We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and convenient”
Review of Twin Pines Motel

Twin Pines Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twin Pines Motel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and convenient”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just one night in a comfortable room was all I needed - that's what I got! The bonus was that this motel is close to everything in Mooloolaba - the beach, Surf Club and restaurant strip plus the marina and Underwater World. Small fridge and microwave in room means you don't need to leave to feed and drink. Breakfast is available but local Golden Arches is just down the road and that's where I went. Quiet, inexpensive and convenient!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
27
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is an older style property featuring 18 units. It is located a short walk from the beach front, shops cafes and restaurants.
The room is quite large with a very comfy double bed and extra pillows. The room has a small dining table and two four chairs. It has a microwave oven, coffee tea making facilities, plates cups etc if you want to self cater. They have arrangements with various restaurants to provide room service meals.
A lot of little extras such as tourist literature, maps, etc are provided.
The room was very clean and I would stay here again. It is not 5 star but you are not paying 5 star prices

Room Tip: There is a bit of road noise from adjacent Brisbane Rd but that dies down later in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

With so many apartments available on the Sunshine Coast, it must be hard for a tired old motel to compete, so the Twin Pines doesn't.

Most apartments require you to book at least 2 nights, as we were only staying one night in Mooloolaba, I booked into the Twin Pines for a family room as there were four of us. The room is very basic, with a separate double-bed room, a front area with three single beds, a shower/toilet and a bench with a microwave and mini fridge. There was a new TV with DVD player. Location is very convenient.

The real problem was that a previous occupant had left a pair of used underpants behind the bedroom door, and the cleaners hadn't picked them up. How appalling! I didn't expect much from this place, even at the ridiculous price of $225/night, but I did expect basic cleanliness. Not good enough!

Room Tip: inspect the room yourself before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank porotodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mooloolaba hotels

Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I have stayed here a few times and loved it , the rooms are all ways clean and smart , it s so central to every thing , cheap and well worth the money the staff couldn't be nicer and cant do enough for you , they make you feel so welcome , so Il will def be back .

Room Tip: the middle is quitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Terribly overpriced for what is provided . Bathroom needs to function better . Water is wasted while waiting for it to heat up . and it dribbles out . Parking is in adequate . If your site seeing you need to get back at a decent time in the hope of getting a parking space at all . I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked the "so called" family room as shown on wotif with a spacious room with a queen and two single beds for our two boys, arrived (in holiday period) to find they had shoved two single beds into a normal basic room with a queen bed. Went to the office immeaditely to request a refund and was given excuses explaining it was "the systems" fault and had overbooked, when I had booked two months in advance and apparently we just got there too late in the day so other ppl got the family rooms first. Puzzled as to why they don't allocate prebooked and pre paid rooms?? and it was our fault for arriving at 1.30pm? (every other hotel has a check in time of 2pm?) just got sick of the excuses so requested my refund again which she attempted to put through manually (even after I suggested getting my card to swipe) and instead of refunding charged me again for the room, then had to refund me the double amount, the second being an unauthorised transaction on my credit card account, and had to wait 3 days for the refund ($630, no meager amount when travelling with children on holidays) to clear. Disgusted with lack of empathy and complete lack of customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kym p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
376 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Twin Pines Motel in Mooloolaba is a basic motel, and is OK for 1 or 2 nights but probably not much longer. It is located on a major road so there is quite a bit of traffic noise (especially in the morning) even though the motel is set back from the road.

The rooms are nice enough but quite plain and in need of some updating. Ours (number 9) included a kettle, toaster, microwave, small fridge, AC, small flat screen TV, DVD, a table and 4 chairs. Not a lot of dishes. There is on-site parking, a small pool, pay laundry and a BBQ.

The motel is situated close to the beach and to a large assortment of restaurants. Grocery stores are also close by.

The managers are very friendly and provided lots of local information.

We found the motel to be convenient as it is close to the main highway. We were just passing through and only wanted a place for one night so it suited us fine. We did think it was overpriced at $130 when compared to other places we had stayed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#9 of 15 in Mooloolaba
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Esplanade Motel
River Esplanade Motel
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Pines Motel

Property: Twin Pines Motel
Address: 36 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twin Pines Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin Pines Motel is a small family run 18 units motel.The Motel is very centrally located 0ne block back front the beach front. It is approx. 3-3.5 minutes walk to the beachfront, cafe/restaurants, boutique shopping, marina.Underwater World, hotels & Surf Club. We cater to individuals, couples and families wishing ti stay one or more nights. With varying types of rooms and configurations we can accommodate your needs. Visit and enjoy Queensland's spectacular Sunshine Coast, with its miles of unspoiled beaches and natural rainforests.To ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Twin Pines Motel, all of our rooms are well presented and come equipped with our standard facilities of private ensuite, TV with Austar, refridgerator, crockery, cutlery, tea & coffee making facilities, air conditioning, table & chairs, iron & ironing board, direct dial phone, clock radio & wireless broadband (available for a fee). Come and experience all that the Sunshine Coast has to offer!Follow the Sunshine Coast motorway to the end and turn left. Follow east towards the beachfront through the roundabout, with McDonalds on your left and Shell Service Stn on your right, for approx. 15ometres and we are on your leftWorld where you can dive with the sharks, Dive HMAS Brisbane, Deep Sea Fishing, Australia Zoo and the splendid Hinterland with quaint villages, arts&craft, walking trails and waterfalls.Copying, Faxing, sectrarial services, internet access, transport bookings/transfers, accommodation bookingsRates are subject to change without notice. Peak Season rates any for all public holiday periods, Mooloolaba Triathalon and school holidays. Cancellation fees apply. Notice of cancellation min. 24hours notice and in peak holiday periods min. of 72hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Twin Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing