We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A big thank you to the staff of Sandcastles on the Beach! Our stay was perfect, great service, awesome views and the added bonus of security. The room was a great place to come back to and had everything we needed while away from home. It was great only being 1 minute from the patrolled beach and only minutes walk from some of the best places for a meal. I know that we will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: We found the roof top rooms a better view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Templeton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    45
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
112
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our meeting on arrival was very warm and friendly,but was disappointed with the cleaning of the room, but this was quickly cleaned throughley by Kylie who made a great job of it. The shower was poor and very small but on the whole the apartment had everything we needed and was cleaned daily. The location is great and so handy for everything in the area,with good restaurants,bars and friendly shops, the beach is beautiful and a stones throw away from the apartments, our balcony was on the side of the surf club but we never smelt any food or had a noise problems in the mornings or night. The owners were very helpful and gave us lots of recomendations on where to visit and eat, we had a lovely holiday and would revisit the Sandcastles again.Barbara & Dennis Cambridge, New Zealand

Room Tip: We were in 207 on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellios11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshbydelaZouch
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Excellent location for the beach, though our apartment did overlook the surf club and was unfortunately noisy very early in the morning due to contractors working on the roof. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the apartment well resourced (inc washing machine and dryer )and clean but the decor was rather dated with evidence of water penetration around the ill fitting bedroom window.
Went to the Surf Club for a meal on our first evening but couldn't recommend - the carvery meat was plentiful but the vegetables particularly disappointing as was the customer service.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and have fond memories of Mooloolaba.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed for 8 days in October in unit 308 (I think). As other reviewers have said, this does have a nice view but also overlooks the surf club car park, rubbish skips etc. If you can ignore that then the views out to the water are lovely.
When I booked several months before hand, I particularly asked for a refurbished apartment with an ocean view and was quoted for this. While not unhappy with the apartment, I really feel we could have got better value from booking on Wotif a couple of months before we went - much better prices. The apartment was certainly not 'flash" but OK although no space for suitcases to be put away so they had to stay in the corner of the bedroom. Shower was not bad but a little on the small side. Staff were friendly and the location is perfect and I'm glad we've seen what the place is like but will probably look elsewhere next time. We've been to Mooloolaba a dozen or so times and like to try different places. Many other places nicer and better value in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoesandhandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

As you know, my reviews are always very open and honest and I always try to end on a positive. So here goes:

Negatives:
Stayed in Room 305 on level three facing the ocean and backing on to the Surf Club (avoid this when booking) ... crikey does this room seriously need a facelift, it's currently in an "80's Time-warp"!! From the furniture, fixtures and fittings, kitchen cabinetry, taps, tiles, the carpets were stained and looked filthy. We too experienced significant noise from drunken people yelling and arguing at all hours of the night/morning, not to mention street/car noise plus the garbage trucks collecting huge bins in the wee hours of the morning. And the final negative - constant deep fried cooking smells coming from the Surf Club's extractor fans whilst trying to get fresh air on your balcony. EXTREMELY disappointing after a long drive.

Positives:
Location was fantastic 200 metres from the beach, surf club, BBQ's, picnic facilities, cafes and shops. Locked secure parking. This room had a washing machine, clothes dryer and washing basin. Fresh Seafood Market and restaurants within walking distance plus an ATM within the complex.

Bottom line ... would we stay here again ... NO. Would we recommend this property to friends, family or significant others NO. So do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Here's a tip ... stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaxnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilambil, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Have just returned from a weekend trip to Mooloolaba. Stayed in Room 308 - this is relevant info as all the units are individually owned. We paid extra for an ocean view - which we had but this was viewed over the back car park of the SLSC, thus plenty of noise, cars & garbage collections at an ungodly hour. The unit we were in was VERY dated - to be frank not good value for the money we paid. I can only think the owner of this unit is apathetic, as if you were a real estate agent selling it, you would call it a renovator! Our friends had the unit next to us & this was definitely more recently renovated. The plus side - central location and friendly staff. Just avoid booking 308!!!

Room Tip: Avoid 308 & any that are overlooking the SLSC car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooloolabaJuls, Manager at Sandcastles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Your honest response is appreciated. We will certainly pass on your feedback to both the owners of the unit and the Surf Life Saving Club.
As for the issues you have raised about the unit and its position the positives of our guests have far outweighed the negatives. Mooloolaba Beach and the position of Sandcastles and the wonderful amentities of The Surf Club are many of the reasons people choose to stay. The apartment that you have mentioned has a wonderful repeat business, and there has been refurb work and new furniture carried out in my time as Manager. We would respond to you personally, however because of the number of bookings in the apartment we are unable to identify you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Outstanding service from the moment we arrived. Julie and Eric were absolutely amazing, very friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was a problem and they went out of their way to ensure we had the most amazing holiday.

The unit was immaculately clean, modern and fully self contained with everything one could want. We had superb uninterupted ocean views with our very own and completely private rooftop which left us speechless.

Sandcastles is located right on the Esplanade within walking distance to everything, beach, cafes, underwater world, yatch club, surf club and restaurants.

We are definitely coming back soon and have not stopped talking about the place since returning from our holiday.

Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday getaway and we would not consider staying anywhere else in Mooloolaba.

Room Tip: The rooftop units on level 4 are amazing, very affortable and a must stay experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.3 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#8 of 15 in Mooloolaba
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#3 of 15 in Mooloolaba
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#15 of 15 in Mooloolaba
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#13 of 15 in Mooloolaba
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#6 of 15 in Mooloolaba
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastles Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles Mooloolaba

Property: Sandcastles Mooloolaba
Address: Cnr. Parkyn Parade & River Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Sandcastles you can walk to every imaginable facility needed for an idyllic stay. Laze on the wide silky sands of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast award winning Mooloolaba Beach right at your front door or simply idle around the pool.Indulge in resort living in our fully self-contained one bedroom Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments, which include master bed room, bathroom, laundry, and kitchen with hotplates, rangehood and microwave/convection oven. Your Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments are serviced daily. Relax and enjoy your holiday on Mooloolaba Beach.Our top level luxury Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments have private roof tops and barbeques, ideal for entertaining or just soaking up the sun and taking in the spectacular views over Mooloolaba Beach to Point Cartwright or off to the North over Mooloolaba Beach, Alexandra Headland, Maroochydore to Noosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastles Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing