the rooms with step by step instructions on how to fix it.
3. Why is it so difficult to get someone on site?
Suffice to say we were so upset by how we were treated we will NEVER be going back there again and we were planning on many more trips to the area too.
Upon the morning we were leaving (Boxing Day), I was preparing to give them a piece of my mind when handing the key over and there wasn't even anyone at reception or in the restaurant!
So disappointed as this is a nice, new, quite clean Motel and would have been the perfect place to stay for future visits if it wasn't for one person.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gympie hotels

Cambooya, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The towels had holes, no face washers or hand towels. The floors in the bathroom were filthy. The shower door didn't close properly. The shower was mouldy. The hot water handle in the shower leaked boiling hot water from the handle. The room was stale and musty. The tv was tiny and the microwave ancient. When we arrived we were given a room with 3 separate single beds when we are a husband and wife with a child, so we had to ask to be moved which was no problem at all and the staff were helpful. The staff were the only positive thing about our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is located off the main highway and in a scenic, beautiful location. The motel rooms are large and spotless. Unfortunately there were no chairs to sit at and watch the minute size TV, or work at the higher than normal desk. I grabbed a chair from the balcony and placed a phone book and pillow on the outdoor chair so I could read and use my laptop. The mini TV and lack of furniture are the only 2 things letting this hotel motel down. The Hotel Bistro is lovely with crisp table cloths and serviettes. The menu large and food great value for money. A really great spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Promised refund for prepaid booking and have refused to honor promise. Had money for 5 months in advance . If had told truth, could have made other arrangements and tried to minimize loss.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qldtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gympie hotels
16.5 mi away
Great Eastern Motor Inn
20.3 mi away
Lagoon Pocket Bed & Breakfast
Lagoon Pocket Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Lagoon Pocket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
15.9 mi away
Gympie Muster Inn
Gympie Muster Inn
#1 of 5 in Gympie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lake Barra Cottages
Lake Barra Cottages
#2 of 8 in Gympie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mary River Motor Inn
Mary River Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Gympie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
15.8 mi away
Shady Rest Motel
Shady Rest Motel
#2 of 6 in Gympie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel Motel

Property: Victory Hotel Motel
Address: 54 Bath Terrace (Old Tin Can Bay Rd), Gympie, Queensland 4570, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Gympie
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Gympie
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victory Hotel Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Victory Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing